Joshua O. Haberman Collection, AR 25870 [Digitized and available online]
This collection records the professional life and scholarship of Rabbi Joshua O. Haberman (1919-2017). A refugee who escaped Austria after the Nazi Anschluss in 1938, Rabbi Haberman had a distinguished career as both a champion of theological education and spiritual leader throughout the United States. Rabbi Haberman’s life work is well-documented through the items in this collection that include correspondence, handwritten notes and notebooks, philosophical research, conference lectures, and drafts of his later-published materials.
Arthur Prinz Collection - Dickinson College, AR 25473 [Digitized and available online]
The economics professor Arthur Prinz (1898-1981) was born in Guatemala, educated in Berlin, and emigrated first to Palestine and then to the United States, where he became a professor of economics at Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pennsylvania. This collection consists mainly of notes and manuscripts written by Prinz for a book on the psychological aspects of Karl Marx’s Das Kapital. Also included are several folders of lecture notes, clippings, research materials, and some correspondence.
Eugen Kullmann Estate Collection, AR 25693
The Eugen Kullmann Estate Collection contains documentation of the professional life and personal connections of the philosophy and religion professor and scholar Eugen Kullman. Much of the collection is made up of his correspondence from others, but there are also many notes related to his teaching and research along with professional and official documents. Notes and papers of the philosopher Karl Joël also form a significant portion of this collection. The collection includes notes such as research and lecture notes as well as notebooks; extensive correspondence from others, including family, friends, and colleagues; and official, professional, and personal documents.
Levi Schwalm Collection, AR 6447 [Digitized and available online]
This collection contains documents pertaining to Levi Schwalm's training and professional career as an elementary school teacher in Lower Saxony.
Jewish Institutions of Adult Education in Berlin – Collection of Lectures, LBIJER 492 [Digitized and available online]
The collection holds mostly manuscripts of lectures given primarily at institutions of Jewish adult education. They were given by various scholars, lecturing on Judaism; Jewish history; Jewish philosophy; and other topics pertaining to Jewish culture.
Life at an English Boarding School, 1937-1938, ME 275 [Digitized and available online]
Experiences of a student sent by her parents to a boarding school in Bournemouth.
Papers of the Jacobson-Schule in Seesen, AR 3502 [Digitized and available online]
The ‘Jacobson Schule’ was founded 1801 by Israel Jacobson as a Jewish vocational school in the town of Seesen in Lower Saxony, Germany. In 1862 is was transformed into a Prussian high school. The collection combines various documents pertaining to the school’s actuality and the diversity of its students from its earliest days in the early 19th century to its 175th anniversary in 1976.
Eduard Strauss Collection, AR 7192 [Digitized and available online]
The collection contains the writings and correspondence of Eduard Strauss, a chemist and philosopher who taught at the Freies Juedisches Lehrhaus in Frankfurt am Main and later immigrated to New York, where he helped establish a new Lehrhaus.
Adolf Kober Collection, AR 7188 / MF 524 [Digitized and available online]
Manuscripts and research notes on Jewish history, including the emancipation of the Jews, nineteenth century emigration of German Jews to the United States, Jewish education, and the Jewish communities of Heidelberg, Goettingen, Frankfurt am Main, Magdeburg, and especially Cologne and vicinity, including manuscripts of eighteenth-century chroniclers.
Newsletter : Stoatley Rough School 1934-1960 1992-2011, AR 25470
The Newsletter is written for former students of Stoatley Rough School, who live mainly in England and in the United States. It reports on reminiscences and lives of former students and serves as a forum for school reunions. Stoatley Rough School was founded 1934 in Haslemere, Surrey, England by Dr Hilde Lion, largely through the efforts of Bertha Bracey, a Quaker. It was a mixed boarding school, catering for German and Austrian Jewish refugee children. It continued as a school after WWII, changing its intake to disadvantaged British children sent by local authorities. The school closed in 1960. [Newsletter issues 1 – 12 are digitized as part of the Lili Wronker Collection, Box 2, folder 8; Newsletter issues 13 – 23 are part of the Lili Wronker Collection, Box 2, folder 9.]