Key: Collection in CJH Family History Databases = FHD Collection in Ancestry.com = A [Free access on-site only]
The below collections document the efforts of several major Jewish philanthropic organizations to aid Jewish immigrants in coming to the United States, settling into communities across the country, and finding employment or acquiring vocational training.
- Baron de Hirsch Fund, I-80: Contains records of the Jewish Agricultural Society, the Woodbine Agricultural School and Colony in New Jersey, and the Baron de Hirsch Trade School in New York City. These records include applications for agricultural loans, school admission, and student aid, student rosters and evaluations, photos, school publications, and a list of Jewish farmers, 1870-1991. FHD: Baron De Hirsch Trade School pupils’ record books, 1897-1928.
- HIAS Boston, I-96: Includes arrival cards of immigrants who arrived primarily in Boston and case files for each passenger who received assistance through HIAS’ Boston office, 1886-1977, and an incomplete chronological list of ship arrivals and ships’ passenger lists, 1904-1953. While the original collection is housed at the AJHS New England Archives, a complete copy is available on microfilm at AJHS New York. FHD: arrival cards, 1882-1929, case files, 1930-1977; A: arrival cards, 1882-1929 (index only, original records not viewable online).
- Industrial Removal Office, I-91: Includes approximately 44,000 records of immigrants relocated from big cities to the interior of the U.S. and correspondence from relocated immigrants, 1899-1922. FHD; A (records are viewable, but not searchable).
- Jewish Immigrant Information Bureau (Galveston, TX), I-90: Includes internal correspondence of JIIB staff, correspondence between JIIB and other organizations, and ship passenger lists of immigrants who came through Galveston from Germany, 1901-1920. FHD; A: 1901-1917.
- United Service for New Americans, I-93: Includes correspondence with other Jewish organizations on individual cases, predominantly documenting the resettlement of individuals and families in communities throughout the U.S., 1948-1951. FHD
