There are four major Direct-to-Consumer DNA testing companies for genealogy, listed in order of the size of their databases: Ancestry, 23andMe, MyHeritage, and FamilyTreeDNA.
Each company has different capabilities and limitations, and there is no one 'best' testing company. Each company finds your DNA matches from within its own database, so the number of useful matches you find will depend on which company your relatives (known and unknown) have chosen. Since you have no way to know where your “missing link” relatives have tested, you should consider having your results included in all four databases. The most cost-effective way to accomplish this is to purchase tests at Ancestry and 23andme and then upload the resulting data file (of one, not both) to MyHeritage and FamilyTreeDNA. You don’t need to purchase four tests this way to be able to find matches in all four databases. Learn how to transfer your test results in the 'Interpreting Your Results' section of this guide.
Ancestry has the largest commercial autosomal DNA database, with over 22 million tests taken as of 2022.
Ancestry identifies ten regional subgroups of Ashkenazi Jews (see a list here) and identifies Sephardic Jews as one ethnic group. Ancestry's DNA test automatically cuts out some presumed false matches, which is especially helpful for Ashkenazi Jewish testers who will have more small-segment matches than individuals from non-endogamous backgrounds.
People who purchase a test from Ancestry and have a subscription to Ancestry's database of 11 billion genealogical documents can take advantage of the opportunity to combine genetic and documentary genealogy. For example, Ancestry can show the common ancestor between you and one of your DNA matches when you link your DNA to a family tree (only for your matches who have also linked their DNA results to their trees). Visitors to the Genealogy Institute at the Center for Jewish History can access Ancestry's records for free but will not be able to link their DNA to a family tree through the Center’s institutional subscription.
The Ancestry test requires a saliva sample, which can be an impediment for testers who have difficulty producing an adequate quantity of saliva.
Resources for Ancestry test-takers
23andMe was founded and is still mainly focused on medical research rather than genealogy, and allows testers to opt in or out of medical research studies. It has the second largest database, with over 12 million tests taken as of 2023. 23andMe offers autosomal tests. They also provide a rough Y-DNA and mtDNA haplogroup where applicable, but these haplogroups are typically ancient and useful only as a way to rule out a maternal-line or paternal-line relationship.
23andMe identifies seven subgroups of Ashkenazi Jews (see a list here) but does not have a category for Sephardic or Mizrahi Jews. 23andMe makes an effort to sort through some of the small-segment matches that Ashkenazi Jewish testers can expect by designating these matches as “distant” cousins.
Unlike Ancestry, 23andMe doesn’t offer a database of genealogical records, but it will use the information in your DNA matches to construct a likely tree for you and you can also add known relatives manually to your tree or link to your matches manually.
The 23AndMe test requires a saliva sample, which can be an impediment for testers who have difficulty producing an adequate quantity of saliva.
Resources for 23andMe test-takers
MyHeritage has a database of 7.4 million users as of 2023. It only offers autosomal tests.
MyHeritage identifies five Jewish ethnic groups: Ethiopian Jewish, Sephardic Jewish-North African, Mizrahi Jewish-Iranian/Iraqi, Ashkenazi Jewish, and Yemenite Jewish. Like Ancestry, MyHeritage filters out some false matches. MyHeritage also categorizes your matches into three groups: high, medium, and low confidence matches.
MyHeritage has a database of 18 billion genealogical records and family trees which testers can use to help make sense of their results. Please note that access to MyHeritage genealogical records requires a subscription separate from the price of the DNA test, but the company offers a deal that bundles the price of a DNA test and the price of access to their records.
The MyHeritage test uses a cheek swab to collect the sample, rather than a saliva sample, which can be easier for testers who have difficulty producing an adequate quantity of saliva.
Resources for MyHeritage test-takers
FamilyTreeDNA has the smallest database of these companies, with over two million tests taken. It offers autosomal, Y-DNA, and mtDNA tests. While FTDNA is the fourth most popular company for autosomal testing, it is the only option among the major companies for Y-DNA and mtDNA testing.
FamilyTreeDNA identifies four Jewish ethnicities: Ashkenazi Jewish, Yemenite Jewish, Sephardic Jewish, and Mizrahi Jewish.
Although FamilyTreeDNA does not automatically sort through small segment matches, it has tools like a chromosome browser which allows testers to identify the specific location and size of the matching segments. These tools are described in more detail in the 'Interpreting Your Results' section of this guide.
The FamilyTreeDNA test uses a cheek swab to collect sample, rather than a saliva sample, which can be easier for testers who have difficulty producing an adequate quantity of saliva.
Resources for FamilyTreeDNA test-takers