Search the collections at the Center for Jewish History
Center for Jewish History: General Information
Lillian Goldman Reading Room
Ackman and Ziff Family Genealogy Institute
Abram Mikhailovich Tseis Records (RG 168)
This collection pertains primarily to the Second World War period, during which Abram Mikhailovich Tsesis served in the Russian Army on the war front. Included is correspondence in the form of 142 postcards and letters in Russian, 1941-1945. Also included is a CD of scans of these postcards and letters, as well as three photographs, 1942-1969, and a short, typed biography of Abram Mikhailovich Tsesis.
Joseph Schrank collection (RG 1154)
Schrank was a Captain and major in the U.S. Army during World War II and a Military governor in Kusel and Rockenhausen in Germany. The collection relates to Schrank's military career in the U.S. Army. Includes letters to his wife from Europe (1944-1945), various Nazi memorabilia, and materials of the U.S. military authority in Kusel.
Mapping and Survey Office of the German Army High Command Collection (RG 379)
Bound volumes of published maps, plans, and geographical information about localities in Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, prepared by the German General Staff for military use during World War II. Includes country, city, highway and naval maps, lists of towns, statistical information on Jews and Jewish populations in various cities. Countries and regions include Great Britain, Greece, Iceland, Iraq, Italy, Libya, Luxembourg, Malta, Morocco, Near East, Netherlands, Northeast Africa, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Russia, Sardinia, Sicily, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Ukraine.
Memoirs of American Jewish Soldiers (RG 110)
This collection contains mainly contest submissions from the 1945-1946 YIVO essay contest for Jewish soldiers and veterans of World War II as well as additional materials sent in by the contestants and administrative information about the contest compiled by YIVO staff members.
Leo Hoffman Papers (RG 1874)
The collection relates primarily to Leo L. Hoffman's service as a lieutenant general stationed in China, Burma, and India, during the Second World War's China-Burma-India Theater military operation, which lasted from December 7, 1941 to March 2, 1946. Mainly composed of printed materials, including personal and official correspondence, 1941-1978, military Records and awards in English and Chinese. Also includes several military handbooks, a newspaper publication, Newsmap, and leaflets in English and Chinese, 1940-1944; several oversized military maps of China and Burma, c. 1942; miscellaneous materials and newspaper clippings, in English and Chinese.
Papers of Leon (Lazar) Ajces (RG 2348)
This collection contains material on the life of Leon (Lazar) Ajces, a soldier in the Polish People's Army and Red Army who ultimately immigrated to the United States, where he lived in New York and worked as a businessman. The collection contains personal papers, especially relating to Ajces's army service; family photographs and military photographs; and military medals. It also contains a copy of a biography of Ajces by Natalie Green Giles, Songa's Story: How A Shtetl Jew Found the American Dream.
Spanish Civil War Collection (RG 1477)
This collection contains correspondence, pamphlets, periodicals, newspapers, press releases, writings, clippings, brochures, fliers, and posters from the era of the Spanish Civil War, and later, documenting American and international fund-raising for humanitarian relief of Republican Spain; American and international public opinion about the war; the participation of Jews in the International Brigades; and analysis, commemorations, and reminiscences of the war and, particularly, of the International Brigades, in later years.
