Subject Guide: Summer Camps in the United States

Camp Massad Records (I-550)

This collection, comprised of material donated by former staff, counselors, and campers, is a reflection of both the administrative operations and day-to-day life at Camp Massad. However, as the materials were not amassed by the Camp itself, the collection is not a comprehensive representation of Camp Massad’s activities.

Educational Alliance Records (RG 312)

The bulk of materials were generated in a 22-year timeframe (1945-1967), documenting the Educational Alliance’s post-WWII, 1950s and 1960s activities in minutes, correspondence, individual records, newsletters and financial records. Series IV: Camps contains items related to Camp Edalia (later Cummings Village), Camp Salomon (later Camp Cummings) and Surprise Lake Camp.

Erica Abel Summer Camp Papers, 1973-1983 (P-851)

This collection contains applications, certificates, directories, yearbooks, and ephemera from the following summer camps: Jewish Ys and Centers Camp Arthur/Reeta (Zieglerville, PA); Union of American Hebrew Congregations Camp Harlam (Philadelphia, PA); Buck's Rock Work Camp (New Milford, CT); and Cejwin Camp (Port Jervis, NY).

Hebrew Orphan Asylum of the City of New York Records (I-42)

Portraits and Photographs includes images of the board of directors of HOA, and pictures depicting HOA children going about their daily activities, going on their excursions to upstate summer camps.

Jewish Community Centers Association (St. Louis, Mo.) collection (I-372)

This collection contains articles, program catalogs, fliers, pamphlets and informational brochures. The documents in this collection describe summer camp activities at Camp Sabra, general Association activities and articles written by members on the following topics: mental retardation, teen services, membership problems and public affairs concerns. Also included is the publication The Journal.

Judith Endelman Summer Camp Collection, 1956-1968 (P-987)

The collection includes newsletters, handbooks, and other printed materials from Camp Saratoga from 1956-1963. Also included are yearbooks, letterhead, newsletters, and rosters from the National Federation of Temple Youth from 1963-1968.

Moses Kligsberg Papers (RG 719)

The collection includes are ample materials relating to activities of the Bundist youth groups Tsukunft and SKIF in New York and elsewhere, including Series XI Subseries 4, which relates to the summer camp Hemshekh.

National Jewish Welfare Board, Army-Navy Division records (I-180)

In Series XVII there are 15 boxes containing various statistical compilations on Jewish communal organizations, and questionnaires with accompanying statistics based on surveys conducted by the JWB Statistics Department (1928-1943) on the services and personnel in Jewish community centers, nursery schools and summer camps. They are arranged geographically by state. 

Records of Camp Hemshekh, 1958-1978 (RG 1468)

Camp newsletters and songbooks. Applications of campers and counselors. Correspondence. Financial records. Promotional materials. Video footage of the camp and its activities. Papers of Michael Baran, a director of the camp who also worked at other Yiddishist institutions.

Records of the National Council of Jewish Women, New York Section (I-469)

The New York Section has lobbied for the rights of children, the disabled, the elderly, families, the homeless, immigrants, Israel, and women. Its community services have encompassed a wide range of social issues: aging, child care, consumer telephone referrals, counseling support, crime prevention, the disabled, domestic violence, early child education, feminism, homelessness, hunger, immigrants, Israel, Jewish education and promotion, literacy, probation, the sick, summer recreation for children and the elderly, and war relief.

Saul Maltz (RG 1229)

Maltz was a Yiddish poet and teacher who taught in Workmen's Circle schools in Detroit and New York. He served as secretary of the Central School Board of the Workmen's Circle. This collection contains song books, playscripts, newsletters and other materials from Camp Boiberik and Kinder Ring. 

Schoolman Family Papers (P-716)

The papers reflect Dr. Albert P. and Mrs. Bertha Schoolman's dedication to Jewish education, Jewish causes, and Israel. Dr. Albert Schoolman was deeply involved in Jewish education throughout his life, and is best known for establishing Camp Cejwin in 1919. He also consulted with various other Jewish summer camps. 

Sholem Aleichem Folk Institute (SAFI), Camp Boiberik (RG 659.1)

Collection includes photographs of campers and camp life, 1920s-1970s. Films of camp, 1930s-1960s. Camp songbooks. Play scripts. songs, cheers, parodies, newspapers, speeches, correspondence; art albums; daily schedules of activities.

Young Judaea Records in the Hadassah Archives, 1911-2006 (I-587/RG 8)

This collection consists of correspondence, office memos, educational program material, meeting minutes of various committees, manuals, newsletters, news clippings, pamphlets and brochures, financial and legal materials, song books, yearbooks, and official constitutions and bylaws. The topics covered include clubs, camps, Israel programs and Hadassah’s relationship with the Zionist Organization of America and local Zionist Youth Commissions that at various times sponsored and funded various Young Judaea clubs and camps.

Camp Boiberik 'felker-yontef' pageant, 1929. Film footage. RG 105. [Digitized]

Camp Kinderland, c. 1929. Film footage. RG 105. [Digitized]

24 Oral Histories from Camp Massad. Audio. Series II in Camp Massad Records, I-550 [Digitized]

Zimriah -- Hootenany Camp Massad (Box 8, Folder 32)., 1963. Audio. Camp Massad Records I-550. [Digitized]