LGBTQ+ Jewish Research Guide at NYPL
This research guide features publications by and about LGBTQ+ Jewish people, from scholarly and community works to personal stories.
Gay and Lesbian Collections & AIDS/HIV Collections
The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of gay men and lesbians, and to the history of the AIDS/HIV epidemic. Gay and lesbian history and AIDS history are not a single subject; however, because of their interrelationships, both types of collections are included in this guide.
The LGBT Community Center National History Archive
A community-based archive that collects, preserves, and makes available to the public the documentation of LGBTQ+ individuals and organizations centered in and around New York. Materials in the collections run from as early as 1878 to the present. Includes materials related to Jewish individuals and communities such as: Congregation Beth Simchat Torah Records; Harvey Herskowitz Papers; H. Wayne Bardy Papers; Jewish Gay and Lesbian Group; World Congress of Gay and Lesbian Jewish Organizations
LGBT Collection Material from Across the Country
ArchiveGrid helps researchers find primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies around the country.
'Since the rise of the LGBTQ movement in the 1970s, Jewish women have played critical roles in advocating for the full inclusion of LGBTQ people in civil society, in synagogues, in history books, and in cultural, political, and spiritual life.'
Fourteen Jews Who Changed Queer History Forever
A spotlight on some of HeyAlma's favorite queer Jews who have made a lasting impact on the LGBTQ community and world at large.
Queer Yiddishkeit: Finding a home in Yiddishland while challenging the status quo
Evolving notions of gender, sexuality, culture, and language in Yiddish and Yiddish-speaking LGBT individuals.
Jewish Book Council's Selections of Queer Jewish Narratives (LGBTQIA+ Reads)
Keshet Online's List of LGBTQ Resources and Links