Genealogy Guide: Hungary

Auslander, Jordan. Genealogical Gazetteer for the Kingdom of Hungary (Bergenfield, N.J.: Avotaynu, 2004). English translation of 1877 gazetteer. Genealogy Institute   DB 904 .G387 2004

Kollerffy, Mihály, & József Jekelfalussy, eds. A magyar korona országainak helységnévtára [Gazetteer of the countries of the Hungarian Crown] (Budapest, Hungary: Athenaeum, 1882). List of counties with links to towns (by district, based mainly on the national census, 1882).  Available at Radix web site.

Lelkes, Gyorgy. Magyar Helységnév-Azonosító Szótár (Baja: Talma, 1998). Modern gazetteer with cross-reference indexes in 9 languages. Genealogy Institute   DB 904 .L44 1998

Fenyvesi, Charles. When the World Was Whole: Three Centuries of Memories (NY: Viking, 1990).  American Jewish Historical Society  DS 135 .H93 F46 1990 and YIVO   000083219

Frojimovics, Kinga, & Géza Komoróczy. Jewish Budapest: Monuments, Rites, History (NY: Central European University Press, 1999).  YIVO   000094937 c

Patai, Raphael. Apprentice in Budapest: Memories of a World That Is No More (Salt Lake City, UT: University of Utah Press, 1988). Leo Baeck Institute   DS 135 H93 P37

Patai, Raphael. The Jews of Hungary: History, Culture, Psychology (Detroit, MI: Wayne State University Press, 1996).  American Sephardi Federation   DS 135 .H9 P33 1996 and YIVO   000088703

Perlman, Robert. Bridging Three Worlds: Hungarian-Jewish Americans, 1848-1914 (Amherst, MA: University of Massachusetts Press, 1991).  American Jewish Historical Society   DS 135 .H9 P47. 1991 and YIVO   000083712

Stessel, Zahava Szász. Wine and Thorns in Tokay Valley: Jewish Life in Hungary: The History of Abaújszántó (Madison, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press; Cranbury, NJ: Associated University Presses; 1995).  YIVO   000087587

Suleiman, Susan Rubin. Budapest Diary: In Search of the Motherbook (Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press, 1996).  YIVO   000092375

Eotvos, George. “Resources for Jewish Genealogical Research in Hungary.” Avotaynu XIII: 4, 17-20. Genealogy Institute Periodicals

Haraszti, Gyorgy. Magyar Zsidó Levéltári Repertórium [Directory of Archival Holdings Relating to the History of Jews in Hungary: Hungarian Archives] (Budapest, Hungary: MTA Judaisztikai Kutatócsoport, 1993).  Reading Room   Z 6620 .H9 H3 1993

Kempelen, Béla. Magyarországi Zsidó és Zsidó Eredetü Családok [Hungarian Jewish Families] (Budapest, Hungary, 1937-39).  YIVO  000064661

McCagg, William O. Jewish Nobles and Geniuses in Modern Hungary (Boulder, CO: East European Quarterly, distributed by NY: Columbia University Press, 1972).  YIVO   000076006

Patai, Raphael. The Jews of Hungary: History, Culture, Psychology (Detroit, MI: Wayne State University Press, 1996).  American Sephardi Federation   DS 135 .H9 P33 1996 and YIVO   000088703

Scheiber, Sándor. Magyar Zsidó Hírlapok és Folyóiratok Bibliográfiája. [Bibliography of Hungarian Jewish Newspapers and Journals] (Budapest, Hungary: MTA Judaisztikai Kutatócsoport, 1993).  Reading Room    Z 6956 .H9 S3 1993

Suess, Jared H. Handy Guide to Hungarian Genealogical Records (Logan, UT: Everton Publishers, 1980).  Genealogy Institute   CS 563 .S93

Ujvári, Péter. Zsidó Lexikon (Blackburn International Incorporation, 1987). Geographical and biographical dictionary of Hungarian Jewry; reprint of 1929 edition.  Reading Room   DS 102.8 .Z6

Central Hungarian Sick Benevolent and Literary Society. Records, 1941-1975. Minutes, financial records, burial and monument permits. YIVO   RG 989

Independent Jokai Lodge Records 1929-1937. Hungarian-Jewish mutual aid society founded in New York in 1912 as a part of the Independent Order Brith Abraham. Minutes, 1929-1936. Silver Jubilee book, 1937. YIVO   RG 1117

Kossuth Association of New York. Records, 1930-1971. Originally called Kossuth Ferencz Literary Sick and Benevolent Association, founded in 1904 by Hungarian Jewish immigrants. Financial records (1947-1971), anniversary journals (1939, 1939, 1954).   YIVO   RG 906

Pannonia Lodge No. 185, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Records, 1920-1963. Minutes, financial and membership records, correspondence, and other items.   YIVO   RG 869

Territorial Collection. Assorted materials related to Jewish history and life, 1900s- 1930s. Press clippings, original documents of the Jewish community of Tata-Tovaros, bound publication by Jewish prisoners of war (1916), anti-Semitic postcards. YIVO   RG 116 – Hungary

Territorial Photographic Collection (1860's-1970's). Rural scenes (houses, "country stores," daily farm life), peddlers, merchants, lumberyard workers, students, rabbis, synagogues & religious objects, street scenes, summer camps. “People of a Thousand Towns” includes photographs from Budapest, Csongrad, Gyongyos, Sopron, and Szeged. YIVO  RG 120 – Hungary

Raphael Abramovitch Collection. 1920s-1930s. Photographs related to Jewish life in Europe and Israel, including Hungary. YIVO   RG 390

American Joint Distribution Committee (AJDC) Photographs. Photographs depicting AJDC activities worldwide, including Hungary (DP period). YIVO   RG 335.9

American ORT Federation (1922-1960). Country files and photos of vocational programs, including Hungary. YIVO   RG 380

Institut der NSDAP zur Erforschung der Judenfrage (1930-1945) (Frankfurt am Main). Nazi institute that collected materials on the Jewish question, including photographs from Hungary. YIVO   RG 222

Aharoni, Rachel. Budapest Memorial Book=A Rákospalotai Zsidó Hitközség Története (NY: New York Public Library and Amherst, MA: The National Yiddish Book Center, 2003).  YIVO   Budapest 2003 (1978) (Mezzanine)

Bar-Shaked, Gavriel; Beate and Serge Klarsfeld Foundation; Szól Akakas Már.; and Yad va-Shem; editors. Nevek Munkaszázadok Veszteségei a Keleti Magyar Hadműveleti Területeken = Shemot Anshe Pelugot ha-‘Avodah she-Nispu ba-haZitot ha-Mizrah Területeken = Names of Jewish Victims of Hungarian Labour Battalions (NY: Beate and Serge Klarsfeld Foundation, 1992).  YIVO   Hungary 1992 (Mezzanine)

Bar-Shaked, Gavriel; Beate Klarsfeld Foundation; and Yad va-Shem; editors. Nevek: A Bihar Megyéből Kiűzött Zsidók Nevei (1. rész) = Shemot : Shemot ha-Megorashim mi-Mehoz Bihar ((ḥeleḳ 1) = Names of the Jews Deported from Bihar County (part 1) (NY: Beate Klarsfeld Foundation, 2005).  YIVO   Hungary (Bihar Megye) (Mezzanine)

Bar-Shaked, Gavriel; Beate Klarsfeld Foundation; and Yad va-Shem; editors. Nevek: Magyar Zsidók a Mauthausen-i Koncentrációs Táborban = Shemot ha-Megorashim mi-Hungaryah ha-Gedolah le-Mahane haHashmadah Ma’utha’uzen = Names of the Jews Deported from Greater Hungary to the Mauthausen Concentration Camp (NY: Beate Klarsfeld Foundation, 2005).  YIVO   Hungary 2005 (Mezzanine)

Beate and Serge Klarsfeld Foundation; Szól Akakas Már.; and Yad va-Shem; editors. Nevek a Hajdú Megyéböl Kiüzött Zsidók Nevei = Shemot ha-Yehudim she-Gurshu mi-Mehoz Haydu be-Hungariyah = Names of the deported Jews from Hajdu County, Hungary (NY: Beate and Serge Klarsfeld Foundation; Szól Akakas Már.; & Yad va-Shem; 1992).  YIVO   Hajdú-Bihar Megye (Hungary) 1992

Braham, Randolph L. Eichmann and the Destruction of Hungarian Jewry (NY: World Federation of Hungarian Jews, distributed by Twayne Publishers, 1961). Leo Baeck Institute   DD 247 E5 B7

Braham, Randolph L. The Holocaust in Hungary: A Selected and Annotated Bibliography: 1984-2000 (NY: Rosenthal Institute for Holocaust Studies, Graduate Center/City University of NY; Boulder, CO: Social Science Monographs; distributed by NY: Columbia University Press, 2001). Reading Room   Z 6374 .H6 B73 2001

Braham, Randolph L. The Hungarian Jewish Catastrophe: A Selected and Annotated Bibliography (NY: Social Science Monographs and Institute for Holocaust Studies, City University of New York; distributed by Colombia University Press; 1984). Reading Room   D810 .J4 .B3 1984

Braham, Randolph L. The Politics of Genocide: The Holocaust In Hungary (Detroit, MI: Wayne State University Press, 2000).  Condensed edition. YIVO   000106553

Braham, Randolph L., and Scott Miller. The Nazis' Last Victims: The Holocaust in Hungary (Detroit, MI: Wayne State University Press, 1998).  YIVO   000092888

Braham, Randolph L.; and World Federation of Hungarian Jews. The Destruction of Hungarian Jewry: A Documentary Account (NY: Pro Arte for the World Federation of Hungarian Jews, 1963).  YIVO   000066170

Carmilly, Moshe. The Road to Life: The Rescue Operation of Jewish Refugees on the Hungarian-Romanian Border in Transylvania, 1936-1944 (NY: Shengold Publishers, 1994).  YIVO   000088667  

Cesarani, David. Genocide and Rescue: The Holocaust in Hungary 1944 (Oxford: NY: Berg, 1997).  YIVO   000090686

Cohen, Asher. The Halutz Resistance in Hungary, 1942-1944 (Boulder, CO: Social Science Monographs; NY: Institute for Holocaust Studies of the City University of NY; distributed by NY: Columbia University Press, 1986).  YIVO   000080940

Deaglio, Enrico. The Banality of Goodness: The Story of Giorgio Perlasca (Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame Press, 1998). YIVO   000107283

Gur, David. Brothers for Resistance and Rescue: The Underground Zionist Youth Movement in Hungary during World War II (Jerusalem: Gefen, 2007).  American Sephardi Federation   DS 135 .H93 A147313 2007

World Jewish Congress, Hungarian Section; and Jewish Agency for Palestine, Statistical and Search Department.  Counted Remnant: Register of Survivors in Budapest (Budapest: World Jewish Congress; Jewish Agency for Palestine, 1946).  4 volumes. YIVO   000022766 and YIVO   Memorial Books Budapest 1946

Yad va-Shem; Beate and Serge Klarsfeld Foundation; & Szól Akakas Már.; editors. Nevek Magyar Zsidó Nök a Stutthof-i Koncentrációs Táborban = Shemot: Shemot Nashim Yehudim be-Mahane Shtuthof = Names of Hungarian Jewish women in the Stutthof Concentration Camp (NY: Beate and Serge Klarsfeld Foundation; Szól Akakas Már.; & Yad va-Shem; 1992).  YIVO   Hungary 1992

YIVO also has Yizkor (memorial) books for many places in Hungary: AbaujTorna Megye, Bonyhad, Budapest, Debrecen, Derecske, Eger, Fehergyarmat, HajduBihar Megye, Hungary, Kisvarda, Mad, Nagykallo, Paks, Papa, Satoraljaujhely, Szekesfehervar, Ujpest (Budapest), Vas Megye, Zemplen Megye.

Eyewitness Accounts of the Holocaust Period (1939-1945). Accounts related to ghettos and death, labor, and internment camps; testimonies of Jews on the Aryan side and in hiding; and memoirs of Jewish partisans and underground fighters. A significant group of materials pertains to Hungary. YIVO   RG 104

Territorial Collection. 180 microfilm reels of documents selected from state and municipal archives in Hungary related to the Jewish experience during the World War II period; memoirs, poems, other documents. YIVO   RG 116 – Hungary

Berlin Collection. Records, 1931-1945. Fragmentary records of agencies of the Nazi government, including materials on occupied countries like Hungary. YIVO   RG 215

Search the collections at the Center for Jewish History