CJH Guide: Archival Research at the Center

The Center provides access to the records of our five partner organization's library, archives, and museum object holdings through our main search catalog: search.cjh.org. 

This catalog access point allows you to search for items no matter how specific or general your initial research inquiries:

• Author
• Book Title
• Archival collection name or identification number 
• General keyword or subject heading

And gives you the freedom to filter your search results by:

• Partner organization
• Material type (book, archival collection, audio recording, photograph, museum object, etc.)
• Language
• Creation date
• Creator
• Genre form/Topic

The Center's main search provides access to view and request hundreds of library volumes, reels of microfilm, and archival collections. Although search.cjh.org provides a centralized home for our partner organizations' records, you may find these additional collection resource websites helpful.

Please click on the links below for more context on our partner's collections as well as their missions and collecting policies. 

American Jewish Historical Society

The AJHS Collections page outlines the breadth of the organization's museum holdings, library collection, fees for Photographs & Digital Reproductions of Archival Materials, and provides links to major special collection holdings such as the Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society (HIAS) Records, the Archive of the American Soviet Jewry Movement, and the Loeb Portrait Database, among others.  

American Sephardi Federation

ASF's library and archival collections are exclusively devoted to Greater Sephardi topics and authors. They strive to collect, preserve, and provide access to (via the Lillian Goldman Reading Room) their books, documents, artifacts, and ephemera from or about Jews and Jewish communities throughout the Sephardic world.

Leo Baeck Institute

LBI collections grew out of their founders’ efforts to salvage the material and intellectual culture of German-speaking Jews that was nearly lost in the Holocaust. Today, these collections are an essential resource for scholars, genealogists, families, educators, students, and the public. LBI is also the creator and caretaker of DigiBaeck, a portal designed to search only their digitized holdings, and the Edythe Griffinger Art Catalog.

YIVO Institute for Jewish Research

The YIVO Archives Online project provides additional clarification and organization to many of the collections held at YIVO. 

If you have questions on how to request anything you might see on our partners' websites, please contact our Reference Staff at inquiries@cjh.org.