Search the collections at the Center for Jewish History
Austria-Hungary (including Bukovina and Galicia)
Familia Austria. This website contains a list of links to digitized historical gazetteers from the Austro-Hungarian Empire. [In German]
Radix – Genealogy Research in Hungary. This website allows you to search for place names within the 1913 and 1995 gazetteers of Hungary and to browse place names within the 1882 gazetteer of Hungary.
Auslander, Jordan. Genealogical Gazetteer for the Kingdom of Hungary (Avotaynu, 2005). This volume covers all territories under the Hungarian crown before World War I, including those that are now incorporated into surrounding countries.
Genealogy Institute DB 904 .G387 2004
Gundacker, Felix. Historisches Ortsverzeichnis Galizien und Bukowina (F. Gundacker, 1998). Gazetteer of the former territories of Galicia and Bukovina. Galicia, also known as Austrian Poland and once a crownland of the Austrian Empire, is now divided between Poland and the Ukraine. Bukovina, formerly an administrative division of the Austrian Empire, is now divided between Romania and the Ukraine. [In German]
György, Lelkes. Magyar Helységnév-Azonosító Szótár (Talma Könyvkiadó, 1998). This volume covers all territories under the Hungarian crown before World War I, including those that are now incorporated into surrounding countries. [In Hungarian]
Genealogy Institute DB 904 .L44
Wynne, Suzan F. Finding Your Jewish Roots in Galicia: A Resource Guide (Avotaynu, 1998). This book lists towns with their district and province, together with information on research resources available for the town.
Genealogy Institute CS 878 .G35 W96
Belarus
Belarus Special Interest Group (SIG). Shtetls of Belarus database.
France
Meyrat, J. Dictionnaire National des Communes de France et d’Algériet ( A. Michel, 1950). National Dictionary of Communities in France and Algeria. [In French]
Genealogy Institute DC 14 .M57 1950
Germany
The Genealogical Gazetteer. This website features a searchable historical gazetteer of the German Empire. Entries include geographical location of the place (coordinates or a position on a map), foreign and former names, and past administrative affiliations.
Alicke, Klaus-Dieter. Lexikon der jüdischen Gemeinden im deutschen Sprachraum (Gütersloher Verlagshaus, 2008). Lexicon of German-speaking Jewish communities throughout Europe. Each entry provides a history of the community from its beginning to the period of National Socialism, demographic information of the community, and a bibliography. [In German]
Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-Lexikon des Deutschen Reichs (Genealogical Publishing Co., 2000). Gazetteer of the German Empire, with researcher's guide and English translations of the introduction, instruction for the use of the gazetteer, and abbreviations.
Lithuania
Litvak Special Interest Group (SIG). Shtetl List.
Kagan, Berl. Yidishe Shṭeṭ, Shṭeṭlekh un Dorfishe Yishuvim in Liṭe biz 1918 : Hisṭorish-Biografishe Sḳitses (B. Kohen, 1991). Jewish cities, towns and villages in Lithuania. [In Yiddish]
Reading Room DS 135 .L5 K3 1991
Poland
Jewish Records Indexing (JRI)-Poland. Its Town Index contains entries on over 1,000 Polish towns, which include alternate names, province, and map coordinates, as well as the location of vital records, for each town.
Słownik Geograficzny: Królestwa Polskiego i Innych Krajów Słowiańskich (Wydawnictwa Artsytyczne i Filmowe, 1975-1977, reprint of the 1880 ed. published by F. Sulimierski). This is a comprehensive, multi-volume gazetteer of Poland. [In Polish]
Slovakia
Majtán, Milan. Názvy Obcí Slovenskej Republiky: Vývin v Rokoch 1773-1997 (VEDA, 1998). Names of municipalities of the Slovak Republic in the years 1773-1997. [In Slovak]