Subject Guide: Environmental History

Charlotte Radt Collection (AR 4720) [Digitized]

Radt was an Ethnobotanist and editor of Journal de l'Agriculture Tropicale et Botanique Appliquee. The collection contains an obituary for Ethnobotanist and editor Charlotte Radt, as well as several ethnobotanical articles that she authored.

Harvey P. Newton Collection (AR 5827) [Digitized]

After completing elementary school and a few years of Gymnasium education, Hermann Neustadt chose not to follow in the footsteps of his father due to the rising anti-Semitism in Germany. Instead, he decided to join a group of young Jewish people who opted for agricultural training at the Auswanderer-Lehrsgut Groß Breesen, a farm that prepared young people to seek a new life outside Germany.The Harvey P. Newton Collection contains the papers of this individual, and includes personal and family documents and correspondence. It also contains materials on the Holocaust and Jewish life in Hitler's Germany, including materials on the concentration camp at Buchenwald. The collection also contains documents related to the Jewish community in Breslau and materials on Groß Breesen, the training farm for young Jewish people in preparation for emigration.

Jüdisches Auswanderungslehrgut (Gross-Breesen, Silesia) Collection (AR 3686) [Digitized]

In the spring of 1936, the Reichsvertretung der Juden in Deutschland formed the Jüdisches Auswanderungslehrgut (Jewish Emigration Training Farm) in Silesia. The goal of the institution was to provide young Jews agricultural skills in order to ease their emigration to other countries. The program, with about 120 participants, of which approximately 30 were girls, was led by psychologist and educator Dr. Curt Bondy (1894-1972). The curriculum was a mix of agriculture, Judaism, and German culture, and emphatically (and controversially) not Zionist. The materials include a complete set of the Rundbriefe (newsletters) via which former students stayed in touch and documented their life experiences after leaving Gross-Breesen. The collection also includes a handful of additional letters that appear to have been circulated among the same group, as well as some original documents from Gross-Bressen, clippings, reunion materials, and a three-volume compilation of material that includes, among other things, typed copies of the newsletters.

Stefanie Perlstein Collection (AR 10056) [Digitized]

The collection contains documents pertaining to Simon & Karola Freimark, such as personal documents; materials from Theresienstadt and Deggendorf; and documents pertaining to restitution. Also included are a postcard addressed to Emma Perlstein (Kassel, July 6th 1935); as well as correspondence and documents related to the "Landwerk Halbe".

A remembrance of His wonders: nature and the supernatural in medieval Ashkenaz / David I. Shyovitz. of Jewish Culture and Contexts, 2017. 
ORT Union: for the promotion of trades and agriculture among Jews. International exhibition of arts and techniques. Paris, 1937.