Search the collections at the Center for Jewish History
Center for Jewish History: General Information
Lillian Goldman Reading Room
Ackman and Ziff Family Genealogy Institute
POLAND
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists:
Apenszlak, Jacob, ed.; Jacob Kenner, Isaac Lewin, and Moses Polakiewicz, co-eds. The Black Book of Polish Jewry: An Account of the Martyrdom of Polish Jewry under the Nazi Occupation. [New York]: American Federation for Polish Jews, in cooperation with the Association of Jewish Refugees and Immigrants from Poland, 1943.
Territorial Collection 116 Poland II and Poland III
This is a very large collection of materials relating to Poland. Poland II (1939-1945) contains documents that relate to communities, ghettos and concentration camps. Included are some eyewitness accounts. The materials in Poland III pertain to post World War II efforts to reconstruct Jewish life.
NOTE: Please contact a YIVO archivist prior to a visit to the Center for Jewish History to view these records: archives@yivo.cjh.org
YIVO Record Group 116-Poland I, II, and III
Kazdan, Ḥayyim Solomon. Lerer-yizker-bukh: Di Umgeḳumene Lerer Fun Tsishe Shuln in Poyln. New Yorḳ: Ḳomiṭeṭ tsu Fareybiḳn dem Ondenḳ fun di Umgeḳumene Lerer fun di Tsisho Shuln in Poyln, 1954. In Yiddish. Includes bibliographies of Yiddish teachers in Poland who were killed in the Holocaust.
American Jewish Historical Society LC746.P7 K34
Centrale fun di Warszewer Landsmanszaftn in der US Zone in Dajczland. Liste fun Ddi Lebngeblibene Warszewer Jidn in der US Zone in Dajczland. [München]: Centrale fun di Warszewer Landsmanszaftn, 1948. Alphabetical list includes maiden name, birth date, 1939 address, parents’ names, mother’s maiden name, and address at time of publication. In Yiddish.
Lodz - Names: List of the Ghetto Inhabitants, 1940-1944. Jerusalem: Yad Vashem, 1994.
NOTE: Also searchable online through JewishGen’s Holocaust Database.
Zak, Joel, Josef Lindenberger, Jacob Silberstein, and Jewish Labor Committee, New York, compilers. Memorial Dates (Yorzait) of the Martyred Jews of Dachau = Yortsayṭn fun Umgebrakhṭe Yidn in Dakhau. New York: Jewish Labor Committee, 1947.
Zonabend, Nachman. Nachman Zonabend 1939-1944. Print. The collection documents life inside the Lódz Jewish ghetto during the Nazi occupation of Poland. It consists predominantly of the records of the Eldest of the Jews in the Lódz ghetto, Chaim Mordechai Rumkowski, and of his administration. Included are original correspondence, announcements, circulars, charts, publications, reports, essays, albums and photographs. A detailed description of the documents is available online through the electronic finding aid at http://findingaids.cjh.org/?pID=109126.
YIVO Archives Record Group 241
Michalska, Hanna, Maria Stopień, Bożenna Tazbir-Tomaszewska, Wanda Turkowska, and Waclawa Zastocka. Słownik Uczestniczek Walki o Niepodległość Polski 1939-1945: Poległe i Zmarłe w Okresie Okupacji Niemieckiej. Warszawa: Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy, 1988. A memorial to Polish resistance fighters, with names and photographs. In Polish.
Surviving Jews in Czestochowa = Judios Sobrevivientes de Czestochowa. New York: World Jewish Congress, 195?. Alphabetical list with birth year and address at time of compilation.
World Jewish Congress. Division for Displaced Persons. Surviving Jews in Warsaw as of June 5th, 1945. New York, 1945. Alphabetical listing includes birth date, address in 1939, and present address.
Internet Resources:
Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial & Museum
The website features a database with information (in English), from a variety of sources, on 180,000 Auschwitz prisoners. One can also place an online request for information about a former prisoner.
Czestochowa-Radomsko Area Research Group (CRARG)
This organization finds, translates, and prepares Holocaust survivor lists and death lists from around Poland. The database, with over 250,000 records so far, covering hundreds of towns and consisting of more than 150 separate projects, is one of the largest on the web.
The Emanuel Ringelblum Jewish Historical Institute (Warsaw, Poland)
The Institute‘s Archives have the largest collection in Poland of documents concerning the history of Polish Jews in the 20th century. Its collections include the Underground Archive of the Warsaw Ghetto, the so-called Ringelblum Archive, listed on UNESCO’s “Memory of the World” Register as a monument of world heritage, as well as thousands of other Holocaust documents, testimonies, and memoirs. Click here to access the website.
Warsaw Ghetto Internet Database
Prepared by the Polish Centre for Holocaust Research, this database contains a wealth of information about individuals living in the Warsaw Ghetto. It is possible to find information on specific subjects: people, events and places. Click here for instructions for using the database.
Jewish Cemetery at Lodz
The Database on this website allows one to search for the burial locations of some 43,000 victims of the Lodz Ghetto, buried in the “Ghetto Field” of the Bracka Street Cemetery. Requests for further information or photographs should be directed to the Foundation Monumentum Iudaicum Lodzense at fundacja@lodzjews.org.
PORTUGAL
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists:
HICEM & HIAS Office in Lisbon Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society. HICEM & HIAS Office in Lisbon 1940-1951. The records are divided into four series: *Lisbon Office* Correspondence and case files of the Lisbon HICEM office during World War II. The correspondence is with affiliates worldwide, regarding transportation and money transfers and with government officials. Also, with the Lisbon offices of the Quakers and Unitarians. *Lisbon I* Wartime correspondence and refugee dossiers kept in the Lisbon office of HICEM. *Lisbon II* Refugee case files from HICEM's Central Registry during WW II and *Lisbon III*, after the war. Upon request, you may view a finding aid to this collection in the Lillian Goldman Reading Room.
YIVO Archives Record Group 245.6
SWEDEN
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists:
World Jewish Congress. Relief Rehabilitation Dep., and Jewish Agency for Palestine. Rescue Committee. About Jews Liberated from German Concentration Camps Arrived in Sweden in 1945. Stockholm: World Jewish Congress, Relief and Rehabilitation Dep. : Jewish Agency for Palestine, Rescue Committee, 1946.
YIVO Library 000022774; Also available on Microfilm 1996-Y-1537.26.1.2(8)
Lists of Survivors. Stockholm: Mosaiska Forsamlungen, 1946. Organized by date and then alphabetically. Includes birth date and place.
YUGOSLAVIA
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists:
World Jewish Congress. Division for Displaced Persons. Surviving Jews in Jugoslavia, as of June 1945. Lists by town, alphabetically by name within each town. Contains birth date, occupation and address.