ARCHIVAL MATERIALS
Mexican Inquisition collection (I-3)
The collection contains twenty-four processos (transcripts of trials) of individuals accused of Judaizing. Eight of the processos are originals; sixteen are typed transcriptions from the Inquisition Records of the Archivo General de la Naciâon (Mexico). Three of the transcriptions are also translated into English (including two trials of the same individual). The trials range in date from 1572 to 1768. The proceedings occurred principally in Mexico, although some of the individuals are identified as being of Portuguese decent. The collection also includes correspondence of Cyrus Adler, Samuel Oppenheim, and E. Nott Anable relating to the Mexican Inquisition Collection. Two oversized items include official declarations of the Inquisition.
LIBRARY MATERIALS
Liebman, Seymour B. The Inquisitors and the Jews in the New World : Summaries of Procesos, 1500-1810 : And Bibliographical Guide. 1974. Print. [Appendix B “itemizes documents with special Jewish interest” in the Ramo de la Inquisición del Archivo General de la Nación and in the Archivo General de la Nación (Riva Palacio), both in Mexico City.]
Ashkenazi, Isaac Dabbah. Esperanza y Realidad: Raíces de la Comunidad Judía de Alepo de Mexico [Hope and Reality: Roots of the Jewish Community of Aleppo in Mexico] (Editorial Libros de Mexico 1982). American Jewish Historical Society F 1392 .J4 A73 and American Sephardi Federation F 1392 .J4 D33 1982
Bocanegra, Matías de. Jews and the Inquisition of Mexico: The Great Auto de Fe of 1649 (Coronado Press, 1974). American Sephardi Federation BX 1740 .M6 B613 1974 and YIVO 000078942
Lerner, Ira T. Mexican Jewry in the Land of the Aztecs: A Guide (B. Costa-Amic, 1973). Quaint and dated, but has many photos. American Jewish Historical Society F 1392 .J4 L4 and American Sephardi Federation F 1392 .J4 L4 1973 and YIVO F1392 .J4 L4 1973
Lewin, Boleslao. La Inquisición en México: Impresionantes Relatos del Siglo XVI [The Inquisition in Mexico: Amazing Reports of the 16th Century] (Editorial Jose M. Cajica, Jr., 1968). American Jewish Historical Society BX 1740 .M6 L2
Lewin, Boleslao. La Inquisición en México: Impresionantes Relatos del Siglo XVII [The Inquisition in Mexico: Amazing Reports of the 17th Century] (Editorial Jose M. Cajica, Jr., 1968). American Jewish Historical Society BX 1740 .M6 L25 and American Sephardi Federation BX 1740 .M6 L48 1968
Lewin, Boleslao. Los Judios bajo la Inquisición en Hispanoamérica [The Jews under the Inquisition in Latin America] (Dedalo, 1960). American Jewish Historical Society BX 1739 .L5 and American Sephardi Federation BX 1739 .L39 1960 and YIVO 000062685 and 000114011
Liebman, Seymour B. A Guide to Jewish References in the Mexican Colonial Era (University of Pennsylvania Press, 1964). American Jewish Historical Society F 1392 .J4 L5a, and L5b, and L5c and American Sephardi Federation F1392 .J4 L53 1964
Liebman, Seymour B. The Jews in New Spain: Faith, Flame, and the Inquisition (University of Miami Press, 1970). Appendices with digests and translations of official accounts of autos-da-fé and extracts of inquisition canons. Reading Room F 1392 .J4 L52 1970
Liebman, Seymour B. New World Jewry, 1493-1825: Requiem for the Forgotten (Ktav Publishing House, 1982). American Jewish Historical Society F 1419 .J4 L525 1982 and American Sephardi Federation F 1419 .J4 L525 1982 and YIVO 000078865
Nes El, Moshe, and Meir Aides. Guía Biográfica del Judaismo Latinoamericano [Biographical Guide to Latin American Judaism] (Ediciones Revisa Oriente y Occidente, 1996). Spanish biographical dictionary of notable personalities, with a short history of the Jews of Mexico. Reading Room F 1419 .J4 N4 1996
Postal, Bernard. American Airlines Tourist’s Guide to Jewish History in Mexico (1979). American Jewish Historical Society F 1392 .J4 P5
Sable, Martin Howard. Latin American Jewry: A Research Guide (Hebrew Union College Press, 1978). Contains extensive lists of primary sources and directories of organizations. Reading Room F 1419 .J4 S3 1978
Yidishe Shul in Meksike. Ikh Bin Do = Presente: 70 Aniversario [I Am Here: 70th Anniversary], 1924-1994, Colegio Israelita de Mexico (Compañía Impresora Sevilla, 1994). YIVO 000098685
The Inquisitors and the Jews in the New World: summaries of procesos, 1500- 1810, and bibliographical guide by Guia Biografica del Judaismo Latinoamericano by