Subject Guide: American Yiddish Press

Papers of Abraham Cahan, RG 1139

This collection contains correspondence between Cahan and many important literary and political figures, Yiddish manuscripts sent to him for consideration in Forverts/The Forward, and notes and drafts of Cahan’s own writings. There are also articles written about Cahan, before and after his death. These materials show his importance in literary and publishing fields as well as his involvement in the American socialist and labor movements.

Papers of Abraham Liessin, RG 201

The collection focuses on Liessin’s work as editor of Di Tsukunft, a position he held from 1913 until his death in 1938. It contains correspondence with 1000+ individuals. There are poems and galley sheets, manuscripts submitted by about 620 authors, clippings of poems and articles by Liessin from the Forward and Di Tsukunft, and clippings about Liessin from other publications. Other materials: personal papers, invitations, programs for anniversaries, clippings relating to family and about Liessin’s death.

Papers of Anna Margolin, RG 1166

Margolin’s pen name was Rosa Lebensbaum/Lebensboym. She was a Yiddish poet and journalist who contributed to Der Tog, Naye velt, Freie Arbeiter Stimme, In zikh, Zukunft, Dos naye lebn, Literarishe Bleter.

Papers of Emanuel Patt, RG 452

Patt was a physician and journalist. He was active in Jewish socialist and cultural organizations a contributed to various Yiddish newspapers, including Der Tog (The Day) and the Tog Morgn Zhurnal (The Day Morning Journal), where he published a regular column on medical matters.

Jacob Glatstein Papers, RG 353

Glatstein was a Yiddish poet, essayist, literary critic, and co-founder of the In zikh literary group in the 1920s. He was a columnist for the Day Morning Journal. The collection is primarily correspondence with writers: literary figures, journalists, and editors.

Max N. Meisel Papers, RG 257

Meisel was editor of the New York Tageblatt. Records of his publishing house: ledgers and business correspondence. Letters to Meisel as editor of the New York Tageblatt, 1916-17. Bankruptcy papers of the Jewish Book Agency, 1921-22.

Reuben Iceland Papers, RG 573

One of the founders of the literary group Di yunge. Contributed to Zukunft, Literarishe shriftn, Der Firer, Der Tog. Editor of Literatur un lebn (1915). Co-editor with Mani Leib of Der inzl (1925-26). Translated works of German, English and Chinese authors. Includes correspondence with other writers and editors, manuscript of Iceland's poetry, photographs, and miscellaneous materials

Papers of Samuel Regensberg, RG 1939

The collection relates to Regensberg's career as a journalist for several newspapers, including the Yidishe velt (Philadelphia), Forverts (Chicago and N.Y.), Naye velt, Veker, Fraynd, and the Freie Arbeiter Stimme. It is mainly composed of correspondence with 200+ prominent figures and laypersons, printed materials (newspaper clippings, announcements, flyers, notes, typescripts), photographs, and memorabilia (press passes, membership cards, awards and certificates).

Solomon Linder Papers, RG 443

Linder was a Yiddish journalist on the staff of Arbeter Fraynd in London and editor of Freie Arbeiter Stimme. Collection includes correspondence with the Freie Arbeiter Stimme relating to anarchism (1917-1960), including letters from Emma Goldman and other anarchists, correspondence with Yiddish literary figures, typescripts by various authors, clippings from the anarchist press, copies of English language anarchist papers.

Papers of William Edlin, RG 251

This collection contains Edlin's personal and professional papers, editor of Tog/The Day and a prominent Socialist. It includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, manuscripts of his works and by others, translations by Edlin, and personal documents. Materials relate to his involvement with The Day, with the Socialist Party, the Workmen’s Circle, other labor and Zionist organizations, literary clubs, and the arts.

William Gropper Papers, RG 1290

Painter, muralist, book illustrator and cartoonist, Gropper created political cartoons for several leading periodicals in the U.S. The collection consists of several hundred political cartoons which he drew for the Morgn Frayhayt.