Subject Guide: Cooking & Cookbooks

B. Manischewitz Company Records, I-283

This collection contains pamphlets, printed materials and photos concerning the activities of the Kosher food manufacturing company founded by Rabbi Dov Ber Manischewitz in Cincinnati in 1888. Includes product information and recipes for holiday meals, as well as copies of presentations at a 1956 symposium on "Jewish Life as Reflected in Jewish Foods."

Cohen Kosher Menu Collection, I-602

The collection contains close to 100 menus from Kosher restaurants, mostly from Manhattan and Brooklyn but also from Miami and Montréal. The menus are mostly undated but are generally from the 1990s-2000s.

Elsa Oestreicher Collection, AR 328 [Digitized]

Elsa Oestreicher had a successful career as a cooking instructor and author of cookbooks. In the collection are certificates related to her profession, culinary arts material, correspondence with relatives and former students, ephemera, her notes on Theresienstadt written in camp from 1942 to 1945, as well as a collection of poems from the same time.

Records of the Hadassah Magazine Touch of Honey Contest, I-271

The National Honey Board's 1993 recipe contest held in conjunction with Hadassah magazine to celebrate the long tradition of honey in Jewish cooking. Collection consists of the Board's press releases, and recipes submitted by U.S. Hadassah chapters for dishes from Hadassah cookbooks in which honey is used as the primary sweetener.

Howard and Hanna Adler Collection, AR 10079 [Digitized]

A small notebook belonging to culinary student Hans Fromm with handwritten notes and diagrams on how to clean, prepare, and cook various fish. There is also what appears to be a loose page from a diary regarding a planned trip from Cologne to France.

International Kosher Foods and Jewish Life Expo Collection, I-324

This collection contains promotional material surrounding the Expo, the first kosher food show of its kind. Consists of pre-Expo literature through December 1990, material from the first to the fifth Expo, International Jewish Festivals, and the Kosherfest 1990. Material consists of articles, brochures, flyers and posters.

Molly Lyons Bar-David Collection,  P-1057

The collection consists of magazine articles, newspaper clippings, ephemera, photographs and personal correspondence, spanning the years 1930 to 1970. Most materials relate directly to Bar-David's career as a cookbook author and authority on Israeli cuisine. 

Russ & Daughters Business and Family Records, I-605

Russ & Daughters was founded in 1914 by Joel Russ as a family-owned fish and appetizing business on the Lower East Side. The business may be the first in New York (or the United States) to include “and daughters,”—Hattie, Ida, and Anne—in their business name. The collection contains some correspondence, a mortgage and business ledger, partnership agreements, apartment leases, advertising and branding, articles, photographs, oral histories, and ephemera.