David Ludwig Bloch Collection (AR 7199) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
Bloch created a rich oeuvre of more than three hundred woodcuts, which bear witness to his meticulous and affectionate observance of his Chinese surroundings and the daily life of lower class people in Chinese society. In 2000, he had a one-man retrospective at the Jewish Museum in Munich, Germany, 2000.
Max J. Friedländer Collection (AR 487) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
Friedlander was a Curator and art historian, born 1867 in Berlin. The collection contains items documenting Max J. Friedländer's education and career as curator and art historian in Germany. Included are school certificates from the universities of Munich and Leipzig, as well as letters of appointment for Max J. Friedländer for various appointments within the Königliche Museen, including the Königlichen Kupferstichkabinett and the Gemälde-Galerie. The collection also contains a small amount of correspondence, including three letters from the Hohenzollern Museum to Friedländer as head of the Kupferstichkabinett regarding donations to the museum; handwritten and signed letter from curator and art historian Wilhelm von Bode to Friedländer regarding an appointment as his assistant; a picture postcard from Friedländer to his sister with a photograph of Friedländer with Bode; and a handwritten and signed letter from Friedländer to Lutz Weltmann regarding a book by Friedländer.
Hugo Perls Collection (AR 6400) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
This collection mainly documents the professional life of the art dealer and writer Hugo Perls. Prominent topics found among these papers include the philosophy of Plato and its application to aesthetics as well as the publication of the works of Hugo Perls and Eugénie Söderberg Perls.
Lene Schneider-Kainer Collection (AR 3180) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
Lene Schneider-Kainer was an Austrian painter. This collection covers the years 1929-1951. During this period of her life, Schneider traveled the world, particularly much of Asia. She moved to Spain in the mid-1930s, but left to New York with the outbreak of the Spanish Civil War. Included are clippings pertaining to Schneider-Kainer, her work, and exhibits of her work; magazine articles concerning her trip through Asia with German author Bernhard Kellermann; and photographs of Kellermann, Schneider-Kainer, and her paintings
Karl Schwarz Collection (AR 1904) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
This collection contains notes and notebooks related to the art trade, art collecting and art provenance.
Almost the entire collection consists of handwritten notes regarding art collectors, auctions, and museums.
Hugo and Eleanor Steiner-Prag Collection (AR 1723) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
This collection documents the life and work of graphic artist, illustrator, and designer, Hugo Steiner-Prag. The bulk of the records are written material, both by Steiner-Prag and about the man and his work. Several documents in this collection have additional notes attached to them, presumably written by Steiner-Prag's second wife, Eleanor.
Hermann Struck Collection, 1912-1939 (AR 1548)
Hermann Struck was born Chaim Aaron ben David in 1876 in Germany. He is best known as a master etcher, lithographer, and early Zionist. In 1899, upon completing his studies at the Berlin Academy, he was banned from teaching there because he was Jewish. In 1908, he wrote Die Kunst des Radierens (The Art of Etching). His students included Marc Chagall, Lovis Corinth, Jacob Steinhardt, Lesser Ury and Max Liebermann. His art was included in an exhibition at the Fifth Zionist Congress and he helped establish the religious Zionist movement called Mizrachi.
Norbert Troller Collection (AR 7268) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
Troller, an artist and architect from Czechoslovakia, served as a soldier in World War I and was imprisoned in Theresienstadt and later Auschwitz during World War 2. He emigrated to the United States in 1948 and worked for the National Jewish Welfare Board in New York designing Jewish community centers, before opening his own practice. This collection contains an autobiographical manuscript by Toller, material concerning his career as an architect, and an extensive photograph collection documenting Troller's life and work in Czechoslovakia and the United States, including photos of buildings designed by him in both countries.
Alfred Werner Collection (AR 7158) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
By the 1960s art historian and journalist Alfred Werner was writing nearly exclusively about art and artists, primarily focused on 19th and 20th-century European, American, and Israeli art with an emphasis on Jewish artists. He had a long-running art column for the Jewish News, “Views and Visions,” and was a frequent contributor to arts publications such as American Artist and Pantheon as well as a senior editor of Art Voices.
Rachel Wischnitzer Collection (AR 25657) [Collection is digitized and available online.]
Rachel Wischnitzer née Bernstein was born in Minsk, Russia, on April 15, 1885. Upon her graduation from Gymnasium in Warsaw in 1902, she studied at the University of Heidelberg (1902-1903), Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts in Brussels (1903-1905), and the École Spéciale d'Architecture in Paris (1905-1907), from which she received her diploma in architecture. She continued her education with courses in art history at the University of Munich (1909-1910). This collection contains paper-based and visual materials primarily recording the professional life of Rachel Wischnitzer as a curator, museum consultant, lecturer, and professor, as well as her research and publications. Also in this collection are materials pertaining to the professional activities of her husband, historian Mark Wischnitzer, as well as materials pertaining to their education and immigration to the United States.
Adolph Goldschmidt (1863-1944) : normal art history im 20. jahrhundert / by Gunnar Brands and Heinrich Dilly. VDG, 2007.
The Surviving image : phantoms of time and time of phantoms : Aby Warburg's history of art / by Georges Didi-Huberman; translated from the French by Harvey L. Mendelsohn. The Pennsylvania State University Press, 2017.
The Emergence of Jewish artists in nineteenth-century Europe / edited by Susan Tumarkin Goodman. Merrell; in Association with the Jewish Museum under the Auspices of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 2001.
The Memory factory : the forgotten women artists of Vienna 1900 / by Julie M. Johnson. Purdue University Press, 2012.
Der Weg der Götter : Indien, Klein-Tibet, Siam / by Bernhard Kellermann. Photography by Lene Schneider-Kainer. S. Fischer Verlag, 1929 .
The Illegality of art : National Socialisms war on Entartete Kunst / by Sarah-Mae Lieverse. Second revised ed., 2018.
Between tradition and modernity : Aby Warburg and the public purposes of art in Hamburg, 1896-1918 / by Mark A. Russell. Berghahn Books, 2007.
Becoming modern : the Prague Eight and modern art, 1900-1910 / by Nicholas Sawicki. 2007
The "Golden" twenties : Art and literature in the Weimar Republic / by Bärbel Schrader and Jürgen Schebera; translated from the German by Katherine Vanovitch. Edition Leipzig, 1987.
ie Juden in Der Kunst / by Karl Schwarz. R. Loewit, 1936.
The Objective principles of painting / by Arthur Segal; translated by Victor Grove. Leighton Printing Co, 1976.
50 Jewish artists you should know / by Edward van Voolen. Prestel, 2011.
Form as revolt : Carl Einstein and the ground of modern art / by Sebastian Zeidler. A Signale Book, Cornell University Press and Cornell University Library, 2015