Records of the Jewish Education Committee, RG 592
This collection contains the administrative records of Jewish Education Committee as well as materials from the National Council for Jewish Education and the American Association for Jewish Education. The Jewish Education Committee was a Jewish educational organization in New York concerned with coordination of educational activities as well as development of educational resources for the Jewish secular school systems in the U.S. and was organized in June 1939. Materials include correspondence, memoranda, minutes, reports, conference materials, surveys, and publications.
Records of the American Association for Jewish Education, RG 1550
Founded in 1939, the American Association for Jewish Education (AAJE) was an organization that attempted to coordinate the efforts of Jewish educational institutions throughout the United States, so as to standardize teaching practices, and support more isolated communities. The records of the American Association for Jewish Education contain meeting minutes, budget reports, and newsletters issued by the AAJE in the course of their activities, which centered around supporting and organizing Jewish schools throughout America.
Jewish Education Service of North America (JESNA), RG 1184
Coordinating, planning and service agency for Jewish education in the U.S. Founded in New York in 1939 as the American Association for Jewish Education (AAJE), adopting its new name in 1981. Services Jewish educational institutions through a network of national organizations and bureaus of Jewish education. Conducts statistical and educational surveys, organizes conferences and provides placement services. Collection includes correspondence, minutes, reports and memorabilia of the AAJE mainly of the period 1962-1981. [No online finding aid at this time]
Educational Alliance Records, RG 312
The Educational Alliance, originally called the Hebrew Institute, functioned as a settlement house on New York’s Lower East Side beginning in 1889, eventually evolving into a community center in the 1920s. The Educational Alliance Records most comprehensively document the aims and activities of the Educational Alliance following WWII and into the 1960s, beginning with Mordecai Kessler’s tenure as Executive Director in 1945. However, meeting minutes and legal documents date back to 1879. Materials include minutes, correspondence, individual records, newsletters, photographs, announcements, deeds, clippings, reports, and financial records.
Records of the Board of Higher Education of the City of New York, RG 1368
This collection comprises trial transcripts and related documents pertaining to trials conducted by the Board of Higher Education in 1941 to 1942, in the cases of 20 faculty and staff members of City College and Brooklyn College. The charges, mostly relating to Communist Party membership and activities, were brought by the Board's Conduct Committee, based on allegations raised in investigative hearings held in 1941 by the Joint Legislative Committee to Investigate the Educational System of the State of New York, a committee of the New York State Legislature commonly known as the Rapp-Coudert Committee. In addition, the collection includes a small amount of material documenting the work of the New York City Board of Education's Integration Commission in 1956 to 1957.
Papers of Horace Meyer Kallen (1882-1974), 1902-1970 (bulk 1922-1952.), RG 317 [Digitized and available online]
Philosopher, writer, educator. Co-founder of the New School for Social Research, New York, in 1919 and dean of its Graduate Faculty of Political and Social Science, 1944-1946. An early advocate of consumer rights and environmental controls. Active in liberal, educational and Jewish groups. Served on government committees: Presidential Commission on Higher Education, New York City Commission on Inter-group Relations. This collection contains correspondence between Kallen and many important individuals and organizations, as well as manuscripts, notes, materials for speeches, financial documents, research materials, academic records, and other assorted items. These materials serve to illustrate Kallen’s important role in philosophy, education, religion, and politics and his deep involvement with consumer rights, environmental controls, Jewish issues, and civil liberties.
Papers of Abbo Ostrowsky, RG 681
This collection contains the personal and professional papers of Abbo Ostrowsky, including correspondence with many important figures from the art world, several of whom had been students of Ostrowsky at the Educational Alliance Art School. There is also information about Ostrowsky’s career as an artist, including original artwork, exhibition catalogues, and photographs. These materials show Ostrowsky’s significant influence on modern Jewish art and on the success of the Educational Alliance as an institution.
Saul Maltz Papers, RG 1229
School materials, especially relating to the Yiddish schools in Detroit and New York, including curricula and syllabi, administrative records, students' works, scripts for pageants and plays, yearbooks, newsletters, song sheets, and other materials. Song books, playscripts, newsletters and other materials from Camp Boiberik and Kinder Ring.
ORT Photograph Collection, RG 380 [Digitized and available online]
After World War I, ORT expanded their training programs to include Jews outside of the Russian Empire, opening vocational and agricultural schools and providing tools and training to help encourage industrial expansion among world Jewry. This collection consists of photographs of ORT vocational programs in Europe, the U.S., Canada, South Africa, the former Soviet countries, the Middle East and northern Africa, China, India, and Latin America. There are also photographs from Displaced Persons camps, of World ORT conferences and congresses and of various individuals.