Search the collections at the Center for Jewish History
Center for Jewish History: General Information
Lillian Goldman Reading Room
Ackman and Ziff Family Genealogy Institute
AUSTRIA
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists
Displaced Persons Camps and Centers in Austria. DP Camps in Austria 1945-1951. Included are lists of camp residents, search lists and individual case files. You may view a finding aid to this collection.
Online Audio and Video Testimonies
Leo Baeck Institute Austrian Heritage Collection [audio recordings]
This link will take you to the CJH’s Digital Collections, where you will find over 750 oral histories of Austrian-Jewish émigrés who fled to the USA during the Nazi years.
Internet Resources:
Documentation Centre of Austrian Resistance (DÖW).
This site contains a database with information concerning the fates of more than 63,800 Jews who fell victim to the Holocaust. The database is continuously being updated.
BELGIUM
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists:
Klarsfeld, Serge, Maxime Steinberg, Union des Déportés Juifs en Belgique et Filles et Fils de la Déportation, and Beate Klarsfeld Foundation. Mémorial de La Déportation des Juifs de Belgique. Bruxelles : New York, NY: Union des Déportés Juifs en Belgique et Filles et Fils de la Déportation ; Beate Klarsfeld Foundation, 1982.
CHINA
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists:
Shanghai Jewish Refugees Museum
From 1933 to 1941, Shanghai accepted approximately 30,000 Jewish refugees fleeing the Holocaust in Europe. There are more than 3,000 records in the Museum's database, searchable by name and address, in person, at the Museum. A description of the museum may be found here.
CZECH AND SLOVAK REPUBLICS
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists:
Relief Committee of Jews from Czechoslovakia (London). Aid for Communications between Displaced Jews Resident in the Czechoslovak Republic in 1938 and Persons Presently Resident in Great Britain and the British Empire, Spain Sweden ... [etc.]. London. Lists people - with their addresses - who had been residents in the Czechoslovak Republic in 1938, residing in Great Britain, the British Empire, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United States, Central America, and Palestine.
Bulletin Number 15.1, List of Persons Liberated at Terezin in EA. New York: Czechoslovak Jewish Committee, 1945. Alphabetical list of names only of people liberated at Theresienstadt (Terezín) in early May 1945. Adults are listed on the front, children on the back.
YIVO Library 1996-Y-1537.13 (5) This is on Microfilm
American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee. Register of All Persons Saved from AntiJewish Persecution in Slovakia. Bratislava: American Joint Distribution Committee, 1945. Volume I (A-K), Volume II (K-P), Volume III (Q-Z). Lists survivors who were currently living in Slovakia, with their addresses. The list also includes married and maiden names of women, birth year, and names of fathers. Also includes a 2-volume supplement prepared in October 1945.
Czechoslovakia. Ministry for the Protection of Labor Social Welfare. Therezin-Ghetto. [Prague], 1945. Alphabetical list of saved persons containing birth date, transport number to Theresienstadt (Terezín), and place from which deported. 2 Volumes: Volume I (A-N), Volume II (N-Z).
YIVO Library 000022772 Also available on Microfilm in Czech language
Kárný, Miroslav. Terezínská Pamětní Kniha: Židovské Oběti Nacistických Deportací z Čech a Moravy 1941-1945. 1. Vyd. ed. Praha: Terezínská Iniciativa: Melantrich, 1995. In Czech. Edice Terezinská Iniciativa. Lists of Jews deported from Bohemia and Moravia, most of whom were sent to Theresienstadt (Terezín), organized by date of transport. A complete index of names is at the back of Volume II.
Reading Room D805.5.T54 T47 1995
Kárný, Miroslav. Terezín Memorial Book: Jewish Victims of Nazi Deportations from Bohemia and Moravia 1941-1945; a Guide to the Czech Original (entry above) with a Glossary of Czech Terms Used in the Lists. 1st ed. Praha: Terezín Initiative: Melantrich, 1996. This book is in English and it explains the Czech volume.
Genealogy Institute D805.5.T54 T47 1996
Territorial Collection. Territorial Collection (non-U.S.). The bulk of the collection pertains to the Holocaust period, 1938-1945. Noteworthy are materials on the concentration camp Theresienstadt (Terezín), which include: birth and death records, daily orders, circulars, announcements about deportations, regulations concerning the Altestenrat (Council of Elders), documents on health conditions, and other official records of the ghetto administration; testimonies and eyewitness accounts of the survivors; and press articles written after the war.
YIVO Archives Record Group 116 – Czechoslovakia
Internet Resources:
Jewish Museum of Prague
Shoah History Department Digital Collections
The Shoah History Department collects and makes available various materials on the history of the "final solution of the Jewish question" in Bohemia and Moravia. The archive of the Department is fully digitized and all records eventually will be made available online. Currently, mainly an extensive collection of documents about Jews in the city of Ostrava and a prevailing part of the Terezín (Theresienstadt) collection are published online in an English-language version.
Beit Terezin (or Beit Theresienstadt)
This non-profit organization is dedicated to preserving the memory of the victims of the Terezín ghetto, and it maintains an archive of the transport cards of Jews who were deported. While these cards are not available online, you may request information on a relative on the organization’s website by clicking on “Relatives Search” and submitting the search request form.
Holocaust.cz
This is a database of Holocaust victims deported from Bohemia or imprisoned in the Terezín ghetto (Theresienstadt). Some records contain photographs and the last address of the victim.
Terezín Memorial
The website hosts a number of Holocaust databases, including, among others, a database of Terezín victims and a database of Czech Jewish victims deported to places other than Terezín.
ESTONIA
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists:
Salo, Vello. Küüditatud 1941[Deported in 1941]. Brampton, Ontario: Marjamaa Publications, 1993. This is a general index of deportees from Estonia between June 13 and August 23, 1941. It was compiled by Vello Salo, an Estonian Catholic priest and historian, in 1993. The book is in Estonian with a short English summary.
FRANCE
Holocaust Documents and Survivor Lists:
Kehillat Haharedim. Kehillat Haharedim [Association of Orthodox Jews] 1939-1947. Organized in 1936 to conduct religious and educational activities throughout France. During the German occupation, the organization engaged in underground activities, rescuing and supporting Jews, especially children. These records reflect the Kehillat Haharedim’s activities during and after WWII, and include lists of refugees, internees, deportees, students, and child survivors (with reports on the fate of their parents).Upon request, you may view a finding aid to this collection in the Lillian Goldman Reading Room.
YIVO Archives Record Group 340
Klarsfeld, Serge. Mémorial De La Déportation Des Juifs De France. 3rd ed. Paris: Fils Et Filles Des Déportés Juifs De France, 2012. A listing of more than 80,000 Jews who were transported to concentration camps, including both those who originated in France and those who passed through France. Information on about ninety transports is given. The names of victims are listed alphabetically for each transport and, when known, the birth date and place of birth are included. Also given are the number of people who survived each transport and its destination.*
* You may search an online database of names in this book, created by Steve Morse.
Klarsfeld, Serge. French Children of the Holocaust: A Memorial. New York: New York University Press, 1996. This book, translated into English from the original French, includes a history and chronology of the Holocaust in France, the names and addresses of 11,000 children deported by convoy (with a short history of each convoy), and 1,400 pages of photographs of the children, with their dates of birth, addresses and deportation details.
Rue Amelot. Rue Amelot 1939-1944. Underground organization located at 36 Rue Amelot, Paris, affiliated with the Union Generale des Israelites de France (UGIF). Includes files on internees and refugees receiving aid, places where children were sheltered, and information on families providing shelter. Correspondence regarding hidden children. Upon request, you may view a finding aid to this collection in the Lillian Goldman Reading Room.
YIVO Archives Record Group 343
Union Generale des Israelites de France. Union Generale des Israelites de France (UGIF) 1940-1944. The file includes 65,000 registration cards of individuals in a 1941 census of Jews in France. This organization was established in 1941 in response to German demands to consolidate all of the Jewish organizations of France into one unit. Though it did furnish social aid, it was under the thumb of the Germans and French. Upon request, you may view a finding aid to this collection in the Lillian Goldman Reading Room.
YIVO Archives Record Group 210
Concentration Camps and Ghettos:
France. Ministère des Anciens Combattants et Victimes de Guerre. Liste Officielle des Décédés des Camps de Concentration. Print. The list contains the names of French citizens who died in various camps, with their dates of birth and death.
Internet Resources:
Gurs Camp Association
List of Jews who died in the Gurs camp. The list includes the name, date and place of birth, and date of death.
Les Morts dans les Camps
This site is in memory of the people who died during deportation in France between 1939 and1945. The people are sorted by region of origin for deportees born in France, by country for deportees born in the rest of the world, and finally alphabetically by name. The data found on this site was originally published in the Journal Officiel (Official Journal of the French government).
Memorial de la Shoah [France]
Archival documentation may be searched for individual names of victims, résistants, and the righteous.