Records of the Jewish Education Service of North America, I-75
The Jewish Education Service of North America (JESNA), formerly known as the American Association for Jewish Education, was founded in 1939. JESNA promotes and supports Jewish education in communities throughout the US and Canada by supplying studies of Jewish education, developing supplementary educational materials, and collaborating with Jewish organizations. This collection primarily contains the results of surveys and consequent reports, in addition to some correspondence, meeting minutes, and newsletters of the administration. Somewhat unrelated, the Jewish Media Services's files on films and filmmakers make up the last series of this collection, as JESNA took over some of the responsibilities of this organization in the early 1990s. The bulk of the collection is comprised of reports on Jewish education found in Series II: The National Study Commission. The majority of the JESNA records date from 1940-1969.
Educational Alliance collection, I-359
The Educational Alliance was founded as a private organization expressly for the purpose of giving opportunity to the residents of the overcrowded neighborhoods of the Lower East Side. The organization is primarily an educational institution; however it also serves some of the community's social and recreational needs. This collection contains annual reports, membership and financial reports, an Alumni Association 50th Anniversary Journal, Art exhibit programs, guides and catalogs.
Philip Slomovitz United Hebrew Schools of Detroit collection, P-136
Contains materials documenting events leading up to and following the Detroit Hebrew teachers strike, including: correspondence of Slomovitz; printed materials of the United Hebrew School's appraisals of its superintendant; correspondence and public statements of the teachers union; press releases of the Jewish Educators Council of Metropolitan Detroit; printed reactions to the strike; the arbitration agreement; newspaper clippings; and miscellaneous items. Appended are correspondence, press releases, and clippings relating to the 1971 dismissal of the educational director of an affiliated school, and documents relating to the dispute between the United Hebrew Schools and its women's auxiliary (1971-1972).
Records of the Columbia Religious and Industrial School for Jewish Girls (New York, N.Y.), I-24
Founded in 1888 by Adolph Benjamin and Adolphus Solomons, the Columbia Religious and Industrial School for Jewish Girls was created as a protection against the many Christian missionaries on the Lower East Side of New York. The Industrial branch of the school taught sewing by hand as well as by machine, mending, embroidery, cutting, and garment-making to about 200-300 girls per afternoon. The Religious branch of the school, headed by students from the Jewish Theological Seminary, served about 120 pupils. This collection contains correspondence, financial data and reports (some published) on the work and activities of the School. Among the officers were N. Taylor Phillips, treasurer, and his wife, Rosalie Solomons Phillips, president and first vice president.
Jewish Student Organizations Collection, I-61
The Jewish Student Organizations collection consists of publications from Jewish student and youth groups spanning the 20th century. The bulk of the collection consists of publications produced between the 1960s, through the 1980s. Most were produced by Jewish groups on individual campuses, although some inter-campus and non-college, community youth publications are included.
Dropsie University collection, I-358
The institution now known as Center for Advanced Judaic Studies at the University of Pennsylvania was founded as the Dropsie College of Hebrew and Cognate Learning and finally as Dropsie University. Dropsie College was established with a bequest from Moses Aaron Dropsie. It was an independent, non-theological, academic institution dedicated to graduate instruction and research in Jewish and related branches of learning.
Arthur A. Goren Papers, P-985
This is the collection of Arthur A. Goren, a historian and professor of American Jewish history at the Hebrew University and Columbia University. This collection consists of his research material and professional files from his academic pursuits and career as a professor, primarily at Columbia University. Included in the collection are copies of articles and photocopies of archival material used for research, drafts of speeches and manuscripts, handwritten and typed research notes, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and teaching and course material such as syllabi, readings, notes, and bibliographies.