Julian (Yehiel) Hirszhaut (RG 720) [Digitized]
Eyewitness testimonies, newspaper clippings, printed material and photographs relating to Jews in Poland under Nazi occupation. The several hundred eyewitness testimonies were collected ca. 1945 by local Jewish historical commissions in Bialystok, Katowice, Krakow, Lublin, Lodz, Warsaw. The testimonies are in Polish, Yiddish and German. Materials relating to the Lodz Ghetto: photographs; ghetto money; printed announcements by Chaim Mordechai Rumkowski; a handwritten Zionist newspaper from the ghetto edited by David Joskowicz. Miscellaneous materials from Jewish organizations in post-war Poland, such as Ichud and the Central Jewish Historical Commission.
Labor Zionist Organization of America (RG 606)
This collection includes: Correspondence, reports, minutes, proceedings and other materials of the LZOA National Conventions, Executive Committee, other lay committees and administrative departments relating to all LZOA organizational activities and to the political and ideological issues of the Labor Zionist movement. An area of interest in this collection are the files related to Habonim and Young Paolei-Zion, which range from 1915-1954.
Papers of Siegfried Bernfeld (RG 6) [Digitized]
This collection contains the papers of Siegfried Bernfeld, a writer, educator, psychoanalyst, organizer of the Zionist youth movement in Austria during and after World War I, and founder of several Jewish educational institutions in Austria. Bernfeld was himself committed to archival preservation and, throughout his involvement with the youth movement, created repositories for the documents of the organizations with which he was affiliated. This documentation was collected first for Bernfeld's Archiv für Jugendkultur (Archive for Youth Culture) and later, when his focus shifted to the Jewish Zionist youth movement, in the archives of the Jüdische Institut für Jugendforschung und Erziehung (Jewish institute for Youth Research and Education) which he also founded and directed.
Records of the Farband fun di Yidishe Studentn Fareynen in Daytshland (RG 18) [Digitized]
This collection contains the records of the Union of Jewish Student Associations in Germany (Yiddish: Farband fun di Yidishe Studentn Fareynen in Daytshland; German: Verband Jüdischer Studentenvereine in Deutschland), an umbrella organization of associations of East European Jewish students who were pursuing their education in cities throughout Germany in the 1920s. Along with the Union's records are the records of two of its affiliate associations, the Jewish Student Association in Berlin and the Jewish Student Association in Jena. The student associations and the umbrella organization that they founded aimed to further Jewish cultural life among members; to provide material assistance to members in need; and to advocate for the interests of members vis-à-vis state and academic authorities.
David Trotsky (RG 235) [Digitized]
This collection contains materials collected by David Trotsky relating to the Jewish community of Belgium in the inter-war period. Materials include printed documents, posters, reports, meeting minutes, and newspaper clippings, mainly pertaining to the Jews of Brussels and Antwerp. Numerous folders in the collection pertain to youth organizations in Berlin during that time period.
Brothers for resistance and rescue : the underground Zionist youth movement in Hungary during World War II / David Gur ; edited by Eli Netzer ; translated by Pamela Segev & Avri Fischer. Jerusalem : Gefen, 2007.
Jewish youth movements of the world : [prepared for the First World Jewish Youth Convention, Jerusalem, July 28-31, 1958] / Youth and Hechalutz Dept. Jerusalem : The Dept., 1958.
The Jewish youth movement in interwar Poland / Moshe Kligsberg.
The new Jewish student and youth movements, 1965-1972 : genesis, patterns and problems / by Matthew Maibaum.
The struggle of Jewish youth for productivization : the Zionist youth movement in Poland / Israel Oppenheim. Boulder : East European Monographs ; New York : Distributed by Columbia University Press, 1989.
Third person, singular : Biographies of youth movements' activists during the Holocaust / edited by Avihu Ronen, Yehoyakim Cochavi. Israel, 1994.
We struggled for life : Zionist youth movements in Budapest, 1944 / Rafi Benshalom. Jerusalem ; Hewlett, NY : Gefen Pub. House, 2001.
When truth was treason : German youth against Hitler : the story of the Helmuth Hübener Group / based on the narrative of Karl-Heinz Schnibbe with documents and notes ; compiled, translated and edited by Blair R. Holmes and Alan F. Keele. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1995.
Zionist youth movements during the Shoah / edited by Asher Cohen & Yehoyakim Cochavi ; Ted Gorelick, translator ; Carl Alpert, English copy editor. New York : Peter Lang, c1995.