AHC Interview with Frieda Forman (AHC 4073) [ Interview is digitized and available online ]
Frieda Forman née Johles was born in 1937, in Vienna, Austria. After the “Anschluss” in 1938, the family escaped to Belgium and then to France in 1940, where Frieda went to kindergarten in Lyon. In 1942, Frieda’s father was shortly interned by the French police in a labor camp. The family crossed the border to Switzerland with the help of a farmer, and they rented an apartment in Geneva. In 1943, all Jewish refugees had to relocate to a refugee camp in Morgins, an orthodox Jewish camp where Frieda attended school. In 1946, they emigrated to the US, sponsored by Kasiel's sister and brother-in-law in New York. Frieda lived in Washington Heights and in Greenwich Village and became active in anti-war and feminist movements. She discovered her passion for collecting and translating women writers’ stories in Yiddish, and her work enriched the new emerging research field of women’s studies.
Manuscript about Hedwig Rosenthal Frank and account of her life in Germany in the early 20th century.
George L. Mosse Collection (AR 25137) [ Collection is digitized and available online ]
The papers of George L. Mosse provide a significant amount of information on the work and life of a historian of the origins of fascism and Nazism, Jewish history and German-Jewish cultural coexistence, George L. Mosse (1918-1999). The most valuable part of the collection is the correspondence of George L. Mosse. It contains both letters he received and copies of those he sent. The correspondence (Series III) with publishers documents various stages of creation of his books, while his personal correspondence with friends and colleagues reveals his thoughts on many historiographical issues, as well as insights into the academic life of a distinguished scholar and devoted educator.
Jack Nusan Porter Collection (AR 10221) [ Collection is digitized and available online ]
Various manuscript drafts of The Pink Triangle: The Persecution of Male Homosexuality in Concentration Camps in Nazi-Germany by Rüdiger Lautmann; diverse materials regarding homosexuality and fascism; article by Porter entitled Notes of an Insider/Outsider published in The Jewish Radical (5756); Sexual Politics in the Third Reich: The Persecution of Homosexuals during the Holocaust by Porter; Nazi publications.
Margarete Kollisch Collection (AR 25058) [ Collection is digitized and available online ]
This collection documents the literary work and life of the poet Margarete Kollisch. It also contains material on several of her family members including her daughter Eva Kollisch, brother Leopold Moller, and husband Otto Kollisch. The collection holds official documents, correspondence, manuscripts and typescripts, notes, audiocassettes, clippings, and photographs. Series IV, which is comprised of papers originating from Margarete Kollisch's daughter Eva, incorporates biographical articles on Eva Kollisch as well as sample chapters from her memoir, Girl in Movement, published in various journals.
Ruth Jacobsen Collection (AR 25902) [ Collection is digitized and available online ]
The collection contains materials that pertain to the life and work of Ruth Jacobsen. Ruth’s art and art materials make up Series III in the collection. The art mainly consists of collage books reflecting on Ruth’s early life, as well those documenting her travels across Europe with her wife, Christine Ereifunia. Materials used by Ruth to make her art are also included in the collection. Photographs and art slides in the collection are of Ruth’s art and exhibits. They mainly document her wall constructs and AIDS activism art. Series IV contains published materials including a few newspaper articles, health brochures, and information about books removed from the collection. The brochures contain information about AIDS awareness published in the 1980s.
Aimee & Jaguar: Eine Frauenliebe, Berlin 1943 / [von] Erica Fischer. Koeln: Kiepenheuer & Witsch, 1994. Print.
Alfred Grünewald : Werk Und Leben / Volker Bühn. 2016. Print.
An Underground Life: The Memoirs of a Gay Jew in Nazi Berlin / Gad Beck ; Written with Frank Heibert ; Translated from the German by Allison Brown. 1st ed. Madison, WI: U of Wisconsin, 1999. Print. Living out : Gay and Lesbian Autobiographies.
Gay Berlin : Birthplace of a Modern Identity / Robert Beachy. 2014. Print.
Girl in Movement / Eva Kollisch. First ed. 2000. Print.
Homosexualität in Der Holocaustliteratur / Angelika Niere. 2021. Print. Giessener Arbeiten Zur Neueren Deutschen Literatur Und Literaturwissenschaft Bd. 37.
Jews, Queers, Germans : A Novel/history / Martin Duberman. Seven Stories Press First ed. 2017. Print.
Pink Triangles and Gay Images : (re)claiming Communal and Personal History in Retrospective Gay Fiction / J. Michael Clark. 1987. Print.
Sexual Politics in Nazi Germany : The Persecution of the Homosexuals & Lesbians during the Holocaust / by Jack Nusan Porter. Fifth ed. 2011. Print.
The Pink Triangle : The Nazi War against Homosexuals / Richard Plant. First ed. New York: H. Holt, 1986. Print.