Jewish Education Service of North America (JESNA) Records (RG1184)
The JESNA operated as a coordinating, planning and service agency for Jewish education in the U.S. Founded in New York in 1939 as the American Association for Jewish Education (AAJE), adopting its new name in 1981. Services Jewish educational institutions through a network of national organizations and bureaus of Jewish education. Sponsored the National Curriculum Research Institute, National Board of License, and other projects. Conducted statistical and educational surveys, organized conferences, and provided placement services.
N. Chait Papers (RG 543)
The papers consist of records of the Workmen's Circle Central School Board in New York, which were in the possession of Mr. Chait. Minutes of meetings of the Executive Committee of the Central School Board, 1937-1945. Annual reports of the Workmen's Circle Schools in New York, 1927, 1928, 1931, 1936. Reports of Workmen's Circle School Conferences, 1926, 1934-1939.
Papers of Chaim Ormian (RG 728)
The papers consist of correspondence and printed materials relating to Ormian's activities in the field of education. Correspondents include A.A. Roback and Leibush Lehrer. Printed materials from YIVO in Vilna relating to its Section on Education and Psychology.
Papers of Isaac Levitats (RG 663)
The papers relate to Levitats' work in the field of education in the U.S., Israel and Canada. Reports, correspondence, clippings, memos, surveys, pamphlets, minutes of meetings and curricula relating to the Boards of Jewish Education in Akron (Ohio), Syracuse (N.Y.), Milwaukee (Wisconsin), North Bellmore (N.Y.) and in numerous other cities in the U.S. Curriculum materials: teaching guides and manuals on teaching Hebrew, Bible, Jewish holidays, music, and drama. Materials relating to schools in Haifa and to various high schools in New York City. Levitats' doctoral dissertation.
Records of the American Association for Jewish Education (RG 1550)
The records of the American Association for Jewish Education contain meeting minutes, budget reports, and newsletters issued by the AAJE in the course of their activities, which centered around supporting and organizing Jewish schools throughout America.
Records of the Board of Higher Education of the City of New York (RG 1368)
This collection comprises trial transcripts and related documents pertaining to trials conducted by the Board of Higher Education in 1941 to 1942, in the cases of 20 faculty and staff members of City College and Brooklyn College. The charges, mostly relating to Communist Party membership and activities, were brought by the Board's Conduct Committee, based on allegations raised in investigative hearings held in 1941 by the Joint Legislative Committee to Investigate the Educational System of the State of New York, a committee of the New York State Legislature commonly known as the Rapp-Coudert Committee. In addition, the collection includes a small amount of material documenting the work of the New York City Board of Education's Integration Commission in 1956 to 1957.
Records of Hevrah Mefitsei Haskalah Society (Vilna) (RG 22) [Digitized]
The collection contains the records of the Vilna branch of the Hevrah Mefitsei Haskalah, an educational and publishing organization, established in 1863 to propagate secular knowledge and acculturation into the Russian society among the Jews of the Pale of Settlement. The Vilna Branch was organized in 1909 to assist Jewish education in Vilna and vicinity. During World War I and after Vilna became a part of independent Poland, the organization continued to propagate secular education and maintain schools, libraries and teachers’ courses. The materials include minutes, correspondence, memoranda, programs, leaflets, announcements, and clippings.
Records of the Jewish Education Committee (RG 592)
This collection contains the administrative records of Jewish Education Committee as well as materials from the National Council for Jewish Education and the American Association for Jewish Education. The Jewish Education Committee was a Jewish educational organization in New York concerned with coordination of educational activities as well as development of educational resources for the Jewish secular school systems in the U.S. and was organized in June 1939. Materials include correspondence, memoranda, minutes, reports, conference materials, surveys, and publications.
Records of the VILBIG (Vilner Yidishe Bildungs Gezelshaft/Vilna Jewish Education Society) (RG 11) [Digitzed]
VILBIG was organized in Vilna, Poland, in September 1924 to promote secular education among the Yiddish-speaking population. The collection holds the records of the VILBIG administration and of its educational programs. Included here are minutes of committee meetings, records of elections, financial reports, and documents about legalizing VILBIG and its provincial branches. Other documents found in this collection are correspondence with Jewish educational and cultural institutions in Poland, the Vilna Kehillah, and various government and municipal agencies. In addition, there is also correspondence with 17 local branches of VILBIG, mainly in the province of Vilna, and materials relating to educational courses, various artistic groups, and the scout club "Bin."
Yiddish Teachers Alliance Local 196 Records (RG 351)
Professional organization whose Yiddish name was Lerer Farband fun di Weltlekhe Yidishe Shuln. Affiliated with the American Federation of Teachers, its members were teachers in secular Yiddish schools. Based in New York, it had branches in the U.S. and Canada.
Community responsibility for Jewish education / by the American Association for Jewish Education, 1940.
Fifty years' work: of the Hebrew Education Society of Philadelphia, 1848-1898/ by the Hebrew Education Society, 1899.
Jewish education and American democracy / by Simon H. Rifkind ... [et. al.]., 1947.
Jewish education in Europe, 1914-1962: annotated bibliography / by Uriah Z. Engelman., 1965.
Survey of Jewish education in greater New York, 1951-1952: qualitative studies / conducted by Israel S. Chipkin; edited by Louis L. Ruffman., 1959.
Visions of Jewish education / edited by Seymour Fox, Israel Scheffler, Daniel Marom., 2003.