General Resources
Demsky, Aaron, ed. Pleasant Are Their Names: Jewish Names in the Sephardi Diaspora. Bethesda, MD: University Press of Maryland, 2009. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .P54 2009
Demsky, Aaron, Joseph A. Reif, & Joseph Tabory, eds. These Are the Names: Studies in Jewish Onomastics. 4 vols. Ramat-Gan: Bar-Ilan University Press, 1997-2003. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .T45 1997
Shoumatoff, Alex. The Mountain of Names: a History of the Human Family. New York: Vintage Books, 1990.
Genealogy Institute GN 487 .S56 1990
Singerman, Robert, ed. by David L. Gold. Jewish Given Names and Family Names: A New Bibliography. Leiden: Brill, 2001.
Reading Room Z6824 .S5 2001
Beider, Alexander. A Dictionary of Ashkenazic Given Names: Their Origins, Structure, Pronunciation, and Migrations. Bergenfield, NJ: Avotaynu, 2001. Identifies more than 15,000 given names derived from 735 root names. Includes a 300-page thesis on the origins, structure, pronunciation, and migrations of Ashkenazic given names. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .B18 2001
Blech, Benjamin & Elaine. Your Name Is Your Blessing: Hebrew Names and Their Mystical Meanings. Northvale, NJ: Jason Aronson, 1999. Reading Room CS 3010 .B54 1999
Cohn, Rella Israly. Yiddish Given Names: A Lexicon. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2008. Reading Room CS 3010 .C63 2008
Feldblyum, Boris. Russian-Jewish Given Names: Their Origins and Variants. Teaneck, NJ: Avotaynu, 1998. 6,000 Jewish given names used in Russia at the turn of the 20th century. Contains the etymology of root names and identifies variants as kinnui (everyday names), variants or distortions. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .F45 1998
Gandhi, Maneka, and Ozair Husain. The Complete Book of Muslim and Parsi Names. New Delhi: Indus, 1994.
Reading Room CS 2970 .G36 1994
Gorr, Shmuel, ed. by Chaim Freedman. Jewish Personal Names: Their Origin, Derivation, and Diminutive Forms. Teaneck, NJ: Avotaynu, 1992. Shows 1,200 Jewish personal names, with all Yiddish/Hebrew variants of the root name and English transliterations. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .G67
Kolatch, Alfred J. Complete Dictionary of English and Hebrew First Names. Middle Village, NY: Jonathan David Publishers, 1984. Genealogy Institute CS 2367 .K63 1984
Kolatch, Alfred J. The New Name Dictionary: Modern English and Hebrew Names. Middle Village, NY: Jonathan David Publishers, 1989. American Jewish Historical Society CS 3010 .K65 1989
Shir, Semadar. The Complete Book of Hebrew Baby Names. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1989. Reading Room CS 3010 .S48 1989
Beider, Alexander. A Dictionary of Jewish Surnames from Galicia. Bergenfield, NJ: Avotaynu, 2004. Covers 25,000 different surnames used by Jews in Galicia, describing the districts within Galicia where the surname appeared, the origin of the meaning of the name, and the variants found. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .Z9 G353 2004
Beider, Alexander. A Dictionary of Jewish Surnames from the Kingdom of Poland. Teaneck, NJ: Avotaynu, 1996. More than 32,000 Jewish surnames with origins in that part of the Russian Empire known as the Kingdom of Poland or Congress Poland.
Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .B419
Beider, Alexander. A Dictionary of Jewish Surnames from the Russian Empire: Revised Edition. Bergenfield, NJ: Avotaynu, 2008. A compilation of 50,000 Jewish surnames from the Russian Pale of Settlement describing their geographic distribution within the Russian Empire at the start of the 20th century, an explanation of the meaning of the name, and spelling variants.
Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .B43 2008 2 Vols.
Beider, Alexander. Jewish Surnames in Prague (15th‑18th Centuries). Teaneck, NJ: Avotaynu, 1995. Includes the etymology of 700 surnames. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .B44 1994
Beth Hatefutsoth [Museum of the Diaspora]. Guide des Patronymes Juifs [Guide to Jewish Surnames]. Arles: Solin, Actes Sud, 1996. In French. Reading Room CS 3010 .G8 1996
Bondy, Ruth. Rodinné Dědictví: Jména Židů v Čechách a na Moravě [Family Heritage: The Names of the Jews in Bohemia and Moravia]. Praha: Naklad. Franze Kafky, 2006. Jewish surnames in Bohemia and Moravia [modern Czech Republic]. In Czech. YIVO 000122449
Edelstein, Benjamin. Diccionario de Apellidos Judios: Su Etimología, Variantes y Derivados [Dictionary of Jewish Surnames: Their Etymology, Variants, and Derivatives] . Buenos Aires: Editorial Dunken, 2003. In Spanish. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .E34 2003
Faiguenboim, Guilherme, Paulo Valadares, and Anna Rosa Campagnano. Dicionario Sefaradi de Sobrenomes: Inclusive Cristãos-novos, Conversos, Marranos, Italianos, Berberes e Sua História na Espanha, Portugal e Itália [Dictionary of Sephardic Surnames: Including Christianized Jews, Conversos, Marranos, Italians, Berbers, and Their History in Spain, Portugal and Italy]. Bergenfield, NJ: Avotaynu, 2009. 17,000 surnames used by Jews who lived in Spain and Portugal. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .F35 2009
Guggenheimer, Heinrich W. and Eva H.. Jewish Family Names and Their Origins: An Etymological Dictionary. Jersey City, NJ: Ktav Publishing House, 2007. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .G84 2 Vols.
Kaganoff, Benzion C. A Dictionary of Jewish Names and Their History. Northvale, NJ: Jason Aronson, 1996. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .K28
Menk, Lars. A Dictionary of German-Jewish Surnames. Bergenfield, NJ: Avotaynu, 2005. 13,000 German-Jewish surnames from pre-World War I Germany, providing the etymology and variants of each name and identifying the town and time period where the name appeared. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .Z9 G476 2005
Pinto, Baruh B. The Sephardic Onomasticon: An Etymological Research on Sephardic Family Names of the Jews Living in Turkey. Istanbul: Gözlem Gazetecılık Basin Ve Yayin A.Ş, 2004. Reading Room CS 1479 .A2 P57 2004
Pinto, Baruh B., and Azize Ethem. What's Behind a Name. İstanbul: Gözlem Gazetecilik Basin Ve Yayin, 1999. Includes Spanish, Portuguese, and Turkish surnames.
Reading Room CS 1479 .A2 P56 1999
Tagger, Mathilde. Dictionary of Bulgarian Jewish Surnames. New Haven, CT: Avotaynu, 2014. Genealogy Institute CS 3010 .T275 2014
Weiss, Nelly. The Origin of Jewish Family Names: Morphology and History. Bern &New York: P. Lang, 2002.
Reading Room CS 3010 .W4513 2002
A Dictionary of Jewish Surnames from Galicia by 
A Dictionary of German-Jewish Surnames by 
A Dictionary of Ashkenazic Given Names by 
A Dictionary of Jewish Surnames from the Russian Empire by