Associates of Orthodox Jewish Teachers of the New York City Public Schools Collection (I-305)
This collection contains AOJT newsletters as well as publicity and membership information. Formerly called the Association of Orthodox Jewish Teachers of the New York Board of Education.
Educational Alliance collection (I-359)
This collection contains annual reports, membership and financial reports, an Alumni Association 50th Anniversary Journal, Art exhibit programs, guides and catalogs. The documents in this collection describe citizenship preparation guides, United States maps in English and Yiddish, declaration of Intention forms, a report by Allan David concerning the functions of the alliance and pamphlets on Project Ezra, a volunteer organization for the aged. Also included are souvenir journals for a fair to aid the Education Alliance and the Hebrew Technical Institute. This collection also includes the following publications: Alliance Reporter (1947-1948), Alliance Review (1902), and Newsletter of Education Alliance (1992-1993).
Records of the Baron de Hirsch Fund (I-80) [Digitized]
The Baron de Hirsch Fund Records document the organization's involvement in the planning of agricultural communities across the country and to some extent in South America; the founding and administrative dealings of agricultural and trade schools; the establishment of the Jewish Agricultural Society; and the business records of the Fund itself. Series V concerns the Woodbine Agricultural School and includes student applications for admission, inquiries and detailed information regarding student protests at the school. Also included are administrative reports and topical files documenting the dedication and closing of the school as well as information on other agricultural education programs extant at the time. Scholarships, student statistics, financial operations records, publications, and annual reports are included in the series.
Records of the Board of Jewish Education (Chicago, IL) (I-316)
The bulk of the collection contains teaching manuals and aids issued by the Board in a variety of different subjects. Other materials include catalogs, correspondence, newsletters, publications and songbooks.
Records of the Board of Jewish Education (New York, NY) (I-307)
Beginning as the Bureau of Education in 1910, the Board of Jewish Education is an agency of the UJA Federation of New York. Under the motto of "Preparing the Jewish Future," the Board of Jewish Education strives to "motivate, strengthen and increase Jewish identity and commitment to the Jewish people through educational services and acculturation programs in New York." The collection includes surveys, promotional documents, and publications documenting the activities of the Board of Jewish Education.
Records of the Jewish Education Service of North America (I-75)
The Jewish Education Service of North America (JESNA), formerly known as the American Association for Jewish Education, was founded in 1939. The Association promotes and supports Jewish education in communities throughout the United States and Canada by supplying studies of Jewish education, developing supplementary educational materials, and collaborating with Jewish organizations. This collection primarily contains the results of surveys and consequent reports, in addition to some correspondence, meeting minutes, and newsletters of the administration. Somewhat unrelated, the Jewish Media Services's files on films and filmmakers make up the last series of this collection, as JESNA took over some of the responsibilities of this organization in the early 1990s.
A History of Jewish education in America. / Edited by Judah Pilch. 1st ed., 1969.
Classroom management: a practical manual and guide for teachers in Jewish schools / by Solomon Colodner. 1966.
Jewish education in the American scene & American public education, Jewish education and international understanding / by Horace M. Kallen [and] by Earl J. McGrath., 1949.
Jewish Schools in America: A Description of Types of Jewish Schooling in Jewish Communities in the United States and Canada / American Association for Jewish Education / by Israel S. Chipkin, et al. 1947. Print.
Judaism and the Jewish school: selected essays on the direction and purpose of Jewish education / edited and introduced by Judah Pilch and Meir Ben-Horin. 1st ed.]..ed., 1966.