Genealogy Guide: Mexico

ARGENA [Spanish only]

• The largest federal archive in México
• Location: Eduardo Molina (entrance on Héroe de Nacozari) 113, Col. Penitenciaría, Mexico City 15280
• Open: Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m.
• E-mail address: diffusion@agn.gob.mx

Documents of Colonial Institutions

• Inheritances (Bienes de Difuntos)
• Census
• Edicts of the Inquisition
• Inquisition
• Marriages
• Real Fisco de la Inquisición (Royal Treasury of the Inquisition)

Documents of the Federal Government

• Maritime Travel, Passports and Security Letters
• Migration Department
• Population and Personal Identification National Registry
• Foreign Relations Ministry (Secretaría de Relaciones Exteriores)

Collections and Documents

• A collection of historical documents from the 16^th through the 19^th centuries on major events in Mexican history

Photographic Archives and Collections Microfiche and Photocopied Archives

• Jacobo Glantz (Yiddish poet, 1902 - 1982)
• Academia Mexicana de Genealogía y Heráldica (Mexican Academy of Genealogy and Heraldry)

CDIJUM (Centro de Documentación e Investigación Judío de México)

• The sole Jewish research center in Mexico
• Location: Acapulco 70, 2nd Floor, Col. Roma, C.P. 06700, Mexico City)
• Open from Monday – Friday, 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. and Monday – Thursday, 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
• Tel. (55) 5211-5688, 5211-0501

Library

• Jewish History
• Collections
• Published Material in Mexico
• Holocaust
• Israel
• Jewish Art 
• Diasporas

Periodical Library

• All kinds of material with a special focus on Jewish matters
• Newspapers, magazines, yearbooks and newsletters written in Spanish, Yiddish, Hebrew, English, Russian and Polish

Organizational Archives

• Kehilá Ashkenazí
• Cámara Israelita de Industria y Comercio
• Consejo Mexicano de Mujeres Israelitas
• Bnei Brith
• Comité Central Israelita de México
• Jewish Agency: Aliya

Personal Archives  

• Benjamín Kovalsky
• Rabbi Israel Fishleder
• Tuvia Maizel
• Dunia Wasserstrom
• Nahum Wengrowsky
• Jacobo Glantz
• Busia Rostov

Oral History Archive

• Interviews with First Immigrants
• Witnesses of World War II
• Personal Stories of Refugees
• Testimonies of Holocaust Survivors

Databases

• Jewish immigration to Mexico
• Polish refugees in Santa Rosa, Guanajuato
• Established Jewish businesses
• 1949 Census of the Mexican Jewish Community
• Minutes of the Comité Central Israelita de México

New Project

• Set of 2 CD ROM´s to include all Jewish immigrant databases
• More than 10,000 entries, including personal histories
• Demographic information and graphics

See also “Genealogía Judía Mexicana: Reto Y Posibilidad” ("Mexican Jewish Genealogy: Challenge and Possibility"), Toldot, No. 20, July 2003, pp. 8-10. Genealogy Institute Periodicals