Below is a selection from the genealogical and historical sources related to the Czech and Slovak lands at the CJH. In particular, the Leo Baeck Institute possesses many memoirs and other archival materials from or about the German-speaking Jewish communities of Bohemia, Moravia, Silesia, and Slovakia. Many additional family histories, memoirs, historical works, and more can be found in the collections of the CJH partners and at the Ackman & Ziff Family Genealogy Institute. To locate further resources,search the CJH’s online catalog.
Rabbinical and Historical Manuscripts Collection, 1567-1930. While most of this collection of mixed provenance consists of rabbinic bound and unbound manuscripts, correspondence, responsa, and other items, there are some community records. These include inscriptions from tombstones in Mislic (1785-1877) and Prague (1740-1785). There is an inventory in English. YIVO Archives RG 128
Territorial Collection for Czechoslovakia. This collection includes materials on the Theresienstadt ghetto (Terezin). The bulk of the collection pertains to the Holocaust period (1938-1945). Noteworthy are materials on the Theresienstadt Ghetto (Geto Terezin) that include birth and death records for 1942, daily orders, and announcements about deportation. The collection also includes materials on Jewish communities in Slovakia up to World War II. There is an inventory in English. YIVO Archives RG 116 - Czechoslovakia
Bárkány, Eugen, and L̕udovít Dojč. Židovské Náboženské Obce na Slovensku (Jewish Religious Communities in Slovakia). Bratislava: Vesna, 1991. A guide to former Jewish villages in Slovakia, including synagogues and cemeteries. Text in Slovak, with summaries in English, German, and Hungarian. YIVO 000128409
Beider, Alexander. Jewish Surnames in Prague: (15th-18th Centuries). Teaneck, NJ: Avotaynu, 1995. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .B44 1994
Berger, Natalia, ed. Where Cultures Meet: The Story of the Jews of Czechoslovakia. Tel Aviv: Beth Hatefutsoth, Nahum Goldmann Museum of the Jewish Diaspora, & Ministry of Defense Publishing House,1990). Genealogy Institute DS 135 .C95 W48 1990
Boháček, Jan, et al. Soupis Židovských Rodin V Čechách z Roku 1793 (List of Jewish Families in Bohemia in 1793). Praha: Státní Ústřední Archiv v Praze, 2002). 1793 Jewish Census of Bohemia. Text in Czech. YIVO 000115292; Supplementary material and general index (Praha: Národní archiv, 2006): YIVO 000122884
Brilling, Bernhard. Neues Schrifttum zur Geschichte der Juden in der Tschechoslowakei (New Writings on the History of the Jews in Czechoslovakia). Marburg/Lahn: N. G. Elwert-Verlag, 1957. Leo Baeck Institute DS 135 C95 B7
Ehl, Petr, Arno Pařík, and Jiří Fiedler. Old Bohemian and Moravian Jewish Cemeteries. Prague: Paseka, 1991. Genealogy Institute DS 135 .C95 E3613 1991
Fiedler, Jiří. Jewish Sights of Bohemia and Moravia: Guide Book. Prague: Sefer, 1991. Genealogy Institute DS 135 C95 F54 1991
Fischl, Victor. The Jews of Czechoslovakia. London: National Council of Jews from Czechoslovakia, 1940. Leo Baeck Institute DS 135 C95 F57
Gold, Hugo. Gedenkbuch der Untergegangenen Judengemeinden Mährens (Memorial Book of the Jewish Communities of Moravia). Tel Aviv: Olamenu, 1974. Text in German. Leo Baeck Institute q DS 135 C955 G6 or YIVO Moravia 1974
Gold, Hugo. Die Juden und Judengemeinden Böhmens in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart: Ein Sammelwerk (The Jews and Jewish Communities of Bohemia in the Past and Present: A Collection). Brünn-Prag: Jüdischer Buch- und Kunstverlag, 1934. Text in German. Leo Baeck Institute q DS 135 C954 G63 or YIVO 000077659
Gold, Hugo. Die Juden und die Judengemeinde Bratislava in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart: Ein Sammelwerk (The Jews and Jewish Communities of Bratislava in the Past and Present: A Collection). Brünn: Jüdischer Buchverlag, 1932. Text in German. Leo Baeck Institute q DS 135 C96 B72 G6 or YIVO 000040434
Gold, Hugo. Die Juden und Judengemeinden Mährens in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart: Ein Sammelwerk (The Jews and Jewish Communities of Moravia in the Past and Present: A Collection. Brünn: Jüdischer Buch- und Kunstverlag, 1929. Text in German. Leo Baeck Institute q DS 135 C955 G63
Gruber, Samuel, and Phyllis Myers. Survey of Historic Jewish Monuments in the Czech Republic: A Report to the United States Commission for the Preservation of America's Heritage Abroad. New York: Jewish Heritage Council, World Monuments Fund, 1995. Leo Baeck Institute q DS 135 C95 G78 or YIVO 00087636
Heřman, Jan. Jewish Cemeteries in Bohemia and Moravia. Prague: Council of Jewish Communities in the ČSR, 1982. Leo Baeck Institute q GT 3247.8 H47 or YIVO 00093049
Hock, Simon, and David Kaufmann. Die Familien Prags: Nach den Epitaphien des Alten Jüdischen Friedhofs in Prag (The Families of Prague: According to the Epitaphs of the Old Jewish Cemetery in Prague). Pressburg: Druck von A. Alkalay, 1892. Hebrew except for Kaufmann's introduction in German. Leo Baeck Institute PN 6297 H4 H6 or YIVO 000024518
Iggers, Wilma.The Jews of Bohemia and Moravia: A Historical Reader. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1992. YIVO 000085404
Judaica Bohemiae, Vol. 1-24. Prague: Jewish Museum of Prague, 1965-2000. Text in English, French, German, and Russian. Leo Baeck Institute C59 or YIVO 015009038
Karny, Miroslav. Terezínská Pamětní Kniha: Židovské Oběti Nacistických Deportací z Čech a Moravy 1941-1945 (Terezin Memorial Book: Jewish Victims of Nazi Deportations from Bohemia and Moravia). Praha: Terezínská iniciativa: Melantrich, 1996. 2 vols. Text in Czech. Reading Room D 805.5 .T54 T47 1995 ; Terezin Memorial Book: Jewish Victims of Nazi Deportations from Bohemia and Moravia 1941-1945; a Guide to the Czech Original (Praha: Terezínská iniciativa: Melantrich, 1996). Genealogy Institute D 805.5 .T54 T47 1996
Kieval, Hilel J. The Making of Czech Jewry: National Conflict and Jewish Society in Bohemia 1870-1918. New York: Oxford University Press, 1988. Leo Baeck Institute DS 135 C95 K54 or YIVO 000082139
Klenovský, Jaroslav. Židovské Památky Moravy a Slezska (Jewish Monuments of Moravia and Silesia). Brno: ERA, 2001. Text in English and Czech. YIVO 000113276
Lárišová, Petra. Židovská Komunita v Bratislave v Roku 1940: Historická Demografia na Základe Sčítania L̕udu (The Jewish Community in Bratislava in 1940: Historical DEmography on the Basis of Census). Bratislava: Nadácia Milana Šimečku, 2000. Census of the Bratislava Jewish community in 1940. Text in Slovak. Leo Baeck Institute st 3979 or YIVO Bratislava 2000
Lion, Jindřich, et al. Jüdisches Prag (Jewish Prague). Wien: Mandelbaum, 2005. A guide to Jewish Prague. Text in English and German. Leo Baeck Institute st 5699
Phoenix: Journal of Czech and Slovak Jewish Family and Community History. Jamaica, NY: Czech and Slovak Jewish Communities Archive, 1997. Genealogy Institute DS 135 .C95 P56
Review of the Society for the History of Czechoslovak Jews. New York: Society for the History of Czechoslovak Jews, 1987-1993), Vol. 1-6. A sequel to the trilogy The Jews of Czechoslovakia. Leo Baeck Institute DS 135 C95 L453
Rozkošná, Blanka, and Pavel Jakubec. Židovské Památky Čech: Historie a Památky Židovského Osídlení Čech (Jewish Monuments of Bohemia: History and Monuments of the Jewish Settlement of Bohemia). Brno: ERA, 2004. Text in English and Czech. YIVO 000115286
Schlyter, Daniel M. A Handbook of Czechoslovak Genealogical Research. Buffalo Grove, IL: Genun Publishers, 1985. Genealogy Institute E 184 .B67 S35 1985
Society for the History of Czechoslovak Jews. The Jews of Czechoslovakia: Historical Studies and Surveys. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, 1968-1984), Vol. 1-3. American Jewish Historical Society DS 135 .C95 J45 or American Sephardi Federation DS 135 .C95 J45 1968 Besso or Leo Baeck Institute DS 135 C95 J45 or YIVO 000069075
Steinhauser, Mary. Totenbuch Theresienstadt: Damit Sie Nicht Vergessen Werden (Death Book of Theresienstadt: So That They Will Not Be Forgotten). List of deportees from Austria to Theresienstadt who did not return. Wien: Junius, 1989. Text in German. Genealogy Institute D 805 .C9 T67 1989
Sturm, Heribert. Biographisches Lexikon zur Geschichte der Boehmischen Laender (Biographical Encyclopedia for the History of Bohemian Territories). München: R. Oldenbourg, 1979-1999). Vol. 1-3. Reading Room DB 202 B56
Wlaschek, Rudolf Mathias. Biographia Judaica Bohemiae (Biographies of Jewish Bohemians). Dortmund: Forschungsstelle Ostmitteleuropa, 1995-2003. Vol. 1-3. Text in German. Reading Room DS 135 C954 W53 B5
Wlaschek, Rudolf Mathias. Juden in Böhmen: Beiträge zur Geschichte des Europäischen Judentums im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert (Jews in Bohemia: Contributions to the History of European Jewry in the 19th and 20th Centuries). München: R. Oldenbourg, 1990). Leo Baeck Institute DS 135 C954 W53 or YIVO 000092019
Jewish Cemeteries in Bohemia and Moravia by The Making of Czech Jewry: National Conflict and Jewish Society in Bohemia 1870-1918 by