Vital records are typically organized within each event type (birth, marriage, or death) by place (county and/or city), year, and certificate number. The below indexes will provide you with this information, so that you can easily locate or order the certificate you are seeking.
Online Birth & Marriage Indexes
For births and marriages outside of New York City, German Roots' vital records guide is the best place to start, as it contains a directory of online birth and marriage indexes, organized by state and county. Some divorce record indexes are also included. Note: Some of the links in this directory will take you to websites that require a paid subscription, such as Ancestry.com.
Online Death Indexes
For deaths outside of New York City, deathindexes.com is the most comprehensive directory of online death record indexes. Included are death records, death certificate indexes, death notices and registers, obituaries, probate indexes, and cemetery and burial records. Note: Some of the links in this directory will take you to websites that require a paid subscription, such as Ancestry.com, or that charge a fee per document viewed, such as ObitsArchive.com.
Family History Library Microfilm
The Church of Latter-Day Saints’ Family History Library has microfilmed birth, marriage, divorce, and death records from many towns/cities and counties across the U.S. To determine which microfilms are relevant to your research, search the catalog for the name of the town/city or county where you believe your ancestor was born, married, divorced, or passed away and select the "Vital Records" category. You may order any microfilm to be viewed at your local Family History Center by clicking on the microfilm number. To find your nearest Family History Center (Note: the Center for Jewish History is one), click here.
Additionally, the Family History Library is in the process of indexing and digitizing their record collections. Many U.S. vital record collections can already be searched, viewed, or both searched and viewed here.
“Where to Write for Vital Records” U.S. Directory
The Centers for Disease Control and Vital Records maintains a list of Where to Write for Vital Records organized by state. The site provides useful information on how to request records and links to each state’s website(s) for ordering certificates.
VitalChek Network
VitalChek is a private company that works with government agencies throughout the country to search for certified birth, marriage, divorce, and death records. Each agency charges a fee for these certificates and VitalChek charges an additional processing fee.