The Center for Jewish History partners hold many general histories of Jews in the United Kingdom and Ireland, as well as memoirs and synagogue histories. Archival materials concerning refugees to the UK and Ireland during the Holocaust, Yiddish theater in England, and specific synagogues in England can be found in the YIVO Archives, while the Leo Baeck Institute has collections on German and Austrian Jews who immigrated to England. To locate these sources, consult the CJH online catalog at search.cjh.org.
Barnett, Lionel, ed. Bevis Marks Records: Records of the Spanish and Portuguese Jews’ Congregation of London (Oxford: University Press, 1940-1973). Includes birth and circumcision registers, abstracts of ketubot and civil marriage registers, and burial registers. Reading Room BM 295 .S7 L6 1940
Berger, Doreen. The Jewish Victorian: Genealogical Information from the Jewish Newspapers, 1871-1880 (Witney, Oxfordshire: Robert Boyd, 1999). YIVO 000106473
Roth, Cecil. Records of the Western Synagogue 1761-1932 (London: Edward Goldstone, 1932). A history of the synagogue, including an inventory of vital records but no actual records or abstracts. American Jewish Historical Society BM 295.W4 R4
Jews in England Collection: Includes records of people who passed through the Jews’ Temporary Shelter in London (founded 1885).
Leo Baeck Institute MF 1416
Kindertransport Collection: Includes 1998-1999 and 1999-2000 Directory of the Kindertransport Association.
Leo Baeck Institute MF 1371
Territorial Collection - England: Comprised of printed materials from Jewish organizations, including synagogues, Zionist groups, Yiddish cultural organizations, the Council of Polish Jews in Great Britain, and labor groups. Also includes autobiographical essays submitted to a contest titled “My First Year in England.” YIVO RG 116-England
Alderman, Geoffrey. Modern British Jewry (NY: Oxford University Press, 1992). YIVO 000085413
Cesarani, David. The Making of Modern Anglo-Jewry (Cambridge, MA: B. Blackwell, 1990). YIVO 000087253
Gartner, L.P. The Jewish Immigrant in England 1870-1914 (London: Simon Publications, 2nd ed. 1973).
American Jewish Historical Society DS135.E5 G3
Herber, Mark D. Ancestral Trails: the Complete Guide to British Genealogy and Family History (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2000). Genealogy Institute CS414 .H47 2000
Hyman, Louis. The Jews of Ireland; from Earliest times to the Year 1910. Jerusalem (Shannon, Ireland: Irish University Press, 1972). YIVO 000072325
Kadish, Sharman. The Synagogues of Britain and Ireland (New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2011). American Sephardi Federation NA 4690 .K34 2011
Katz, David S. The Jews in the History of England, 1485-1850. (NY: Oxford University Press, 1994). YIVO 000087055
Keogh, Dermot. Jews in Twentieth-Century Ireland: Refugees, Anti-semitism and the Holocaust (Cork, Ireland: Cork University Press, 1998). Leo Baeck Institute st 529
Newman, Aubery, and Stephen W. Massil. Patterns of Migration 1850-1914 (London: Jewish Historical Society of England, 1996).
American Jewish Historical Society DS 135 .E5 P38 1996
Shemot [Newsletter of the Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain] (London: The Society, 1992-). Genealogy Institute Periodicals
Wenzerul, Rosemary. A Guide to Jewish Genealogy in the United Kingdom. 2nd Revised edition. London: Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain, 2011. Genealogy Institute DS135.E5 G85 2011
Modern British Jewry by