Jewish communities in Latvia began to keep vital records around 1854. Some earlier records exist as well. Availability of vital records varies depending on locale and time period. Vital records before 1910 and revision lists (registers of individuals for taxation and military service) can be obtained from the Latvian State Historical Archives.
Latvia State Historical Archives
Address: 16 Slokas Street
LV-1007, Riga, Latvia
E-mail: vestures.arhivs@arhivi.gov.lv
A listing of the holdings is available here.
The Latvia State Historical Archives has been digitizing some of their collections and making them browsable as images online. Currently, the Riga Rabbinate vital records, revision lists from the provinces of Livland and Courland, and 1897 Russian Empire Census documents from the provinces of Courland, Livland and Vitebsk are available in their original languages (registration is required). In addition, English translations of many Riga Rabbinate vital records and 1897 Russian Empire Census documents are available. Although it is not yet possible to search this database, you can search for a name within an individual record group (i.e. Town – Record Type—Year) by clicking on the link for that group and then typing Control F.
Vital records from 1910 on can be obtained from the Latvian Archives of the Registry of the Ministry of Justice:
Archives of the Registry Department
Address: A. Čaka Street 38a
LV-1011, Riga, Latvia
Tel: (371) 67830682; 67830684
Fax: (371) 67830673
E-mail: dzimts.dep@tm.gov.lv
Beare, Arlene. A Guide to Jewish Genealogy in Latvia and Estonia (Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain, 2016). Consult this book for further information about the holdings, policies and procedures of archives and libraries in Latvia.
Genealogy Institute DS 135 .L3 B43 2016
For a list of LDS Latvia microfilms that may contain Jewish records, see the following journal articles available at the Genealogy Institute:
“Records from Latvia in the LDS Collection Include Jewish Information.” AVOTAYNU. Vol. XIV, No. 1 (Spring 1998): p. 25-27.
“Additional Latvian Microfilms.” AVOTAYNU. Vol. XIV, No. 2 (Summer 1998): p. 24.
