Ancestry.com and MyHeritage.com are vast databases of all types of digitized genealogical records [Fee]. The Center for Jewish History offers free access to Ancestry.com in its reading room.
The International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies provides links to Canada’s local genealogical societies.
For Canadian genealogy links, research guides, FAQ’s, and other tools, visit the following websites:
Canadian Genealogy & History Links (CGHL)
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online allows you to search for biographical and bibliographical information on notable Canadians who died prior to 1930.
The Canadian Jewish Heritage Network offers a database of several genealogy record groups available at its partner institutions. It currently includes information extracted from Jewish Immigrant Aid Services’ client name lists (1922-1952), Jewish Colonization Association’sindividual farm settler reports from Western Canada and Quebec (1906-1951), Translated Yiddish obituaries from the Keneder Adler (1908- 1932), Hebrew Sick Benefit Association of Montreal's membership listings (1897-1945), and a list of Jewish casualties in the Canadian Armed Forces from World War I, World War II, and the Korean War.
The JewishGen Online Worldwide Burial Registry (JOWBR) is a searchable database of names and other identifying information from cemeteries and burial records worldwide.
Canada Gen Web’s Cemetery Project allows you to browse and search for Canadian cemeteries and provides locations of cemetery transcripts, indexes, and photos, including links to those online.
The International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies’ International Jewish Cemetery Project is in the process of compiling a comprehensive list of Jewish burial sites worldwide. Some listings include contact information, location description, brief history, burial societies, and/or links to cemetery websites.
The Canadian Headstone Photographic Project is an ongoing effort to photograph and index Canada’s grave monuments. You can browse the photos by cemetery or search by surname.
The following websites provide links to online Canadian census records (indexes, images, or both).
All Census Records.com (national, provincial, and local)
Online Canada Census Records and Indexes
Automated Genealogy is working to index national censuses, link the transcribed pages to the original images hosted by Library and Archives Canada, and link various records associated with a person together. The current searchable indexes (in-progress) include: 1851, 1901, 1906, and 1911 censuses.
Canada411 is an online directory of current Canadian telephone listings.
Internet Archive has digitized historical business and residential directories for several Canadian cities. Search for “[city name] AND directory.” To search within a directory, select the full text link and type Control + F to open a search box.
Can Genealogy provides a list of links to online immigration records (indexes, images, or both).
Olive Tree Genealogy features pre-1865 passenger lists. To search within a record, type Control + F.
Smith, Marian L. “By Way of Canada: U.S. Records of Immigration Across the U.S.-Canadian Border, 1895-1954 (St. Albans Lists)” Prologue Magazine. Vol. 32, No. 3 (Fall 2000).
Olive Tree Genealogy features transcribed military records from Canada’s 18th - and 19th -century wars, such as muster rolls and regiment lists. To search within a record, type Control + F.
The Commonwealth War Graves Commission offers two searchable databases: names and cemeteries of World War I and World War II Commonwealth forces’ (including Canadian) casualties.
The War Graves Photographic Project is an ongoing effort to photograph and index the graves of all Commonwealth military personnel from World War I to the present day. To search by name, visit:
The Canadian Merchant Navy War Dead Database is a searchable registry of merchant seamen who died in World War I or World War II.
Canadian Virtual War Memorial is a searchable registry of military war casualties since the Korean War.
Canadian Post-War Military & Dependant Graves is a searchable registry of service members and their dependants who died overseas during postwar deployments.
Veterans Affairs Canada has digitized the Books of Remembrance, which record the names of Canadian military war casualties from the Nile Expedition (1884-1885) to the present. Only images are available.
Can Genealogy features links to a range of digitized provincial and local newspapers (1769-present).
Multicultural Canada is an online repository of newspapers from Canada’s minority cultural communities, including a few Jewish publications. You can browse or search all of the newspapers.
Vital Statistics Council of Canada provides links to provincial vital statistics offices.
The Canadian Births or Baptism, Deaths and Marriages Exchange is a partial list of names(with accompanying date and location of event) taken from vital records, organized first by record type and then by first initial. Once you locate the relevant page, you can search for a name using Control + F.
