Subject Guide: Environmental History

Organization of Jewish Colonies in America records 1931-1935 (I-47)

Includes correspondence and published material relating to agricultural theory, other farm communities, and farming in general. The collection also contains correspondence and published material relating to the formation of the successor organization established in 1934, as the Association for Jewish Land Settlements in America and its colony in Hightstown, New Jersey. Includes newspaper clippings primarily from the Yiddish press, and the personal correspondence (1932-1934) of David Mines, secretary of the Organization of Jewish Colonies in America.

Preuss family collection (P-526)

Consists of 2 certificates indicating completion of course of study in poultry management given by the State of New Jersey.

Rabbi H. David Rutman collection (P-779)

Contains research and writing compiled by Rabbi H. David Rutman, primarily regarding the Jewish agriculture movement and New York Jewish agricultural colonies in the mid 1800s and early 1900s. Also includes Rutman's Master's dissertation for New York University, titled, "Ludwig Lewisohn: His Writing of Religious Interest." Agriculture material consists of copies of mortgages and listings of landowners from Sholam colony; and news clippings and articles regarding the Jewish Agricultural Society, the beginnings of the agricultural movement in America, Ellenville colony, Sholam colony, and boarding houses in the Catskills in the early years.

Records of the Baron de Hirsch Fund (I-80)

The Baron de Hirsch Fund Records document the organization's involvement in the planning of agricultural communities across the United States and to some extent in South America; the founding and administrative dealings of agricultural and trade schools; the establishment of the Jewish Agricultural Society; and the business records of the Fund itself.

Records of the Delaware Valley College of Science and Agriculture (Doylestown, Pa) (I-36)

This collection contains correspondence (primarily 1951-1967) relating to finances and the activities of the School; mimeographed minutes of the meetings of the Board of Trustees (1952-1961); printed material relating to Founders Day Convocation and Commencement Exercises; a copy of the charter and amended by-laws for the years 1952, 1959, and 1960; catalogues (1941-43, 1946-47, 1952-53, 1957-59); and annual reports (1902-1945).

LIBRARY HIGHLIGHTS

Jewish agriculture in the Catskills, 1900-1920., / David M. Gold, 1981. 

Jews in American agriculture: an annotated bibliography / Irwin Weintraub; foreword by Ronald Becker., 2007. 

Jews in American agriculture: the history of farming by Jews in the United States / Jewish Agricultural Society., 1954. 

The agricultural activities of the Jews in America / by Leonard G. Robinson ..., 1912. 
The American Jewish farmer: an exhibit / sponsored by the American Jewish Archives; edited by Abraham J. Peck., 1986.

LIBRARY HIGHLIGHTS

The Jewish sourcebook on the environment and ecology / [edited by] Ronald H. Isaacs., 1998. 

The mountains shall drip wine: Jews and the environment / [edited by] Leonard J. Greenspoon. 1st ed. of Studies in Jewish Civilization v. 20, 2009. 
The way into Judaism and the environment / Jeremy Benstein. of Way Into-, 2006.