Films Collection 1930's-1950's (RG 105)
The collection is of mixed provenance and consists mostly of 16 mm films and some 8 mm and 35 mm films. There is also a group of VHS and 3/4 in. tapes. Many of the films are registered as part of other record groups in the YIVO Archives and were physically separated from these record groups, placed in the Collection of Films, and cataloged, for preservation purposes and for improved access to researchers. The collection includes the following series: Amateur Films, 1920s-1930s. Amateur home movies made by American Jews on trips to Eastern Europe, Palestine and of American Jewish life. Films of Towns and Cities Commissioned by Landsmanshaftn, 1920s-1930s. Post-war films made by social welfare organizations, 1940s-1960s. Films produced by social welfare organizations such as the HIAS and the AJDC describing the situation of Jewish refugees and displaced persons and organizational work carried out on their behalf. Miscellaneous films. A film about Jewish refugees in Shanghai in the late 1940s. 8 mm footage of the Warsaw Ghetto and the Cracow Ghetto during World War II. Yiddish language newsreel made of a memorial ceremony held in Skierniewice, Poland, in 1947 for Holocaust victims. *A Scientific Expedition to Birobizhan* (1929), a silent film by the faculty of Brigham Young University, Utah.
Ida and Melman, Meir Kaminska (RG 994)
Ida Kaminska was a Polish actress and director known mainly for her work in the theatre. For her performance in "Shop on Main Street," she received special mention at the Cannes Film Festival and nominations for the Golden Globe Award and the Academy Award for Best Actress. The papers pertain predominantly to Ida Kaminska's career in the U.S. The collection consists of photographs, letters, telegrams, clippings, awards, notes, personal documents and includes materials pertaining to: the stage production of "Mother Courage" by Bertold Brecht; "Sore-Sheindel from Yehupetz" by Joseph Lateiner; "Mirele Efros" by Jacob Gordin; materials about the film "Shop on Main Street" and the TV production "Mandelstam's Witness" (CBC, 1975).
Leib Lensky 1930-1991 (RG 1297)
Lensky was a Yiddish actor and lexicographer. From 1930 until 1946 lived in France where he performed in the Yiddish theaters in Paris. He also performed in Jean Renoir's film La Grande Illusion. In the U.S. he acted mostly for English-language theaters, film, television, advertising. Lensky performed on the Hebrew stage in the U.S. and in Israel. The collection contains programs, photographs, film stills, clippings, relating to Lensky's career: materials about the Yiddish theater in Paris; film and stage scripts including adaptations from Yiddish literature made by Lensky.
Molly Picon Collection, ca. 1900-1972 (RG 738)
The collection includes materials relating to Picon's career. Photographs of Picon in various stage and film productions including the films Fiddler on the Roof, East and West, Mamele, Yidl mitn fidl, Milk and Honey. Manuscripts of plays. Music by Abe Ellstein, Mordecai Gebirtig, Abraham Goldfaden, Molly Picon, Joseph Rumshinsky. Playbills and programs from films and theater. Scrapbook of correspondence, theater tickets. Recordings of songs performed by Picon. Plaques, citations, awards. Original art items including portraits, illustrations and cartoons on various topics, many of them studies of Picon.
Morris Berman Collection (RG 1978)
75 photographs collected for the production of the television series "Israel: A Nation Is Born."
Eric Goldman Papers, 1903 - 1974 (RG 2311)
Goldman is a film educator, historian, and distributor. He currently lectures on Yiddish, Jewish, and Israeli film at Yeshiva University and the Jewish Theological Seminary. He worked at YIVO as a film curator before starting Ergo Media in 1987. He currently hosts the television program "Jewish Cinematheque" shown on JBS TV. The papers consist of clippings, notes, letters and email correspondence, catalogue records of Yiddish films, photos and negative stills, conference brochures and schedules related to his work in Jewish film scholarship. The collection also includes over 60 film stills and photographs from various productions such as Yidl Mitn Fidl, A Briv Der Mamen, Dem Khazns Zundl, Der Dibek, Tevye, Tsvey Shvester, and many others.
Papers of Anatole Winogradoff, 1826-1961 (RG 1926)
Anatole Winogradoff was a famous actor, director, and translator. He began his acting career at age 17 and appeared in movies and on television. He acted in Russia, Berlin, and Paris in the language of each country. When traveling in NY, he learned English for the role of Esdras in Maxwell Anderson's "Winterset." This collection contains copies of Winogradoff's plays, pageants, monologues, dialogues, skits, playbills, and poems. It also features a list of directors he worked with, a souvenir book, photographs, and personal items.
Papers of Joseph Buloff and Luba Kadison (RG 1146)
This collection contains the personal and professional papers of Joseph Buloff and Luba Kadison, leading actors of the Vilna Troupe and of the Yiddish and English stage, both in the United States and internationally. Buloff made his film debut in 1940 in Let’s Make Music and had roles in films such as Silk Stockings (1957) and Somebody Up There Likes Me (1956). In the early days of television he played Pincus Pines in The Goldbergs (1949). He had several roles in television and film from the ‘50s to early ‘80s. Most of the collection concerns their theatrical careers, including play manuscripts, drawings and photographs of plays and actors, reviews, flyers, and musical scores. There is some personal biographical information about Buloff, including his memoirs and audio cassettes of interviews.
Yiddish Theater Photographs 1910-1960's (RG 119)
Photographs of theatrical personalities, such as actors, directors, producers, arranged by name of individual. There are also some photographs of Yiddish film productions.
Afterimage : Film, Trauma, and the Holocaust / Joshua Hirsch. Emerging Media. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2004.
The American Jewish Experience through the Lens of Cinema : Film History as Haggadah / Eric A. Goldman. New York ]: American Jewish Committee, 2008.
The American Jewish Story through Cinema / by Eric A. Goldman. 1st ed. Jewish History, Life, and Culture. Austin: University of Texas Press, 2013.
Another Fine Mess : A History of American Film Comedy / Saul Austerlitz. 1st ed. 2010.
Disobedience / Naomi Alderman. Touchstone ed. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2007.
The Dybbuk : Text, Subtext, and Context / Fernando Peñalosa. 2012.
Films about Jewish Life and Culture / Edited by Michael Taub. Studies in History and Criticism of Film v. 10. Lewiston, N.Y.: Edwin Mellen Press, 2005.
Found Footage, Hidden Meanings: On Queer Subtext, Yiddish Films & Subcultural Recycling / by Eve Sicular. Toronto: Parallelograme Artist-Run Culture, 1996.
Italian Film in the Shadow of Auschwitz / Millicent Marcus. Goggio Publication Series. Toronto ; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, 2007.
The "Jew" in Cinema : From The Golem to Don't Touch My Holocaust / Omer Bartov. Helen and Martin Schwartz Lectures in Jewish Studies. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2005.
Movies and Midrash : Popular Film and Jewish Religious Conversation / Wendy I. Zierler ; Foreword by Eugene B. Borowitz. 2017.
The New Jew in Film : Exploring Jewishness and Judaism in Contemporary Cinema / Nathan Abrams. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 2012.
Over the Top Judaism : Precedents and Trends in the Depiction of Jewish Beliefs and Observances in Film and Television / Elliot B. Gertel. Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 2003.
Silver Screen, Hasidic Jews : The Story of an Image / Shaina Hammerman. 2018.
Tradition! : The Highly Improbable, Ultimately Triumphant Broadway-to-Hollywood Story of Fiddler on the Roof, the World's Most Beloved Musical / Barbara Isenberg. First ed. 2014.
Waszyński's The Dybbuk / Daria Mazur ; Translated by Maciej Smoczyński. Klasyka Kina. Poznań, [Poland]: Wydawn. Naukowe UAM, 2009.
When Joseph Met Molly : A Reader on Yiddish Film / Edited by Sylvia Paskin. Nottingham: Five Leaves, 1999.
While America Watches : Televising the Holocaust / Jeffrey Shandler. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Oh Mama Unit 5.4 - Eric Goldman: Yiddish Cinema
YIVO’s Shine Online Educational Series Oh Mama, I'm in Love! The Story of the Yiddish Stage presented by Edward Blank and Family