A Cultural Yom Kippur Observance / compiled and edited by Joanne Borts. New York: Workmen's Circle/Arbeter Ring, 2008.
The form of prayers for the Day of Atonement, according to the custom of the German and Polish Jews / with an English translation, carefully revised by Samuel Summer. Vienna: Published by Jos. Schlesinger, I., Seitenstettengasse 5, 1900. [Digitized]
Hank Greenberg: The Hero Who Didn't Want to Be One / Mark Kurlansky. New Haven: Yale University Press, c2011.
Ladino hymns for Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur / compiled by Rev. David J. Behar. Seattle, WA: Congregation Ezra Bessaroth, 1963.
Maḥzor Lev shalem: for Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur / New York, NY: Rabbinical Assembly, 2010.
The Yom Kippur Anthology / Philip Goodman. Philadelphia, Jewish Publication Society of America, 1971.
Yom Kippur: Yom Kippur, Its Significance, Laws and Prayers: a Presentation Anthologized from Talmudic and Traditional Sources / overview by Nosson Scherman; laws by Hersh Goldwurm; insights and prayers by Avie Gold. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Mesorah Publications, c1989.
Wall hanging commemorating Yom Kippur service, Metz, 1870. 2006.12 [Digitized]
Yom Kippur. Oil Painting. 2004.225. [Digitized]
Yom Kippur Al Heyt. Painting. 1992.085. [Digitized]
Yom Kippur services at Great Lakes, Illinois, circa 1942. Photograph. I-337.B10.F016.0207. [Digitized]
Congregation Beth Hillel Collection, AR 25765 [Digitized]
The collection includes printings in connection to high holidays, such as Remembrance lists for Yom Kippur, for Congregation Beth Hillel of Washington Heights. The collection holds some prayer-related printings, such as a Machzor and lists of prayers for Yom Kippur.
Ernst Daniel Goldschmidt Collection, [Digitized]
The bulk of the collection consists of the final manuscript for a prayer book, which was sponsored by the Leo Baeck Institute in New York and published by the Israeli publishing house Koren. The Hebrew language book is a critical edition of the “Mahzor Ashkenaz” for the Jewish High Holidays, Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur, according to traditional German, French and Polish (Ashkenazi) rites.
What does baseball have to do with the High Holidays? And what do Hank Greenberg, Sandy Koufax, and the 1986 New York Mets have in common? Dr. Jeffrey Gurock of Yeshiva University and Melanie Meyers, our Director of Collections of Engagement, discuss baseball, religious observance and more, including the AJHS baseball memorabilia collection.