Israel State Archives (website in English and Hebrew)
Jerusalem City Archives
1 Safra Plaza, 91007 Jerusalem, Israel Tel: 972-2-629-7899 Fax: 972-2-629-6687
Includes vital records, census information and a large collection of records from Sephardic & Mizrachi congregations in Israel and other genealogical information.
The Jerusalem City Archive holds the following records from the Ottoman period (until 1918) and the British period (1918-1948):
Ottoman Period Records (Until 1918) at The Jerusalem City Archive *
|
Mukhtar Registers |
Description |
Period/Year |
|
Alter Berenblum’s ledgers |
Birth dates of male Ashkenazi Ottoman citizens |
1883-1896 |
|
Alter Berenblum’s ledgers |
Naturalization list of Ottoman citizens (=Turkish list of naturalization) |
1915 |
|
Alter Berenblum’s ledgers |
Male birth dates (from the 1905 census, arranged by residential quarters) |
1869-1882 |
|
Alter Berenblum’s ledgers |
A list of persons who were born in 1900 |
1900 |
|
Todros Warschawski’s ledgers** |
Ottoman Ashkenazi families arranged by residential quarters and records full name, father’s name and birth year. |
1905 census |
|
Todros Warschawski’s ledgers** |
Ashkenazi males list including name, father’s name, and more. |
-- |
|
Aharon Hochstein’s ledgers |
American citizens list including the following information: name, age and year of immigration or naturalization. |
-- |
|
Aharon Hochstein’s ledgers |
Ashkenazi Ottoman male citizens born in the period 1830-1895. Th |
1830-1895 |
|
Aharon Hochstein’s ledgers |
A list of males born in the year 1896. Th |
1896 |
|
Montefiore Censuses*** (Jerusalem) |
Jerusalem Censuses |
1855, 1866, and 1875. |
|
United Home for the Aged (=Moshav Zekenim ve-Zekenot ha-Meuhad)**** |
The register includes the following information about each resident: name, father’s name, age, country of origin, and the year of admission to the United Home for the Aged. |
1892-1914 |
*The information in this and the next table was extracted from: Sack, Sallyann Amdur, A Guide to Jewish Genealogical Research in Israel (Teaneck, NJ: Avotaynu, rev. ed. 1995). Genealogy Institute Z 6374 .B5 S23
**Note that Todros Warschawski’s ledgers database is partially available for Israel Genealogical Society (IGS) members only. Digitization and indexing are in progress.
*** The Montefiore Censuses of Ottoman Eretz Israel and Alexandria and Beirut of 1839, 1840, 1849, 1855, 1866 & 1875 are searchable online. You can find more general information about the census here.
**** The United Home for the Aged register will soon be available in the database of the Israel Genealogy Research Association here; years in the database are 1823-1903.
British Mandate Period Records (1918-1948) at The Jerusalem City Archive
|
Registers’ Name |
Description |
Period/Year |
|
Archive of the Vaad ha-IR |
Includes collections of population lists. |
1918-1931 |
|
Election to Vaad HaKehilla-Electoral Registers* |
Includes lists of Jews ages 18 and older who were eligible to vote. The registers provide the full name of each person, his/her father’s name, age and address. Also included are other lists of residents, such as lists of deaths for the years 1939-1943. |
-- |
|
General List of Jerusalem Jews Ages 18 and Older* |
This list includes about 17,500 names of both men and women. |
1928 |
|
Lists of Those Receiving Palestinian Citizenship |
Thes |
1917-1927 |
|
|
Includes a list of Jewish voters in Hebrew, English and Arabic. Also, district registers for electoral districts nos. 9, 11, 12 and 19, including full name, age and residential quarter. |
1934 |
|
Register of Births |
|
1920-1922 |
|
Register of Deaths |
|
1917-1920 |
|
Register of Divorces |
|
1919-1925 |
* Some registers are available in the IGRA databases of British Administrated Palestine (1917-1948) here.
.jpg)
