The website of the JewishGen French SIG, a special interest group of researchers of Jewish families from French-speaking countries, features a research guide and links relevant to French- Jewish genealogical research.
JewishGen’s France Info Files include a bibliography of resources for French-Jewish genealogy and guides for locating different types of French genealogical records.
The website of the Memorial de la Shoah (France’s Holocaust Memorial Museum) hosts a database containing the list of names on the “Wall of Names,” the register of Jews killed in France other than in deportation, the list of persons who were executed or died in French internment camps, the list of Jewish resistance fighters in the network of the Jewish Combat Organization, and the names of the “Righteous of France” as registered by Yad Vashem.
|
|
SephardicGen hosts 3 France databases: French Jews exterminated in concentration camps, French Jews deported to Bergen-Belsen, and Sephardic ketubot from France. |
FranceGenWeb hosts a number of surname databases, including of cemetery and military casualty records, and other genealogy tools, such as research guides and historical maps. [French only]
|
|
The website of the Archives of the Alliance Israélite Universelle, a Paris-based organization founded in 1860 to improve the condition of Middle Eastern Jewry through political intervention, French education, and professional development, allows you to search its collection inventories. [French only] |
The website of the Cercle de Genealogie Juive, the French Jewish Genealogical Society, provides research guides and links on various topics in French Jewish genealogy. Their database of genealogical records is only available to members.
|
|
The website of Genami, the International Association for Jewish Genealogy contains research guides for France and specific regions within France. Their database of genealogical records is only available to members. |
Jewish Heritage Europe offers a list of Jewish sites throughout France.
Filae hosts millions of searchable civil records, church records, military records, and user-generated family trees. [French and English]
JewishGen Online Worldwide Burial Registry (JOWBR) is a database of names from cemeteries and burial records worldwide, including France.
The International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies’ International Jewish Cemetery Project is in the process of compiling a comprehensive list of Jewish burial sites worldwide. Some listings include contact information, a location description, a brief history, burial societies, and/or links to cemetery websites.
The website of the JewishGen GerSIG, a special interest group of researchers of Jewish families from German-speaking and formerly German-ruled areas, features community histories, historic maps, and other resources relevant to Alsace/Lorraine research.
JewishGen KehilaLinks, formerly “ShtetLinks,” provides profiles of towns where Jews lived, including histories, maps, photos, bibliographies, and links to databases and online records. There are several websites for towns in Alsace.
The website of Judaisme d’Alsace et de Lorraine, the Jewish community of Alsace and Lorraine, offers links to histories of the regions’ synagogues and other Jewish sites. [French only]
The website of the Centre de Recherches sur l’Histoire des Families (Center for Family History Research) of Haut-Rhin contains historic images (illustrations and photographs) of towns in Alsace as well as an extensive genealogical library dealing with the families of France and an archival collection covering the entire French territory.
