Der Fuehrer's Face Musical Score (I-541)
This musical score, “der Fuehrer’s Face,” is from the Walt Disney Motion Picture originally entitled “Donald Duck in Nutzi Land;” however the picture was released under the name of the song itself. The score was published by the Southern Music Publishing Company, Inc., 1619 Broadway, New York. The “Words and Music" are by Oliver Wallace. The score is six pages long (3 leaves). The front page has an image of Donald Duck throwing a tomato into Adolph Hitler’s eye. His other eye is represented by a swastika.
Hebrew Hammer (Film) Records (I-539)
The collection contains production notes, set designs, and several props from the movie, The Hebrew Hammer. The movie was a 2003 comedy written and directed by Jonathan Kesselman that starred Adam Goldberg as the Hebrew Hammer, with a cast that included Andy Dick, Judy Greer, Sean Whalen, Mario Van Peebles, Peter Coyote, Tony Cox, and Nora Dunn, among others.
Jewish Media Service, records (I-513)
The collection contains material collected by the Jewish Media Service (JMS) on Jewish films, film company catalogs, resources and information from and about various media centers. The majority of the Jewish Media Service records date from when the JMS operated independently from 1975 to 1987. Types of material found in the collection include articles, brochures, catalogs, correspondence, examination study guides, filmographies, film stills, newsletters, pamphlets, photographs, posters, publications, scripts, and slides.
Kurt K. Field Film Collection (P-805)
The collection consists of footage pertaining to one family's leisure activities between 1939 and 1966. The bulk of film was shot during the post-war period. The film covers a variety of outings in the New York City Area, such the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade, the Staten Island Ferry, Empire State Building, and Central and Van Courtland Parks. Other footage includes trips to Miami Beach, Atlantic City, and Ausable Canyon. Most of the film, however, focuses on time spent in small, Jewish hotels in the Catskills region. This collection is valuable for researchers studying Jewish leisure habits, Jewish American life in the post-war era, or the Jewish Catskills.
Molly Picon, papers (P-38)
The Molly Picon Papers consist of materials relating to Picon's career as a performer. Her first film was Das Judenmadel in 1921. Throughout the 1920s and 1930s, despite growing antisemitism, Picon traveled there to star in several other Yiddish films, including Ost und West , also known as Mezrach un Maarev. In 1937, in Poland, she filmed Idl Mitn Fidl, one of her best-known films. In 1938 she filmed Mamele, the last Jewish film made in Poland before the Nazis obliterated European Yiddish culture. While Picon's roots were in Yiddish theater and film, she took on a wide variety of roles, including radio, television, Hollywood films, and Broadway theater. Her Hollywood film roles include the Italian mother in Come Blow Your Horn (1963), for which she received an Academy Award nomination, and Yente the matchmaker in Fiddler on the Roof (1971).
Much of the collection is in Yiddish.
Phillip Applebaum Collection (P-583)
This collection consists almost entirely of magazine articles about American Jews who have attained prominence in various fields, including entertainment, film, and television figures, such as actors, screenwriters, producers, and directors. Files arranged by name, except small number at end listed by particular topics.
Robert Goldstein Papers (P-598)
This collection includes newspaper clippings and photos of Robert Goldstein's activities during the time he served as production chief in Europe (1955-1960) and executive producer (1960-1974) with Twentieth Century-Fox. Of special interest are photographs taken with various movie stars.
Subject files collection (I-424)
Series VI includes materials related to television and film production and distribution companies, film archives, movie posters, festivals, and more. Within each series is a variety of material; primarily types of publications and mailings. Specifically, the collection may include souvenir journals, promotional and informational brochures and flyers, publications, calendars, greeting cards, business cards, postal cards, invitations and programs, playbills, certificates, prayers, religious and civil legal documents, posters, gift catalogues, newspaper clippings, and broadsides. Dates range from the early 20th century to the present.
Theater and Film Poster Collection of Abram Kanof (P-978) [Collection is digitized and available online]
The collection consists of 331 posters representing 205 different theater and film productions. These posters are an important resource of information regarding the state of Yiddish theater and the cultural and creative life of the Jewish immigrant in the early 1900s, especially on the Lower East Side of New York City. Motion Pictures posters can be found in Series IV and V.
American Jewish Filmmakers / David Desser and Lester D. Friedman. 2nd ed. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2004.
American Showman: Samuel "Roxy" Rothafel and the Birth of the Entertainment Industry, 1908-1935 / Ross Melnick. of Film and Culture. New York: Columbia University Press, 2012.
Ben Hecht, Hollywood Screenwriter / by Jeffrey Brown Martin. Studies in Cinema No. 27]. Ann Arbor, Mich.: UMI Research Press, 1985.
Blackface, White Noise : Jewish Immigrants in the Hollywood Melting Pot / Michael Rogin. Los Angeles: University of California Press, 1998.
Celluloid Assimilation : Jews in American Silent Movies / Lester D. Friedman. Washington, D.C.: Heldref Publications, 1987.
The Collaboration : Hollywood's Pact with Hitler / Ben Urwand. 2013.
Entertaining America : Jews, Movies, and Broadcasting / J. Hoberman and Jeffrey Shandler ; with Contributions by Maurice Berger ... [et Al.]. New York : Princeton: Jewish Museum ; Princeton University Press, 2003.
The Fox That Got Away : The Last Days of the Zanuck Dynasty at Twentieth Century-Fox / by Stephen M. Silverman. Secaucus, N.J.: L. Stuart, 1988.
From the Lower East Side to Hollywood: Jews in American popular culture / Paul Buhle. London; New York: Verso, 2004.
Funny Men of the Movies / Edward Edelson. 1st ed. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1976.
The Jewish Image in American Film / Lester D. Friedman. Secaucus, N.J.: Citadel Press, 1987.
Jewish Women on Stage, Film and Television / Roberta Mock. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
Little Caesar : A Biography of Edward G. Robinson / Alan L. Gansberg. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2004.
The Warner Bros. Story / Clive Hirschhorn. New York: Crown Publishers, 1979.
Barbara Walters : TV Superstar / Mary Malone. Contemporary Women Series. Hillside, NJ, U.S.A.: Enslow Publishers, 1990.
The Great Clowns of American Television / by Karin Adir. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1988.
Jewish Women on Stage, Film and Television / Roberta Mock. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
Just in Time : Notes from My Life / Phyllis Newman. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1988.
Midge's Haggadah Passover Seder Service / Compliments of Maxwell House Coffee [and the Marvelous Mrs. Maisel]. New 1958 Edition.; Marvelous Mrs. Maisel ed. 2019.
Television's Changing Image of American Jews / Neal Gabler, Frank Rich, Joyce Antler. New York]: American Jewish Committee : Norman Lear Center, 2000.
At Lunch Oscars Edition with Michael Shulman
Julie Salamon sits down with New Yorker staff writer and author Michael Schulman to discuss his new book, Oscar Wars: A History of Hollywood in Gold, Sweat, and Tears. Schulman is the author of the New York Times bestseller Her Again: Becoming Meryl Streep. His work has also appeared in the New York Times, Vanity Fair, The Believer, Aperture, and other publications.
At Lunch with Mara Wilson
Author and journalist Julie Salamon (Wall Street Journal and NY Times) sits down with writer and actor Mara Wilson. Mara, known for her childhood roles in Mrs. Doubtfire and Matilda, is a writer and actor living in Los Angeles. Recently, she has appeared on Welcome to Night Vale, Broad City and Bojack Horseman. Her writing has appeared on Elle.com, McSweeney’s, Reductress, and Cracked. She also publishes a newsletter of her writing with Substack, 'Shan't We Call the Vicar?' her first book, Where Am I Now?: True Stories of Girlhood and Accidental Fame is available from Penguin Random House.
At Lunch with Neal Shapiro
Julie Salamon (Wall Street Journal and NY Times) sits down with award winning television producer, President and CEO of WNET Neal Shapiro. During his time at WNET he has been behind the creation of many programs including Sunday Arts, Reel 13, Worldfocus, Need to Know, and New York War Stories. Neal's career in television includes serving as President of NBC News, and working as a producer for ABC News. He has also taught and lectured at Columbia University, MIT, Stanford, and his alma mater Tufts University.