Skip to Main Content

Genealogy Guide: Israel

Birth and Death Certificates

The State of Israel Ministry of Interior (Hebrew)

Birth Certificates & Death Certificates - תעודות לידה ופטירה

Birth and death records are held by the State of Israel Ministry of Interior. Israeli residents can obtain birth records by contacting the State of Israel Ministry of Interior. Non-residents need to contact the Consulate General of Israel located in their vicinity.    

You may only request a copy of a birth certificate or death certificate for someone to whom you are directly related; otherwise you will need to provide a letter of explanation. The Ministry of the Interior does not keep records of the deceased in Israel who were buried abroad. In such cases, a document for the transfer of the body to a foreign country is issued, but it is not available to researchers.

Website of Israeli Missions. (English)

 

Burial Societies & Cemeteries

Chevrot Kadisha - חברות קדישא ובתי עלמין
The website of cemeteries in Israel, searchable and indexed by Chevra Kadisha, settlement and cemetery is available via the Ministry of Religious Services. (In Hebrew - use Google Translate for English)



Israel Genealogical Society (In Hebrew and English)
Includes information on burials in the State of Israel. Many databases are listed here, including JewishGen Online Worldwide Burial Registry, incorporating data from 34 cemeteries in Israel.


Haifa Burial Society (In Hebrew)
Searchable burial database.


Mount Olives Cemetery (In Hebrew, English, Russian)
Searchable database.


Tel-Aviv & the greater Tel-Aviv area’s cemeteries (in Hebrew, English, Russian, French)
English to Hebrew text interface.

 
Resources in Israel, including databases of many cemeteries.


Israeli Ministry of Defense (In Hebrew)
Several databases to locate individuals by city or cemetery, pages of memorial information and readings;
includes Database of Israel’s Fallen. English http://stevemorse.org/hebrew/izkor.html interface.