Search the collections at the Center for Jewish History
Center for Jewish History: General Information
Lillian Goldman Reading Room
Ackman and Ziff Family Genealogy Institute
Bernhard Bardach Collection [Digitized] (AR 6632)
The Bernhard Bardach Collection describes mainly the career of a staff physician with the Austro-Hungarian army through educational and financial documents, photographs, and military decorations. Most importantly, Dr. Bardach kept a diary throughout his service in WW I.
Diary written during the International Military Tribunal in Nuremberg. (ME 204)
Seymour Krieger served on the U.S. prosecution staff at the International Military Tribunal in Nuremberg in 1945/1946. This diary with newspaper clippings was kept during the time of the Nuremberg Trials of major German war criminals, 1945-1946. NOTE: The original diary is held at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. The author requested a copy to be placed at LBI. The digitized diary is available online when onsite at the Center.
Edgar Trier Collection [Digitized] (AR 6443)
The Edgar Trier Collection documents Edgar Trier’s military career, first as a member of the French Foreign Legion and then as a soldier in the United States Army. Included here are both personal materials as well as Army related materials. Military-related materials include personal dog tags, military orders and reports, certificates, lists of personnel, photographs depicting Edgar Trier and other members of his company during liberation of France and Germany, German news broadcasts recorded and translated by Edgar Trier, and other military documents such as identification and ration cards, demobilization documents, certificates and decorations.
German Army Proclamations Collection [Digitized] (AR 7076)
Multilingual German army proclamations issued during World War I, in Vilna, Warsaw, and German General Headquarters for the Eastern Front, containing regulations, announcements, warnings, war dispatches, and election list for Jewish elections in Liebau (today Leipaja, Latvia).
Jewish Veterans Association Collection [Digitized] (AR 7012)
The Immigrant Jewish War Veterans were formed in 1938 in New York City as a successor organization to the Reichsbund Juedischer Frontsoldaten. By 1950 it had been renamed the Jewish Veterans Association. The Jewish Veterans Association Collection holds this association's organizational records, such as membership lists, a memorial book, financial and tax records, meeting minutes, some clippings and notes.
Military Tribunals Nuremberg Collection 1933-1949 (AR 4334)
The collection contains original mimeographs and their photocopies of Military Tribunal transcripts and final briefs of cases against Ernst von Weizsaecker and other defendants. Also included are supporting documents, including manual for trial of war crimes; reports from Greek and Polish war crimes offices; copies of orders concerning Nazi racial laws, and of orders and decrees from territories occupied by Germany; articles on German government and administration.
Otto Hertz Collection [Digitized] (AR 11162)
This collection contains diverse items related to Otto Herz's front line service as an officer in the German Army during World War I. They reflect his long and honorable service as a World War I soldier. There are certificates (in photocopy) pertaining to his military service, including an Iron Cross First Class, a listing of the battles in which he was involved from 1914-1918, and an original card from the Reichsvereinigung der Juden in Deutschland certifying his war veteran status; 117 page diary written between the years 1914-1918, important dates are underlined in blue or red pencil (such as 30 March 1918 when they were engaged at Conchy les Pots, France, and 11 November, 1918); loose ink drawing of a soldier with text Eingedenk seines hohon berufes, postcard to Herz extending brief greetings (1919); newspaper clippings found in diary with underlined text, 1915-1918.
Office of the Military Government for Germany United States; Restitution Claims 1946-1950 (bulk 1948) [Digitized] (AR 6304)
The collection consists of restitution claims submitted to OMGUS, the Office of the Military Government for Germany (United States), which administered the United States occupation zone and the U.S. Berlin sector during the Allied occupation of Germany after World War II. Restitution claims routinely originated with the Military Mission that represented the county from which property was looted, stolen or destroyed under German occupation during World War II. These cases were forwarded to OMGUS for investigation and resolution.
Richard Michel Collection [Digitized] (AR 25481)
The Richard Michel Collection contains twenty-eight photocopied pages of Richard Michel's World War I diary (March to April, 1915), accompanied by thirteen World War I maps displaying information such as enemy positions, terrain and railroads.
