Genealogy Guide: Rabbinical Genealogy

Archives Nationales Commission Franquise des Archives Juives. Dictionnaire biographique des rabbins et autres ministres du culte israélite: France et Algérie: du Grand Sanhédrin (1808) à la loi de Séparation (1905). Paris: Berg international, c2007. In French.
Reading Room BM 750 D53 2007

Freedman, Chaim. Beit Rabbanan: Sources of Rabbinical Genealogy. Petah Tikvah: Chaim Freedman, 2001.
Genealogy Institute BM 750 .F64 2001

Freedman, Chaim. Eliyahu’s Branches: Descendants of the Vilna Gaon (of blessed and saintly memory) and his family. NJ: Avotaynu, 1997.
Genealogy Institute BM 755 .E6 F74 1997

Meizlish, Penina. Rabanim she-nispu ba-Shoah [Rabbis who Perished in the Holocaust]. Jerusalem: [Lashon Limudim], 2006. In Hebrew.
Genealogy Institute BM750 .M38 2006*

*Also available online at horabis.blogspot.com

Rosenstein, Emanuel & Neil. Latter Day Leaders, Sages and Scholars. NJ: Computer Center for Jewish Genealogy, 1983).
Genealogy Institute BM 750 .L3

Rosenstein, Neil. The Lurie Legacy: The House of Davidic Royal Descent. NJ: Avotaynu, 2003.
Genealogy Institute CS 409 .L87 2003

Rosenstein, Neil. Rabbi Elijah (1720-1797), the Gaon of Vilna and His Cousinhood. NJ: Computer Center for Jewish Genealogy, 1997.
Genealogy Institute BM 755 .E6 R67 1997

Rosenstein, Neil. The Unbroken Chain: biographical sketches and the genealogy of illustrious Jewish families from the 15th-20th century (2 volumes). NJ: CIS Publishers and the Computer Center for Jewish Genealogy, Rev. Ed. 1990.
Genealogy Institute CS 432 .J4 R67

Rosenstein and Weber. Avnei Zikaron - אבני זכרון: Stones of Remembrance. NJ: Computer Center for Jewish Genealogy, 1999.
Genealogy Institute CS 873 .R67 *

*includes a CD-ROM :

American Jewish Yearbook: For the years 5661 (1900-1901), 5668 (1907-1908), and 5680 (1919-1920), The American Jewish Year Book, published by the American Jewish Committee in Philadelphia, included a comprehensive Directory of National and Local Organizations in the United States. This directory contains a listing of national and local Jewish organizations by city, including synagogues. Many of the synagogues list their rabbi. In New York City, some congregations are also listed by associated ancestral home town as well as by the name of the congregation. Leo Baeck Institute Library E 184 J5 A15

*Also available online at ajcarchives.org/main.php?GroupingId=40 

Central Conference of American Rabbis. Yearbook. New York: Central Conference, [1890-1989]-. 99 vols. Lists annual meeting attendees of the principal organization of American Reform rabbis.
American Jewish Historical Society BM 11 .C2

Eisenstadt, Benzion. Dor rabanaṿ ṿe-sofraṿ - דור רבניו וסופריו. [Biographies of rabbis in America] (6 vol). Warsaw, Vilna and New York: Bi-defus Halṭer ṿe-‘Aizen shṭadṭ, [1895-1903]. In Hebrew.
American Jewish Historical Society DS115 .E354 *

* Also available online at Hebrew Books hebrewbooks.org/29053 

Hebrew Union College - Jewish Institute of Religion. Rabbinic alumni directory. Cincinnati: [Hebrew Union College], 1980. Lists alumni of the primary rabbinical seminary of Reform Judaism.
Leo Baeck Institute BM 652 .H42

Kallah Convention of Texas Rabbis. Year book. Fort Worth: Kallah Convention, 1928. Vols. 1,3,4,9. Short presentations by selected rabbis with names and photos of rabbis. List of attendees.
American Jewish Historical Society BM 11 .K15 *

*Vol. 1 also available fully digitized online through CJH catalog record

Nadell, Pamela S. Conservative Judaism in America: A Biographical Dictionary and Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1988.
Reading Room BM 750 .N33 1988

National Jewish Welfare Board, Military Chaplaincy Records, 1917-1983. Boxes 36-40 include detailed questionnaires completed by chaplains from 1941-1983 providing name, date/place of birth, date of entry into the U.S., date of citizenship, marital status and wife’s name including maiden name, education, rabbinical positions held, military service record and a short history. Photographs are frequently included. Questionnaires are arranged alphabetically in three alpha series.
American Jewish Historical Society I-249

Olitzky, Kerry M., Lance J. Sussman and Malcolm H. Stern. Reform Judaism in America: A Biographical Dictionary and Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Reading Room BM 750 R39 1993

Rabbinical Alliance of America. Registry. [1949, 1953/54]. Alphabetical list of ordained rabbis who are members of one of the two principal organizations of American Orthodox rabbis (with the Union of Orthodox Rabbis of the United States and Canada),  including their names, addresses, and the names of their congregations.
American Jewish Historical Society BM 60 .R2

Rabbinical Assembly. Membership list: 1963-1964, 1964-1965. [New York]: [Rabbinical assembly], [1964].
YIVO BM60 .R3

Rabbinical Assembly of America. Proceedings of the Rabbinical Assembly of America. [Philadelphia]: Rabbinical Assembly, [1927-1986]. 52 vols. Presentations at the annual conference of the primary organization of Conservative rabbis. Lists alumni of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America and additional members of the Rabbinical Assembly.
American Jewish Historical Society BM 11 .R1

Schwartz, Ber. Sefer Artsot ha-hayim - ספר ארצות החיים [Rabbis in America]. Brooklyn: D.B. Shvarts, 1992. In Hebrew.
Reading Room BM 750 .S367 1992

Sherman, Moshe D. Orthodox Judaism in America: A Biographical Dictionary and Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
Reading Room BM 750 .S395 1996

Stephen Wise Collection. Rabbi Stephen Wise, 1874-1949, was the founder of the Free Synagogue of New York. He also helped to found the American Jewish Committee, the Jewish Institute of Religion in New York City, the NAACP and the ACLU. This collection of his personal papers is organized by subject, including: personal affairs; speeches, sermons and articles; American Jewish Affairs; refugees; Zionism; and individual correspondence. There is a surname index to the collection.  Must use microfilm (originals housed at Brandeis University).
AJHS P-134

Union of Orthodox Rabbis of the United States and Canada. Membership List of the Union of Orthodox Rabbis of the United States and Canada. New York: The Union, [1929-1960, with gaps].
American Jewish Historical Society BM 651 .U6

​Belinfante, Randall C. History of Abarbanel: With Genealogy, and Mailing Lists of Family Members. Information about the Abarbanel Family.
American Sephardi Federation CS942 .A22 2002

Ṿa’nunu, Shim’on. Entsiḳlopedyah Arze ha-Levanon. [Encyclopedia of Sefardi and Mizrachi Scholars and Rabbis]. Jerusalem: Hotsa’ah le-or ṿe-hafatsah Yefeh Nof-Y. Pozen, [2006]. 4 vols. In Hebrew. Includes biographies of rabbis.
American Sephardi Federation  BM 750 .V376 2006 CIN=RCB

Bar-Asher, Shalom. Ha-Sifrut Ha-rabanit Bi-Tsefon Afriḳah. [The Rabbinic Literature in North Africa]. Jerusalem: Maḥleḳet Ha-pirsumim, Miśrad Ha-ḥinukh Ha-tarbut ṿeha-sporṭ, [1998-9]. In Hebrew. Contains biographical information on North African rabbis. 
American Sephardi Federation  BM 750 .B375 1998

Ben Simeon, Raphael Aaron. Sefer Ṭuv Mitsrayim […] Mesudar Me-ḥadash. Jerusalem: Hotsaʼat "Saba Fujie," 1995.  In Hebrew. Contains biographical information on Egyptian and Moroccan rabbis.  
American Sephardi Federation  BM 750 .B348 1995

Gavra, Moshe. Entsiḳlopedyah Le-ḥakhme Teman [Encyclopedia  of Rabbis in Yemen]. Bene Beraḳ: Ba-Hotsaʼat Le-ḥeḳer ḥakhme Teman, 2001. In Hebrew.
American Sephardi Federation  BM 750 .G27 2001

Galanté, Abraham. Hommes et Choses Juifs Portugais en Orient. [Jewish Portuguese Men and Affairs in the East] Constantinople: Société Anonyme de Papeterie et d'Impr., 1927. In French. Contains biographical information on Turkish rabbis.
American Sephardi Federation  DS 135 .T8 G34 H65 1927

Lanyado, Daṿid Tsiyon. Sefer Li-ḳedoshim Asher ba-Arets [Book of Holy Men …]. Jerusalem: Bi-defus Y.ʻA. Itaḥ, [1951 or 1952].  In Hebrew. Contains biographical information on Sephardic rabbis in Aleppo, Damascus, Salonika, Izmir and the Middle East. 
American Sephardi Federation  BM 750 .L36

Sorsḳi, Aharon. Orot Mi-mizraḥ [Lights from the East]. Bene Beraḳ: [ḥ. Mo. L.], 1974.  In Hebrew. Contains biographical information on Sephardic rabbis.
American Sephardi Federation BM 750 .S63 1974

Sutton, David, Isaac Kirzner, Daṿid Tsiyon Lanyando. Aleppo: City of Scholars. Brooklyn: Mesorah, 2005. Contains biographies of rabbis from Aleppo.
American Sephardi Federation DS 135 .S95 S98 2005

Vanunu,  Shimon. Otsar Sifre Hakhme Maroko ve-Toldot Mehabrehem [Moroccan Rabbinic literary treasury and genealogy]. Jerusalem: Shimon Vanunu, [2011 or 2012]. In Hebrew. Contains biographies of Moroccan rabbis.
American Sephardi Federation  BM 750 .V377 2012

Naḥshon, Yeḥiʼel. Deyoḳnaʾot Ba-hanhagah Ha-Yehudit Be-Teman Ba-meʾah Ha-18-19 [Portraits of Jewish Leadership in 1800s-1900s Yemen: courts, judges, rabbis, leaders]. Israel: Ha-Agudah Le-ṭipuaḥ Ḥevrah ṿe-Tarbut, 1994. In Hebrew.
American Sephardi Federation  BM 750 .N35 1994 

​Biographisches Handbuch der Rabbiner. Munich: K.G. Saur, 2004-2009. 4 vols. In German. Biographies of rabbis from Germany, Bohemia, and Poland.
Reading Room BM 750 B561

Eliav, Mordecai. Bet ha-Midrash la-Rabanim be-Berlin 1873-1938 […Berlin Rabbis 1873-1938]. Jerusalem: Leo Baeck Institute, 1996. In Hebrew.
Leo Baeck Institute BM 755 H43 E43 1996

Schwab, Hermann. Chachme Ashkenaz: A Concise Record of the Life and Work of Orthodox Jewish Scholars of Germany from the 18th to the 20th Century. London: Mitre Press, 1964.
Leo Baeck Institute BM 750 S42 C4

Alfasi, Yitsḥaḳ. Ha-Ḥasidut be-Romanyah [Hassidism in Romania]. Tel-Aviv: Hotsaʾat Segulah, 1972. In Hebrew.
YIVO 000074259

Alfasi, Yitshak. Ha-Hasidut mi-dor le-dor - החסידות מדור לדור [Hassidism from Generation to Generation].Jerusalem: Mekhon Da‘at Yosef, [c1994 and c1998]. 2 vols. In Hebrew. Hassidic genealogy from the 18^th-20^th centuries, indexed by town and surname.
Reading Room BM 198 .A51 1995/1998

Ehrlikh, Yisra’el. Shevet mi-Yehudah - שבט מיהודה [Tribe of Judah]. Tel-Aviv: Hotsa’at Morashah, 1997. In Hebrew. An index of death dates of notable rabbis, arranged by month and in alphabetical order. 
YIVO BM 750 .E744 1997

Eichenbaum, Jacob. Tsiyunim Metsuyanim be-Vate ha-Ḳevarot - צינים מצינים [Epithaphs]. Warsaw: Gaba’e Ḥ. Ḳ. de-Mata, 1888. In Hebrew. Epitaphs of Odessa rabbis.
YIVO 0000049217

Feder, Y. Shim’on. Seyfer Mishpoḥes̀ rabonim in Ungarin - ספר משפחות רבנים אין אונגארין [… Rabbinical Families in Hungary]. Bene Beraḳ: Seminar Be’er Ya’aḳov, [c1993-1996]. In Yiddish.
YIVO 00087246

Friedmann, Nathan Zvi. Otsar ha-rabanim - אוצר הרבנים . [Bnei-Brak?]: Agudat Otsar Ha-rabanim, [1975]. In Hebrew. Encyclopedia of rabbis, with index.
Reading Room BM 750 F75 1975

Gotlib, Shemu’el Noah. Sefer Ohole-shem - ספר אֹהֶלי־שם  [Rabbis by city and country]. Israel: Tefutsah, 1983 [Reprint of 1912 ed.] In Hebrew.
American Jewish Historical Society BM 750 .G59

Greenwald, Jekuthiel Judah. Ha-Yehudim Be-Ungarya [The Jews of Hungary]. Vats: Bi-defus M. A. Ḳahn, [1912- ]. In Hebrew. Contains biographies of rabbis and Jewish scholars.
YIVO 000014343

Grinboim, Yiśra’el Avraham. Sefer Ḥakhme Polin - ספר חכמי פולין […Rabbis of Poland]. Jerusalem: Yiśraʼel Avraham Grinboim, [c2008]. In Hebrew.
Reading Room BM 750 G73 2009

Halperin, Raphael. Atlas ets-hayim - אטלס עץ־חיים. Bene-Berak: Hotsa’at Heḳdesh Ruaḥ Ya’aḳov, 1985. 15 vols. [missing 2 vols.] In Hebrew. Biographies of ancient and modern rabbis. 
Reading Room BM 750 .H3

Kohen-Zedek, Joseph. Sefer Dor Yesharim - ספר דור ישרים [A Righteous Generation]. Berdichev: ha-Me’orot, [1898]. Genealogy of the Luria, Pollak, Helin, and Katsenellenbogen families, claiming descent from Rashi, which contains many rabbis.  In Hebrew.
YIVO 000059326 *

* Same title, pertaining to other families (incl. Harkavy), also available online at HebrewBooks.org

Rabbinical and Historical Manuscripts, 1567-1930's. The YIVO Library has a large collection of rabbinical manuscripts mostly in Hebrew, some of which date back to the 16th century. These are mainly letters, Torah, Talmud and text commentaries, responsa, Beit Din court records, prayers, kabbalistic works and other religious texts, but some do contain genealogical information.*  
YIVO RG 128 

* For more information, see the YIVO Encyclopedia’s entry on “Rabbinic Literature” at Yivo Encyclopedia

Rabinowicz, Tzvi. Encyclopedia of Hasidism. Northvale, NJ: Jason Aronson, 1996. 
Reading Room BM 198 .E53 1996 

Rand, Oscar Z. Toldot anshe shem - תולדות אנשי שם [Biographies of rabbis]. NY: Be-hotsa’at Ḥever ha-Ma’arekhet ‘al Yad Ḥevrat Toldot Anshe Shem, [1950- ]. In Hebrew.
Reading Room  BM 750 .R3

Raphael, Yitshak, et al. Entsiklopedyah la-Hasidut - אנציקלופדיה לחסידות [Encyclopedia of Hasidism]. Jerusalem: Mosad ha-Rav Kuk, 1980. 2 vols. In Hebrew.
Reading Room BM 198 .E5

Samuel Ephraim Tiktin Collection. Papers of a Yiddish and Hebrew writer, 1930’s to 1940’s, including several hundred biographies of rabbis from the United States, Palestine, Poland, Germany, England, Hungary, and other countries, compiled for the never-published Universal Rabbinical Biographical Encyclopedia.
YIVO RG 495

Shṿarts, Yehudah. Moreshet Rabane Hungaryah: Kolel et ha-Ge’onim mi-Burgenland, Slovaḳyah, Ṭransilvanyah, Ḳarpaṭorus U-Marmuresh. [The Legacy of Hungarian Rabbis: including those from Burgenland, Slovakia, Transylvania, Transcarpathia and Maramures]. Ḥaderah: Yad Li-Ḳehilot Ṭransilvanyah, 1987. In Hebrew.
YIVO 000093586

Spira, Roman. Rabbis and Jewish Scholars in Poland: In the 16th, 17th, and 18th Centuries: Biographies. Poland: R.Spira, 1985.
YIVO 000083718

Spitzer, Shlomo J. Die Rabbiner Ungarns, 1944: Die Orthodoxen Gemeinden [The Orthodox rabbis of Hungary, 1944]. Budapest: MTA Judaisztikai Kutatócsoport, 1999. In German. 
Reading Room  BM 750 .H9 S65 1999

Stern, Abraham. Sefer Melitse Esh - ספר מליצי אש. Nyu-York: Grosman, [1962]. 3 vols. In Hebrew. Rabbis indexed by yahrzeit date. Check Ehrlikh [Shevet mi-Yehudah] for yahrzeit.
Reading Room BM 750 .S7

Ṭṿersḳi, Yitsḥaḳ Meʾir. Sefer Admore Malkhut Bet Ṭshernobil- ספר אדמור״י. in Hebrew. Lakewood, NJ: Makarov-Chernobyl Foundation, [2003]. Grand rabbis of the Chernobyl dynasty.
YIVO 000113079

Vunder, Me’ir. Me’ore Galitsyah - מאורי גליציה.Jerusalem: Makhon le-Hantsaḥat Yahadut Galitsyah, 1978-. 6 vols. In Hebrew. Encyclopedia of Galician rabbis and scholars, including genealogical tables. 
Reading Room BM 750 .W8