Papers of Enrico Henoch Glicenstein (RG 1382)
Glicenstein was born in 1870 in Turek, Poland. He studied art in Munich, settled in Rome in 1897 and then in the U.S. in 1928. He was a prominent sculptor and painter and was the father of the painter, Emanuel Romano. This collection contains manuscripts of Glicenstein's poems and stories in Yiddish and Hebrew (a few of the former have been published). There is correspondence with L.M. Stein, Joseph Leftwich, Zelig Heller and Leo Honor. There are several drawings with manuscripts.
Papers of Hirsch Loeb Gordon (RG 505)
Gordon was a physician and philologist in semitic languages as well as a Yiddish and Hebrew playwright, poet, and journalist. He was a member of the Jewish Legion during World War I and held doctoral degrees in philosophy, Semitic languages, literature and Egyptology and master's degrees in diplomacy, psychology, pedagogy and art history.
The papers relate to Kadison's theatrical career and personal life. Art works: original stage designs for the Yiddish theater; drawings of stage characters; portraits of the Kadison family; miscellaneous drawings. Photographs of the Vilna Troupe including scenes of performances. Individual and group photographs of troupe members, including photographs of Luba Kadison and Joseph Buloff. Photographs of Leib Kadison and family. Programs of Vilna Troupe productions. Clippings, theater posters.
Papers of Esther Lurie (RG 2144)
The papers of artist Esther Lurie, including original etchings and drawings based on her experiences in the Kaunas Ghetto. Also included are personal documents and correspondence, notably between Lurie and academics such as Paul Michaelis, as well as Lurie and Eli Weinberg, a Jewish anti-apartheid trade union activist and photographer in South Africa, during the 1930s. The collection includes approximately 20 photos taken by Weinberg, in addition to a copy of Weinberg’s published photo album, Portrait of a People.
Papers of Abbo Ostrowsky (RG 681)
Abbo Ostrowsky, painter, graphic artist, educator, and founder and director of the Educational Alliance Art School, was born in Elizavetgrad, Russia on October 23, 1889. He was educated at the Odessa Art School under Kiriak Konstantinovich Kostandi and in 1906 was the assistant director of the People’s Art Traveling Exhibitions, which brought art to the Ukrainian provinces of Khagan, Poltava and Kiev. The Papers of Abbo Ostrowsky consist of correspondence, exhibition catalogs, reports, newspaper clippings, publicity releases, photographs and art work relating to the artistic career of Ostrowsky, materials about his career as the director and a teacher at the Educational Alliance Art School, and materials relating to the Educational Alliance as a community and social institution. There are also several manuscript versions of his autobiography, which it appears was never published.
Marius Sznajderman Papers (RG 1945)
Marius Sznajderman was a Jewish artist who contributed widely in the areas of painting, printmaking, scenic design, and other artistic genres. Born in Paris, France in 1926, he and his parents fled to Spain, from which they immigrated to Venezuela in 1942. Studied painting and printmaking at the School of Fine Arts in Caracas with Ramon Martin Durban, Ventrillon-Horber, and Rafael Monasterios. Remained in Venezuela until 1949 before immigrating to the United States in 1949, where he studied at Columbia University with scenic designer, Woodman Thompson, and printmaker, Hans Mueeler. As a scenic designer, he worked for Circle in the Square Theater, the Felix Fibich Dance Company, the French Art Theater, and Columbia Theater Associates. Has taught art, art history, and design at New York University, the School of Visual Arts, Fairleigh Dickinson University, and other educational institutions. The collection relates to Marius Sznajderman's career as a painter, printmaker, collage artist, constume, and set designer. Mainly comprised of print materials, including biographical details, press releases, flyers, brochures, catalogs, and art samples pertaining to Sznajderman's exhibitions in English, French, Hebrew, Spanish, and Yiddish, 1977-2008
Nachman Zonabend Collection (RG 241) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
Nachman Zonabend was an inmate of the Lodz Ghetto from 1940 to 1945. In August 1944, following the liquidation of the ghetto, the Germans assigned him to a work unit whose task was to clean up the deserted ghetto. He succeeded in hiding parts of the ghetto archives, as well as photographs and art works of ghetto photographers and artists.
Tuscany Jewish itineraries : places, history and art / edited by Dora Liscia Bemporad and Annamarcella Tedeschi Falco. Marsilio, 1997.
Art and Judaism in the Greco-Roman world : toward a new Jewish archaeology / by Steven Fine. Cambridge University Press, 2005.
Art history and the fight for memory : Józef Sandel (1894-1962) founder of the Jewish Historical Institute Museum : an exhibition at the E. Ringelblum Jewish Historical Institute in Warsaw, 6 X 2016 - 19 III 2017 / edited by Mikołaj Getka-Kenig with Jakub Bendkowski; translation from the Polish by Katarzyna Gucio. Żydowski Instytut Historyczny im. Emanuela Ringelbluma, 2016.
Jewish art in European synagogues : (from the Middle Ages to the eighteenth century) / by G. K. Lukomskiĭ. Hutchinson, 1947.
Arthur Szyk : Heraldic Artists / by David F. Phillips. The Arthur Szyk Society, 2010.
Prague : art and history / by Tim Porter. Flow East, 1995.
The Circle of Montparnasse: Jewish artists in Paris, 1905-1945 / by Kenneth E. Silver and Romy Golan ; with contributions by Arthur A. Cohen, Billy Klüver, and Julie Martin. Universe Books, 1985.
Studies in Jewish art / by Rachel Wischnitzer-Bernstein. Dropsie College for Hebrew and Cognate Learning, 1945.
Russian Modernism : the Collections of the Getty Research Institute for the History of Art and the Humanities, I / Introduction by Jean-Louis Cohen; compiled and annotated by David Woodruff and Ljiljana Grubišić. Getty Research Institute for the History of Art and the Humanities, 1997.