Alfred Neumann Collection (AR 4983) [Digitized and available online]
Neumann attained renown as a writer and novelist in Germany, and won the Kleist Prize in 1926. He left Germany for Italy in 1933, and eventually settled in Los Angeles in 1941, where he worked as a screenwriter in the film industry. A couple of his novels and screenplays were adapted into films. This collection contains several of Alfred Neumann's short prose manuscripts and over 100 poems, as well a considerable amount of correspondence.
Dolly Haas family collection, 1883-2011 (AR 25447) [Digitized and available online]
The collection documents the significant events in the lives of several Haas family members; it also contains some details of the early career of Dolly Haas. About half the collection consists of family correspondence. The actress Dolly (Dorothea Clara Eleanore) Haas was born 1910 in Hamburg, Germany. She had her debut as a professional actress in 1927, then worked at Berlin’s Grosses Schauspielhaus, before embarking on a film career that brought her to England and to Hollywood. She also performed on Broadway. Dolly Haas was first married to the German director John Brahm and then to the renowned artist and caricaturist Al Hirschfeld. She died in New York in 1994.
Heinz (Heinrich) Auerbach Collection (AR 7098) [Digitized and available online]
This collection contains a large amount of business and legal correspondence and documents pertaining to Auerbach's tenure with Tri-Ergon AG and Tobis Tonbild Syndikat AG, most of which revolve around legal proceedings (patent and civil) in Germany, Switzerland, and the United States concerning Tri-Ergon's sound-on-film technologies which had become film industry standard. The collection also has a folder of Auerbach's personal papers, a considerable number of family and personal photographs (some arranged in albums), some personal correspondence, and a few manuscripts for film projects.
Willy Haas Collection, 1933-1956 (AR 1403) [Digitized and available online]
The collection contains two personal letters of Willy Haas, a German journalist, film critic, and screenwriter. The letter from Willy Haas to Erich Ebermayer, dated September 9, 1933, solicits Ebermayer's contribution to Die Welt im Wort, Haas' newspaper for literature, art and culture. The letter to Lutz Weltmann, dated June 1956, contains a note of gratitude written by Willy Haas on the occasion of his 65th birthday. Both letters include Willy Haas' signature.
The Construction of European Holocaust Memory : German and Polish Cinema after 1989 / Malgorzata Pakier. Warsaw Studies in Jewish History and Memory, v. 3. Frankfurt: PL Academic Research, Imprint Der Peter Lang GmbH, 2013.
Deborah and Her Sisters : How One Nineteenth-century Melodrama and a Host of Celebrated Actresses Put Judaism on the World Stage / Jonathan M. Hess. Jewish Culture and Contexts. 2018.
Hollywood Giganten : Joodse Immigranten En De Amerikaanse Film / Adrian Stahlecker. 2008.
Hungarian Film 1929-1947 : National Identity, Anti-semitism, and Popular Cinema / Gábor Gergely. Eastern European Screen Cultures. 2017.
I Am Not a Hero, I Am a Composer : Hanns Eisler in Hollywood / Horst Weber. Hildesheim: Georg Olms Verlag, 2012.
Indelible Shadows : Film and the Holocaust / Annette Insdorf. Third ed. Cambridge, U.K. ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Jews and Film [Juden Und Film] : Vienna, Prague, Hollywood / Hrsg. Von = Edited by Eleonore Lappin. Juden in Mitteleuropa. Wien: Mandelbaum; Institut Für Geschichte Der Juden in Österreich, 2004.
Screening Transcendence : Film under Austrofascism and the Hollywood Hope, 1933-1938 / Robert Dassanowsky. 2018.
Spielberg's Holocaust : Critical Perspectives on Schindler's List / Edited by Yosefa Loshitzky. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1997.
Warners' War : Politics, Pop Culture & Propaganda in Wartime Hollywood / Edited by Martin Kaplan and Johanna Blakley. First ed. 2004.
Weimar Film and Modern Jewish Identity / Ofer Ashkenazi. Studies in European Culture and History. 2012.