Bayard Rustin papers, undated, 1966, 1970-1972, 1982 (P-1015)
Papers of Bayard Rustin, a prominent American civil rights leader, LGBT rights activist, and advocate for the Black-Jewish cooperation in the United States, that focus on his involvement in the American Soviet Jewry movement.
Goldie Milgram Papers (P-885)
Rabbi Milgram’s papers contain much information on human sexuality and Judaism, as well as a paper by Susan Saxe from 1998 entitled “Same Sex Counseling for Marriage/Commitment Ceremonies.” Rabbi Milgram’s papers are part of the AJHS Counter-Culture Collection.
Jewish Counter Culture Collection (I-504)
This collection includes materials documenting the activities and publications of independent and activist American Jewish organizations. Sample news publications from a variety of independent presses are included, as are a variety of home-published newsletters and flyers. The collection addresses anti-war protests and U.S. draft avoidance; American Jewish activism on Israel; feminist involvement in Judaism; socialism and radicalism; and international affairs. Materials include newspapers, magazines, pamphlets, news clippings, articles, limited correspondence, speech notes, reports, and flyers.
Lights in Action Records (I-560)
Lights in Action (LIA) documents the various activities of this now-defunct college-student run group, ranging from its inception in 1991 to 2002. LIA was dedicated to promoting Jewish identity and Zionist commitment among college-aged Jews. LIA had a deep commitment to pluralism, and many students were attracted to LIA because of the diversity of students involved from deeply religious Jews, non-religious Jews, Hispanic Jews, children of intermarriage, gay, lesbian, and bisexual Jews, artists, students interested in social justice and many more. LIA made it possible for these different groups to come together for a common goal and be allowed to express themselves in a safe environment among like-minded people.
New Jewish Agenda Records (I-393)
This collection contains documents from the New Jewish Agenda, a progressive Jewish grassroots organization active in the 1980s. The collection contains newsletters, chapter materials, clippings, event flyers, correspondence, meeting minutes, and other membership materials.
Steven Siegel Papers (P-979)
The Steven Siegel Collection documents the life and professional activities of Steven Siegel, archivist, genealogist, and an active member of the LGBT community. The collection consists of correspondence, seminar and conference materials, publications, lists, manuscripts, original genealogical research, minutes, official documents, photographs, project proposals, and questionnaires. Materials related to Steven Siegel's personal life constitute a smaller portion of the collection and consist of personal correspondence, materials documenting his involvement with Cornell University and Congregation Beth Simchat Torah.
Representative Nita M. Lowey Papers (P-1048)
Democratic Representative Nita Lowey served the Westchester area in Congress from 1989-2021 in the House of Representatives during the Presidencies of William Clinton, George H.W. Bush, Barack Obama, and Donald Trump. During her tenure, Rep. Lowey accumulated committee records on a variety of topics that affected both national and international health-related issues, including the AIDS/HIV crisis. Her records document her work on the AIDS Taskforce of 2001-2004, housing issues for AIDS patients, and the Ryan White CARE Act for assistance for AIDS drugs research from 1995-1996.
Richard Cohen Associate Records (I-314)
Contains primarily press releases and news clippings produced and collected by the public relations firm that served a wide diverse range of Jewish organizations, including the American Jewish Congress, World Jewish Congress, Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations, American Zionist Movement, and the Union of American Hebrew Congregations. Material documents almost every significant event in contemporary Jewish history; focusing primarily on events occurring in Israel, United states, and Russia. Among the areas of interest include Jewish homosexual rights, disabled rights, Orthodox feminism, African-American and Jewish relations, interfaith relations, Holocaust remembrance, and the marketing of Jewish filmmakers, writers, sculptors, painters, and musicians.
Ruth Abusch-Magder Papers (P-841)
The Abusch-Magder papers address the Jewish feminist women’s movement and issues of sexuality. The papers are part of the AJHS Counter-Culture Collection.
Sidney Franklin Collection (P-894)
This collection is composed of materials related to the Brooklyn-born, Jewish and likely gay bullfighter, Sidney Franklin (1903-1976), who is also known for his close friendship with Ernest Hemingway. The bulk of the collection are photographs of Franklin performing in the bullring, or posing with Spanish and Latin American matadors or famous Americans such as Franklin Roosevelt, Jr., Douglas Fairbanks, Sr., Paulette Goddard, Jack Dempsey and Eddie Cantor. There is also a film proposal, clippings and a copy of Franklin’s autobiography.
A Gay Synagogue in New York / Moshe Shokeid. Philadelphia: U of Pennsylvania, 2002. Print.
Bullfighter from Brooklyn / Sidney Franklin. New York]: Prentice-Hall, 1952. Print.
Erotica Judaica; : A Sexual History of the Jews. New York: Julian, 1967. Print.
Heavenly Sex : Sexuality in the Jewish Tradition / Dr. Ruth K. Westheimer and Jonathan Mark. New York: Continuum, 1996. Print.
Homosexuality and Judaism : A Reconstructionist Workshop Series / Ed. by Robert Gluck. Wyncote, Pa.: Reconstructionist. Print.
Judaism and Homosexuality : An Authentic Orthodox View / Chaim Rapoport ; Foreword by Jonathan Sacks ; Preface by Dayan Berkovits. London ; Portland, OR: Vallentine Mitchell, 2004. Print.
Judaism in the Gay Community / Barrett L. Brick. 1979. Print.
Keep Your Wives Away from Them : Orthodox Women, Unorthodox Desires : An Anthology / Edited by Miryam Kabakov. Berkeley, Calif.: North Atlantic, 2010. Print.
Like Bread on the Seder Plate : Jewish Lesbians and the Transformation of Tradition / Rebecca Alpert. New York: Columbia UP, 1997. Print. Between Men--between Women.
Nice Jewish Girls : A Lesbian Anthology / Edited by Evelyn Torton Beck. Rev. and Updated ed. Boston: Beacon, 1989. Print.
Queer Jews / Edited by David Shneer and Caryn Aviv. New York: Routledge, 2002. Print.
Rainbow Jews : Jewish and Gay Identity in the Performing Arts / Jonathan C. Friedman. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2007. Print.
Sex in the Talmud : Reflections on Human Relations / Reuven P. Bulka. Mount Vernon: Peter Pauper, 1979. Print.
The Coming of Lilith : Essays on Feminism, Judaism, and Sexual Ethics, 1972-2003 / Judith Plaskow ; Edited with Donna Berman. Boston: Beacon, 2005. Print.
The Family Flamboyant : Race Politics, Queer Families, Jewish Lives / Marla Brettschneider. Albany: State U of New York, 2006. Print. SUNY Ser. in Feminist Criticism and Theory.
The Passing Game : Queering Jewish American Culture / Warren Hoffman. 1st ed. Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse UP, 2009. Print. Judaic Traditions in Literature, Music, and Art.
Twice Blessed : On Being Lesbian, Gay, and Jewish / Edited by Christie Balka and Andy Rose. Boston: Beacon, 1989. Print.