A comprehensive and useful blog describing sources of information for South African Family History and Genealogy by Anne Kemkuhl can be found at the South African Family History and Genealogy blog.
International Jewish Cemetery Project resides on the International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies’ website, and includes articles and list of Jewish cemeteries in South Africa.
Master of the High Court of South Africa’s ICMS Web Portal includes indexes to trusts, liquidations, curators, insolvency, and deceased people from the year 2000. It requires registration prior to starting your search.
The Poor Jews’ Temporary Shelter (London) Database (1896-1914) was developed as a project of Professor Aubrey Newman and Dr. Graham Smith, both of the Department of History at the University of Leicester in the United Kingdom. The Poor Jews’ Temporary Shelter was founded in 1885 to accommodate Jewish immigrants to London. Most immigrants were Lithuanian and headed to South Africa.
South Africa Jewish Board of Deputies Immigration Registers 1924-1929 are from bound books and include about 16,000 entries. They are available at the Kaplan Center Archives, although no researchers are allowed to make copies, only staff. There is a sample database that includes 537 entries, which is available to download at the Southern Africa Jewish Genealogy SA-SIG Webpage.
South African Jewish Museum. The museum’s website provides links to more information on Jewish origins, migration, and settlement in South Africa.
South Africa Jewish Rootsbank is a product of the Centre for Jewish Migration & Genealogy Studies, which is under the umbrella of the Isaac and Jessie Kaplan Institute for Jewish Studies at the University of Cape Town. It includes a database which encompasses cemetery and community records, military records, naturalization records, passenger arrival, and vital records. .
Southern Africa Jewish Genealogy Special Interest Group’s website includes articles, commentaries, and links to relevant resources on South Africa.
South Africa: Virtual Jewish History Tour includes historical background about the Jewish settlement in South Africa and Jewish community in the country. Also included are community contacts and a list of sources.
