The main source of Jewish primary records is the Slovak National Archives.
Slovak National Archives
Slovenský národný archív
Drotárska cesta 42, PO Box 115
840 05 Bratislava 45
Phone: +421 02 62 80 11 90 or +421 02 67 29 82 51
Fax: +421 02 62 80 12 49
E-mail: archiv.sna@minv.sk
For the holdings of archives in Slovakia, see:
Auslander, Jordan. Index to the Jewish Vital Statistics Records of Slovakia. Teaneck, NJ: Avotaynu, 1993. Index to Jewish birth, marriage, and death records located in the archives of Slovakia, listing Jewish records alphabetically by town. Genealogy Institute Fiche 18
Kollárová, Zuzana, and Jozef Hanus. A Guide to the Slovak Archives. Prešov, Slovakia: Universum, 1999) Genealogy Institute CD 1169.6 .K65 1999
Sarmányová-Kalesná, Jana. Cirkevné matriky na Slovensku zo 16.-19. Storočia. Bratislava: Odbor Archívnictva Ministerstva Vnútra SR, 1991. Provides a list of parish registers—including Jewish registers—in Slovakia from the 16th to the 19th century. Includes a location index and an English summary. This book is available by advance request at the New York Public Library (call number: QT 01-1747).
Some Jewish records are held in regional, provincial, district, and city archives. For example, civil registration records less than 100 years old are maintained locally, usually in the village registrar office. For contact information and links to the digitized records of the Slovak Republic’s regional, provincial, district, and city archives, visit the website of the Czechoslovak Genealogical Society International.
Pre-1895 Jewish birth, marriage, and death records for several Slovakian towns in former Zemplen county have been found in the Zemplen County Archives in Satoraljaujhely, Hungary. The Zemplen County Archives also has Jewish census records dating from 1755 to 1845. Jewish birth, marriage, and death records from the western part of Ung, including the Szobranci and Kaposi districts, are held in the Transcarpathia Regional Archives (Zakarpatskiy Oblast) in Uzhorod, Ukraine (see contact information below).
Zemplen County Archives in Sátoraljaújhely
Kossuth tér 5.
3980 Sátoraljaújhely,
Hungary
Phone: +3647321353, +3647521087
Fax: +3647321353
E-mail: satoraljaujhely.bazml@mnl.gov.hu
Transcarpathia Regional Archives
14a Mynaiska Str.,
88018 Uzhorod,
Ukraine
Phone/Fax: +380(312) 2-35-49
Fax: +380(312) 2-58-39
E-mail: info@arch.gov.ua
Most Slovakian military records can be found in three archives. Records up to 1867 are held by Austria’s War Archive in Vienna (see “Czech Military Records” section above for contact information), records from 1868 to 1918 by Hungary’s Military History Archive in Budapest, and records from 1918 on by the Slovak Republic’s Military Historical Archive in Bratislava.
Hungary’s Military History Archive
HM HIM Hadtörténelmi Levéltár
Capistrano tér 2-4,
1014 Budapest
Phone: +36-1-325-1686; +36-1-325-1676
Fax: +36-1-325-1677
E-mail: kutato@mail.militaria.hu; hadtortenelmi.leveltar@mail.militaria.hu
Slovak Republic’s Military History Archive
Vojenský Historický Ústav (VHU)
Krajna 27,
821 04 Bratislava, Slovakia
Phone/Fax: 02/482 07 703; 02/482 07/79
E-mail: vha@vhu.sk
English-language guides to locating Austro-Hungarian military records are available at http://ahmilitary.blogspot.com and https://www.statearchives.gv.at/family-research/kriegsarchiv.html.
