Historical institutions all over the world house hundreds of newspaper collections and relevant research databases for anyone looking to do research. The list below brings together links to some of the databases and digitized collections that are available remotely. We encourage you to visit these websites and archives independently to contribute to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum database!
Please note that these links are representative of only what an institution might hold (or has been digitized), which is not always a full print/issue run of a periodical. If you have any questions about their collections, please contact that particular institution for more information.
Use one of the links below to look at various newspaper collections available online. Visit the USHMM's Find a Newspaper website to find more titles to access right from your computer.
GENERAL
The Library of Congress' website, Chronicling America, includes a search engine that will identify what newspapers were available in a particular place and time for U.S. newspapers.
Transcribed newspaper articles about train wrecks, fires, floods, shipwrecks, and other disasters. Browse by date, state, or type of disaster.
On-site only restricted access. ProQuest is a key partner for content of all types, preserving and enabling access to their rich and varied information. Those partnerships have built a growing content collection that now encompasses 90,000 authoritative sources, 6 billion digital pages and spans six centuries. It includes 20 million pages and three centuries of global, national, regional, and specialty newspapers. It is a great facility when searching American Jewish Newspapers.
Searchable database of African American newspapers which are also available on Google News Archive. Includes the [Baltimore] Afro-American 1902-1957, the [Baltimore] Afro-American Ledger 1906-1917, the Baltimore Afro-American 1943-2003, and the Washington Afro-American 1938-1988.
NEW YORK
Accessible only through online account. The digital archive of the New York Times, including over 150 years of as they originally appeared (full-text PDF images, fully searchable).
The Brooklyn Public Library: Brooklyn Newsstand
The Brooklyn Newsstand is a newspaper digitization initiative between Brooklyn Public Library's local history division-- the Brooklyn Collection-- and Newspapers.com. This partnership gives the public free access to the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper, published from 1841 to 1955, as well as Brooklyn Life, a society magazine published from 1890 to 1931.
New York State Historic Newspapers, Norther New York Library Network
Provides access to an extensive online database containing historical newspapers published throughout the state of New York.
TEXAS
19th Century Mormon Article Newspaper Index 1831-1900
History Unfolded: US Newspapers and the Holocaust is an innovative, nationwide citizen history project that invites students, teachers, and lifelong learners to contribute to ongoing research on how pivotal events from the Holocaust period were reported in newspapers in the 1930s and 1940s.
Center for Jewish History is proud to be a research site for the History Unfolded Project, a program of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Participation in the project helps the Holocaust Memorial museum discover what Americans knew about and how they responded to news of Nazi persecution. When you join the community of citizen historians conducting research in local newspaper archives, your discoveries will help future historians and researchers in their quests to answer important questions about world events.
If you have any questions about our involvement in History Unfolded or would like general information on conducting research at the Center for Jewish History, please contact us at inquiries@cjh.org.