Library and Archives Canada
Library and Archives Canada is the main source of primary records from the 18th to the 20th centuries. This repository contains a vast range of materialsrelevant to Canadian Jewish genealogical research, including but not limited to vital, cemetery, census, immigration, naturalization, mutual/immigrant aid society, synagogue, military, orphanage/adoption, land, and employment records, national and local Jewish newspapers, and city directories. Many record groups have been indexed and are searchable online. However, please note that only some of the indexed record groups are digitized and viewable as images online. Major digitized collections include National Census (1851, 1871, 1881, 1891, 1901, & 1911), Canadian Naturalization (1915-1951), Quebec City Passenger Lists (1865-1900), Immigrants from the Russian Empire – passports and identity papers (1898-1922), and Canadian Directories (pre-1901).* *Primary records are also available via Ancestry and World Vital Records (See Web Resources below)
Library and Archives Canada: Genealogy Services
Address: 395 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0N4, Canada
Tel.: Local: 613-996-5115; Toll-free: 1-866-578-7777 (Canada and the United States)
Fax: 613-995-6274
E-mail: genealogy inquiry form
Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada
All immigration records (including instructions for how to access them) for Canadian land and sea ports from January 1, 1936, on are held by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)
Canadian Archival Information Network
Primary records are also held at many smaller provincial, regional, county, and local archives throughout Canada. They have created the Canadian Archival Information Network to search across their collections, browse digitized items, and locate contact information for Canada’s various regional archives.
