The Jacob Jacobson Collection (1660-1958) includes substantial remains of the Gesamtarchiv der deutschen Juden (Archives of German Jewry), established in Berlin in 1905 as the central repository for the records of German-Jewish communities and organizations. AR 7002
The John H. Richter Collection (1904-1994) contains various family histories and genealogies. AR 1683
Aufbau. New York: German-Jewish Club, 1934-2004.* The Aufbau is a journal for German-speaking Jews around the globe. Each issue typically contains 2-3 pages of announcements, including obituaries and birth, bar/bat mitzvah, engagement, and marriage notices. B 21
* In partnership with Internet Archive, LBI has made all issues available online. The Aufbau Indexing Project created a searchable database of names that appeared in Aufbau announcements (1941-2003).
Brandt, Edward R. Germanic Genealogy: A Guide to Worldwide Sources and Migration Patterns. St. Paul, MN: Germanic Genealogy Society, 2007. Reading Room CS 611 G47 2007
Dokumentation zur juedischen Kultur in Deutschland 1840-1940: Die Zeitungsausschnittsammlung Steininger. [Documents of Jewish Culture in Germany from 1870 to 1940: The Steininger Collection of Newspaper Clippings].Muenchen: K.G. Saur Verlag. Mfiche 3
Ellmann-Krueger, Angelika G. Auswahlbibliographie zur juedischen Familienforschung vom Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts bis zur Gegenwart. [Selected Bibliography for Jewish Family Research from the Start of the 19th Century to the Present]. Wiesbaden: O. Harrassowitz, 1992. Reading Room Z 6374 B5 E4
Ellmann-Krueger, Angelika G., and Dietrich Ellman. Bibliographie zur deutsch-jüdischen Familienforschung und zur neueren Regional- und Lokalgeschichte der Juden. [Bibliography on German-Jewish Family Research and on Recent Regional and Local History of the Jews]. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz Verlag, 2006. CD 89 (ask a librarian for access)
Ellmann-Krueger, Angelika G., and Edward David Luft. Library Resources for German-Jewish Genealogy. Teaneck, NJ: Avotaynu, 1998. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .E45 1998
Jersch-Wenzel, Stefi, et. al. Quellen zur Geschichte der Juden in den Archiven der neuen Bundeslaender. [Guide to Jewish History Sources in the Archives of the Former East Germany]. Muenchen; New Providence: K.G. Saur, 1996. Vol. 6 contains a detailed inventory of the Centrum Judaicum, Germany’s largest collection of Jewish community records. Reading Room CD 1222. Q8
Juedische Familien-Forschung.[Jewish Family Research].Berlin: Gesellschaft für Jüdische Familien-Forschung, 1924-1938.* Journal of Jewish genealogy published in pre-war Berlin. B 184.1
* In partnership with Internet Archive, LBI has made all issues available online.
Menk, Lars. A Dictionary of German-Jewish Surnames. Bergenfield, NJ: Avotaynu, 2005. Genealogy Institute CS 3010.Z9 G476 2005
Ophir, Baruch Zvi, et.al. Pinkas Ha-kehilot: Entsiklopediyah Shel Ha-yishuvim Ha-Yehudiyim Le-min Hivasdam Ve-`ad Le-ahar Sho'at Milhemet Ha-`olam Ha-sheniyah. Germanyah. [Encyclopedia of the Jewish Communities of Germany: From their Foundations till after the Holocaust]. Yerushalayim: Yad Va-shem, 1972-2007. Mostly in Hebrew, with summary of introduction in English. 4 volumes: v. 1 – Bavaria; v. 2 – Württemberg, Hohenzollern, Baden; v. 3 – Hesse, Hesse-Nassau, Frankfurt; v. 4 - North West Germany. Reading Room DS 135.E81 G47
Schumacher, Frank, and Annette M. Marciel. Archives in Germany: An Introductory Guide to Institutions and Sources. Washington, DC: German Historical Institute, 2001. Reading Room CD 1222 A74
Shea, Jonathan D., and William F. Hoffman. In Their Words: A Genealogist's Translation Guide to Polish, German, Latin, and Russian Documents. v. 4 - German. New Britain, CT: Language & Lineage Press, 2017. Genealogy Institute PB 268 .S49
Stammbaum: Journal of German-Jewish Genealogy. New York: Leo Baeck Institute, 1993-2007.* Only English language periodical on German-Jewish genealogy. While the journal’s primary focus is Germany, its scope also includes Austria, Switzerland, Alsace, Bohemia, and other areas with linguistic and historic relevance. Genealogy Institute Periodicals
* LBI digitized all issues and has made them available online on their website.
Thode, Ernest. Address Book for Germanic Genealogy. 6th ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publ., 1997. Genealogy Institute CS 611 .T48
Wright III, Raymond S., and Ann Marie Bailey. Ancestors in German Archives: A Guide to Family History Sources. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publ., 2004. Reading Room CS 611 A56 2004
Address:
Leo Baeck Institute
15 West 16th Street,
New York, NY 10011
Phone: (212) 744-6400
E-mail Form: lbi.org/ask