The Papers of Lucy S. Dawidowicz represent her research and work relating to American History and American Jewish History, anti-Semitism in America, Holocaust denial, European Jewish heritage and the Holocaust (including the American Jewish response). Biographical material pertains to her book, From That Place and Time: A Memoir: 1938-1947, as well as later material concerning her profession life.
James Surkamp Papers
The collection consists of copies of documents from various archives, including: the National Archives and Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.; National Records Center in Suitland, Maryland; archives in Germany, France, Holland, Israel. There are also copies of articles from books and periodicals. Reports on art plunder, during and after World War II, in various countries including Poland, Austria, Italy, France, Spain, Czechoslovakia, the Netherlands, Scandinavian countries, Portugal. Materials relating to private art collections of Nazi government officials such as that of Hermann Goring. Reports of the office of the U.S. Chief of Counsel for War Crimes. U.S. Army reports on art treasures. Lists of paintings in private collections in various countries. Shelf list of records of the State Department Consulate on Monuments, Fine Arts and Archives. Report on the Art Looting Investigation Unit. Newspaper articles on stolen art and the role of the S.S. in art thefts.
Colonel Seymour J. Pomrenze Papers
This collection comprises the papers of Colonel Sholom (Seymour) Jacob Pomrenze (1916-2011). It contains materials relating to Pomrenze’s role as the first director of the Offenbach Archival Depot (OAD) in early 1946, as well as documentation of his career as a records management and archives consultant for the American Jewish cultural sector. It also includes some biographical material.
Brener, Ann. Out of the Ashes: Jewish Cultural Reconstruction and its Legacy at the Library of Congress. https://blogs.loc.gov/international-collections/2021/06/out-of-the-ashes-jewish-cultural-reconstruction-and-its-legacy-at-the-library-of-congress/
Dean, Martin and Susanne Brose. Offenbach Archival Depot: Antithesis to Nazi Plunder. Online Exhibit at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. https://www.ushmm.org/information/exhibitions/online-exhibitions/special-focus/offenbach-archival-depot
Plunder and Restitution: The U.S. and Holocaust Victims' Assets. Findings and Recommendations of the Presidential Advisory Commission on Holocaust Assets in the United States and Staff Report. December 2000. https://hdl.handle.net/2027/osu.32437121129239
Rothfeld, Anne. Returning Looted European Library Collections: An Historical Analysis of the Offenbach Archival Depot, 1945-1948. RBM: A Journal of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Cultural Heritage, Vol. 6, No. 5 (Spring) 2005). DOI: https://doi.org/10.5860/rbm.6.1.238
SINKOFF, NANCY. “From the Archives: Lucy S. Dawidowicz and the Restitution of Jewish Cultural Property.” American Jewish History 100, no. 1 (2016): 117–47. https://www.jstor.org/stable/24805477.
Waite, Robert G. 2002. “Returning Jewish Cultural Property: The Handling of Books Looted by the Nazis in the American Zone of Occupation, 1945 to 1952.” Libraries & Culture 37 (3): 213–228. https://www.jstor.org/stable/25549010
Monuments Men and Women Foundation
The Monuments Men and Women Foundation is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization created to raise worldwide awareness about the service of the Monuments Men and Women, honor them for their achievements, and complete their unfinished mission of returning missing art to the rightful owners.