Subject Guide: American Yiddish Press

Day-Morning Journal ("Der Tog"), RG 639/MK 283

Consists of administrative files, manuscripts of editors and authors (including unpublished), photographs, correspondence with readers, publishers, and writers. Administrative files include inter-office memoranda, editors' correspondence, minutes, payroll lists, items related to the strike at The Day in 1941. Materials on immigration and the immigration quota of 1924, including correspondence with congressman Samuel Dickstein concerning problems faced by Jewish immigrants. Materials and correspondence relating to specific columns such as *Krumer shpigl*, *Tribune*, *Froyen un mener*.  This collection is on microfilm.

Records of the Forward Association, RG 685

This collection pertains mostly to the work of the Office of the General Manager of the Forward Association. Materials include financial records, meeting minutes, circulation reports, departmental reports, correspondence from regional offices, materials for anniversary celebrations and special publications, and correspondence relating to the Liberal Party of New York, 1944-1951. The records are only a fraction of these archives; the rest is retained by the Office of the General Manager of the Forward Association.

Hebrew-American Typographical Union, RG 445

This union was Local 83 of the International Typographical Union. It was founded in New York in 1888, incorporated in 1891, and covered typographical work in the Yiddish, Hebrew and Slavic languages. In 1961 it merged with the New York Typographical Union, Local 6. Consists of: certificate of incorporation, manuscript of union by-laws, minutes, correspondence, financial records, membership register, ephemera, press clippings about the strike against The Day/Der Tog 1941.

I.L. Peretz Yiddish Writers' Union Records, RG 701

The YWU, sometimes called the Jewish Writers’ Union, was founded in New York in 1915 as a labor and mutual aid organization for Yiddish journalists. This collection contains: meeting minutes, financial reports, dues ledgers, correspondence, salary lists, newspaper clippings, press releases, scrapbooks, photographs of members, and manuscripts and questionnaires for a YWU yearbook.

Jewish Daily Forward Collection, RG 686

The collection contains records of the "Bintl briv" department and consists of letters asking for personal advice.

Yiddish Press, RG 129

The collection was generated in connection with a YIVO exhibit in 1970 honoring a century of Yiddish press in America. The bulk of the collection consists of printed announcements and circulars, mastheads, letters, financial documents, cartoons, and single issues of various Yiddish publications. There are also materials pertaining to Yiddish book publishing houses. A portion of the collection pertains to the Yiddish press in Europe and Latin America, to the Hebrew press, and to the English-language Jewish press.

Records of the Zukunft, RG 362

This collection contains records of the Zukunft monthly journal, which was devoted to publishing political, scientific and literary articles in Yiddish. It contains newspaper clippings, correspondence, meeting minutes, materials for conferences and anniversary issues, financial reports, programs, mailings, subscription materials, and typed and handwritten manuscripts submitted for publication.