Subject Guide: Migrations and Immigration

Papers of Joseph A. D. Sutton, 1756, 1850-1999 (ASF AR-37)

The collection documents the work and correspondence of Joseph A. D. Sutton, and reflects various aspects of his life, personal research and writings in the field of Syrian Jewish culture and society, mainly as the Syrian Jews made their way in the United States. The collection also documents the Syrian Jewish experience of the immigrants who came to America and settled, as they are described in his two books: Magic Carpet: Aleppo-in-Flatbush and Aleppo Chronicles. An extensive portion of the collection examines the Syrian community which settled in Brooklyn, including articles by colleagues as well as correspondence.

Records of Central Sephardic Jewish Community of America, undated, 1935-2000 (ASF AR-1)

The records of the CSJCA document the creation, functioning, and activities of the Community in the fields of social service, religious education, philanthropy and many others. The materials include correspondence, minutes of meetings, annual reports, budgets, publications and clippings, membership lists, financial papers and ledgers, and a few photographs.

Records of the Yemenite Jewish Federation of America, 1939, 1961-2009 (ASF AR-11)

This collection contains the minutes, correspondence and financial records of the Yemenite Jewish Federation of America, an organization that aims to provide cultural enrichment and financial support to Jews of Yemenite heritage living in Israel and the United States. There is also a fair amount of information about grants that the Federation sought, their scholarship program and various fundraisers and events that the YJFA sponsored or participated in.

Sephardic Jewish Brotherhood Records (ASF AR-33)

This collection contains the institutional records of the Sephardic Jewish Brotherhood of America, a fraternal organization founded in New York in 1921 to serve and unify the American Sephardic Jewish community. These records primarily pertain to issues of membership, including mortuary and sick benefits, scholarships and access to charitable funds, as well as information about community receptions and various other cultural activities.

The Candiotti-Asher Family Papers, undated, 1913-1943. (ASF AR 24)

The collection documents the life of Saul Candiotti's maternal and paternal grandparents from their immigration from Turkey to the U.S., their marriages, and a glimpse into their lives during WWII and membership in the Keter Zion Angora Society.

A brief history of the Jewish settlement in Barbados / [researched and written by Don Singh; photography by Willie Alleyne Associates]., 1986. 

Argentina & the Jews: a history of Jewish immigration / by Haim Avni; translated from the Hebrew by Gila Brand. of Judaic Studies Series (Unnumbered). Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 1991. 

Homelands and diasporas: Greeks, Jews and their migrations / edited by Minna Rozen. of International Library of Migration Studies. London; New York: I.B. Tauris; Distributed in the U.S.A. by Palgrave Macmillan, 2008. 

Jewish emigration from the Yemen, 1951-98: carpet without magic / by Reuben Ahroni. Richmond, Surrey: Curzon, 2001. 

The Jewish exodus from Iraq, 1948-1951 / by Moshe Gat. London; Portland, OR: Frank Cass, 1997.