Skip to Main Content

Collection Guide: The Max and Frieda Weinstein Archive of YIVO Sound Recordings

This guide provides an overview of how to access the materials in YIVO's Sound Archive.

Sound Archives Access

Some Sound Archive material is available to listen to online (see Digitized Materials). To use materials that are NOT digitized, you must make an appointment to visit the Sound Archive in person. Please email us at soundarchives@yivo.cjh.org or call the Archive at (212) 294-6169 to arrange a visit.

Sound Archives Reproductions and Pricing

Any recordings you make during your visit to the Sound Archive are subject to reproduction fees. You can also request that the Sound Archive create reference recordings for you. Sound Archive materials can be digitized upon request (pending rights and restrictions) and delivered in the digital file format of your choice (.wav, .iff, .mp3, .ogg, or any other standard format).

The Sound Archive will NOT make reproductions of any materials which are commercially available.

PRICING

The minimum charge for digitization is US $10. After that, digitization costs run US $25 per hour of work. Estimates are calculated according to running time of the recording requested (doubling the running time for LP recordings and tapes, and tripling the running time for 78s, acetates and transcription discs). Cost estimates represent the minimum charges and do not represent a final quote. 
 

Digitized materials can also be transferred to CDs or cassette tapes and shipped upon request. Please note that this incurs an additional fee for materials and shipping.

 

  • All requests are subject to the approval of the Sound Archive. All requesters must complete a Request for “Fair Use” Reproduction form.
  • Payment can be made by check, money order, cash or VISA/Mastercard. Checks should be made payable to: YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.

Accessing Film and Motion Picture Materials

Although YIVO's film and motion picture materials are not held within the Sound Archive, you must make a Sound Archive research appointment to use the equipment that will allow you to use the material. The Sound Archive can be reached at (212) 294-6169 or soundarchives@yivo.cjh.org.

However, please note that initial requests to access film and motion picture materials must be made through YIVO's Photo Archives. Please confirm with the YIVO Photo Archivist that the materials are available for use on the day you intend to do research, then coordinate with the Sound Archive to make a research appointment. 

The Photo Archives can be reached at (212) 294-6142 or photofilm@yivo.cjh.org.